We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Nature”

Blue Heron River Tours
Ranked #1 of 12 Tours in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We operate a 45 foot, 49 passenger Coast Guard licensed tour boat out of Hontoon Landing Resort and Marina in Deland, Florida.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

They offer a fabulous tour at a great rate! We saw gators, manatees, turtles, and so many different types of birds, I lost track. The captain would explain different animals and parts of the river (including history) in a very interesting way. It is so beautiful with so many things to see!! Bring your camera!
The boat is very stable and has a bathroom on board. Snacks, drinks, and binoculars are offered at good rates.

1  Thank Mint159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip with Blue Heron River Tours. Thanks for the nice comments about our vessel. We work hard to keep our boat safe, clean and comfortable.

Hope to see you on the river again.
Captain Gary S. Randlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 299 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This experience was excellent. Very relaxing and educational. The captain of the tour was very entertaining and what I like the most is that he involve everybody on what he is teaching us about nature and wild birds in Florida and some history too. Good for the all family.

1  Thank qmarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip with us. You got to experience a bit of the old Florida that many people don't realize still exists. Thank you for the wonderful comments.

Hope to see you on the river again,
Captain Gary S. Randlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is by far the best Eco tour we've ever been on. Its in the middle of nowhere, 10 minutes from Deland, 45 minutes from Orlando and 30 minutes from Daytona. Go to the website blueheronrivertours.com and download the driving directions as you will need them. To be sure you have plenty of time take a picnic and arrive a couple of hours early. You can take the free ferry to Hontoon Island State Park and enjoy the smaller museum and eat lunch on the park's nice picnic tables. On the cruise you will see many species of birds, alligators and Manatees. There are lots of other similar cruises in the Blue Springs area of the St John's River but this one has a better boat, is less crowded, finds more wildlife and the captain is so dedicated he will keep you out longer than the advertised time if the wildlife viewing is really good that day. I strongly suggest the afternoon cruise so you avoid the notorious Orlando area traffic and if you take a picnic you can be there in plenty of time and relax.

1  Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are getting more and more people who want to get away from Orlando for a day to see the real Florida.

Hope to see you again on the river,
Captain Gary S. Randlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We jUst returned from this wonderful Eco tour. Knowledgable friendly guide. He knew all the birds and animals and characteristics. we saw gators and manatees. Comfortable seating on the boat. Well worth the price!

1  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

All of our captains really know their stuff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip with Blue Heron River Tours.

Hope to see you again on the river,
Captain Gary S. Randlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This 2 hour tour goes from St Johns river, to Blue Springs and around the Hontoon island. The Captian was very infromative, from the history of the great cypress trees to the wildlife.
It is a photographers dream, from birds to trutles and many gators and even a few manatees.
Of course the weather made it better at 80 degrees in January. Great off the beaten path and out of the crowds of Disney World etc.

Thank kathies768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sailor1978, Owner at Blue Heron River Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

I am pleased that you mentioned the photo opportunities on our trip. Our river system is a photographer's dream. So many wonderful shots. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip with Blue Heron River Tours.

Hope to see you again on the river,

Captain Gary S. Randlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron River Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron River Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing