We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Icecream Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sweet Spot

Sweet Spot
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Icecream Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had heard others talking of this shop in downtown DeLand for a while and decided to give it a try. We now have been back many times and we will return in the near future. They do make their own high quality icecream and the flavors are always delicious. What I enjoy is each time we visit there are several new creative choices. This is definately a must visit shop that has not only icecream but other treats like home made pies.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Place for Drop-in Desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its known for its cupcakes and cakes, but you can also get a lite lunch there.Off the beaten path of downtown. Real nice staff. Just a few seats, so its really a take-out, take home kinda place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey_in_Orlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Side, Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Nice Spot To Relax With A Cool Treat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A good variety of big tub ice creams. Nothing "big city" fancy or anything.Looks like a printing shop that they just threw in some coolers and a milkshake machine and started selling cones. Beats sitting at home! Friendly service. Barking can sometimes be an issue, but DeLand has done a pretty good job of adding some public parking areas. DeLand is a pretty happenin little town!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kidritalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmy b, Owner at Sweet Spot, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank You for your review and for visiting Sweet Spot. I apologize that you did not have a quiet experience"barking"and you were not thrilled with our decor. Sweet Spot is a simple family owned shop aiming to WOW our customers with our homemade ice cream, desserts and toppings. Next time you are in town we would love you to try one of our amazing sundaes!From the Ice Cream to the Fudge and Whip Cream it is all Homemade. Mention this review and we will give you a free homemade small sundae. Since we understand we don't have the glitz an glam of a chain Ice Cream Shop, please let us know how you enjoyed our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Literally the best ice cream shop I've ever been to. The flavors are awesome and the texture is so smooth and creamy. You can definitely tell its homemade. Next time we are in deland it will be a sure stop!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Local_motion85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homemade Ice Cream - refreshing pit stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Came upon this Ice Cream store by chance - it is on a side street and you have to look for the sign directing you. The ice cream was truly homemade and delicious with a great variety of flavors. The owner served generous portions which we ate at old fashioned tables. Great place to relax after shopping and walking in this interesting part of De Land.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luftec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing