We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Stetson University”
Review of Stetson University

Stetson University
Ranked #4 of 78 things to do in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This university is interesting architecturally and historically.
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Majestic Stetson University”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Beautiful campus with wonderful historical buildings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariondailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    21
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Candlelight Concert”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

a beautiful, small university with an excellant music school

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Old Florida Charm and an outstanding University”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stetson University is, historically, worth the visit. Started in 1883 by the generosity and vision of Henry DeLand and John B. Stetson, many of the buildings are excellent examples of the architecture of that day. The Beckerath organ in Lee Chapel, and the chapel itself, is outstanding in beauty and quality; well worth taking time to learn the history of both. Stetson has the elegance and charm of a by-gone era yet is one of the top ranked universities in the world, famous for its schools of law, music and business in particular. We chose this university after much diligent search and prayer. Our son is in his junior year now, studying business and law, and we have found this outstanding university well worth the price. They recently took on a new president and have embarked on an aggressive program of facilities and housing expansions, also installing water-wise landscaping and irrigation that has set an excellent example for environment stewardship.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great small campus”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I attended a Road Scholar program on Zora Neale Hurston who grew up in nearby Eatonville. We ate in the cafeteria and had our lectures upstairs. Food was good for a college campus, people were friendly, everything was convenient, including a US Post Office next door to the dining hall. You can also eat there if you are not in a program. Prices were very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank CarolMaeRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stetson is a beautiful campus!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We toured the campus in January and the weather was perfect. Everything was clean and well kept. All areas of the campus had the look of a historic town. (even the new parts) We really enjoyed the atmosphere of the campus as well as the downtown area!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank GKastner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stetson University also viewed

 

Been to Stetson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing