We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Gourmet in Deland”
Review of Cress Restaurant

Cress Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: ZAGAT Guide:TOP Orlando Restaurant & America's Top Restaurants. Cress is a critically acclaimed global brasserie, with Farm-to-Table cuisine, located in Historic Downtown DeLand, Florida. Cress has always been dedicated to sourcing local produce that is inspired by the subtle changes in the Florida seasons. The cornerstone of the restaurant blends fresh market ingredients, exotic flavors, and refined presentation. Our serving staff creates a dialogue about food; for Cress is about the story or our land. The goal is to provide a connection that complements the complexity of the food the Cress kitchen creates with where our food comes from and with the individuals who are growing them. Knowing your farmer, dairyman, cattlemen, and fishermen. Offering 3-Course and Chef's Tastings only.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique Gourmet in Deland”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

First time and it didn't disappoint. Our Favorite App was the Goat dumpling although the house charcuterie plate is also really good. We had both types of Currys and the Trout and they were great as well. Wine list is deep with values and some large format wines that are hard to find

Wonderful, Gourmet level dinner

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ranger25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    25
    16
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Upscale dining at its best”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This little gem is a true surprise in a small town setting. The menu is exotic and delicious. Due to the size of the restaurant I would highly recommend reservations. The staff also had a hard time explaining some of the menu items for my husband with food allergies, so just ask to speak with the chef if you have any further questions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cabqueen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This charming little restaurant has great flavor! It is super fresh and you will not be disappointed. It's a shame we don't go more often! This gem has some great local fish, unique organic and locally harvested pairings, fine wines and decadent desserts! Give it a try! Just make sure to make a reservation, there is limited seating!

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Fl
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude and snippy management rushed us through our mediocre meal so they could stay their next table.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The management told our party of 12 that we came at the wrong time, and rushed us through our meal. My boyfriend and I showed up at 715 for our 7pm reservation due to alarm system issues in our home, and when we sat down we were told there was no time to look at the menu, that we needed to choose and order so they could SEAT THEIR NEXT TABLE THEIR! There were several empty tables inside and 16 chairs outside, where we would have happily sat if it had been offered. Although they now insist it was, no one in our party heard them offer that.

My boyfriend's lamb gnocchi arrived over salted with an ENTIRE BONE in it. It was taken off the check but he was not offered the opportunity to order anything else. Dessert was offered by the waiter (Jacob- he was great!!), but the manager visibly motioned to him that there was no time for us to have dessert.

The decor was cramped and somewhat haphazard- not the romantic ambiance I had expected.

After being told there was no time for dessert, the manager came to our table and announced "THE NEXT PARTY IS ARRIVING"... So we all cashed out quickly and left, walking past the SIXTEEN open seats outside where they could have sat us for our entire meal.

I will NEVER return. There are so many wonderful restaurants in nearby lake Mary and Winter Park- I'm convince the only reason Cress had survived is because it is further out in Deland with little direct competition. The customer service was ABYSMAL. I have never been so disappointed in a dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank GVarchetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenneffer P, Owner at Cress Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
GVarchetto, we are very sorry. Your hostess lied to you about her reservation time. She told your group a false time of 7:00pm. We told her on three separate occasions that time was not an option and we can not take a 7:00pm request.

Your group was 45 minutes late. Your hostess did not want her reservation cancelled, so we seat your party with a clear understanding that they would not delay our following guests' reservation. We did our best to accommodate you table until 9:00pm.

Cress has 12 tables inside and your party occupied 4 of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in Relaxed De Land”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you're looking for "that special place" with an exceptional, creative, and locally sourced menu, an extensive wine list, and service that makes you feel "cared about"... a comfortable room where you can enjoy good conversation and fine dining in casual elegance, then look no further. Cress is it. They're ONLY open for dinner AND you'll likely need reservations. Believe me, it's worth the effort!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cress Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cress Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing