We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Restaurant in a small town”
Review of Cress Restaurant

Cress Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 183 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: ZAGAT Guide:TOP Orlando Restaurant & America's Top Restaurants. Cress is a critically acclaimed global brasserie, with Farm-to-Table cuisine, located in Historic Downtown DeLand, Florida. Cress has always been dedicated to sourcing local produce that is inspired by the subtle changes in the Florida seasons. The cornerstone of the restaurant blends fresh market ingredients, exotic flavors, and refined presentation. Our serving staff creates a dialogue about food; for Cress is about the story or our land. The goal is to provide a connection that complements the complexity of the food the Cress kitchen creates with where our food comes from and with the individuals who are growing them. Knowing your farmer, dairyman, cattlemen, and fishermen. Offering 3-Course and Chef's Tastings only.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

One of the best restaurants in central Florida and among my all-time favorites. Classy restaurant with great good and service. Eclectic food choices from Wagyu beef to vegetarian dishes. Indian curry dishes and lamb are standards on the menu. Chef Hari Pulapaka uses locally grown vegetables and takes great pride in bringing the freshest foods to prepare. Manager/co-owner Jennefer Pulapaka has developed an excellent wine list and is great helping to pair wines with your meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MonkMalleti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Cress Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

163 - 167 of 234 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were intrigued to see what a mathematician and a podiatrist could pull off- and we were not disappointed. The food was an interesting blend of several styles- tasty, fresh and innovative. The portions were large (I almost wish they had tapas sizes available as there was so much I wanted to try!!). The small space was clean, modestly but tastefully appointed and the service was good- not big city 5 star snooty, but friendly and attentive without being overly intrusive. The chef even came out briefly to the table. I dont think it was at all pricey for the quality provided. We had the gumbo, K. curry with scallops, seafood sampler- all excellent. Best crabcakes I've had in a while- and we lived along chesapeake bay! We dont frequent Deland, but would go back if in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank luv-vaca-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place was pricey but worth it. Food was creative and freash. A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

1  Thank PurpleLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We (party of 4) went to Cress on Saturday at 5:45, they had 2 tables taken and the other tables were reserved and still empty. In general they had maybe six people total at the time, we were told we can't be seated because the kitchen is not able to handle the crowd, are you guys serious? It's Saturday night, that's when you do business and the website doesn't say reservations only. I've been in the restaurant business for years and we have never ever turned a customer down and i'm talking about a sushi restaurant where EVERYTHING on the menu is made fresh. Shouldn't be running a restaurant if you can't handle the crowd. Terrible experience, won't be returning or recommending this place to anyone.

    • Service
10  Thank alicjamrgn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenneffer P, Owner at Cress Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

We are sorry, but it is our policy is to honor our guests reservations. We can not accommodation guests if we do not have any available tables. As you stated, Cress was completely booked with current and pending reservations that Saturday. We recommend and allocate about 2.5 hours/table to enjoy the entire experience.

Our policy is clearly stated on Cress' Website, in our menus, and at the restaurant's entrance the following: We have chosen to prioritize reservations to online or phone requests because of the size and scope of the restaurant. The restaurant can only serve 36 guests at one time, either inside or outside. We are a very small restaurant that has to ensure each and every guest is happy and the food is prepared with the best of care and time. Therefore, tables may appear empty when the restaurant is at maximum capacity and pending reservations have yet to arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I grew up in DeLand and my Mom is still there. I live in Michigan, travel a lot, and eat in some wonderful restaurants, so when I come down to visit and want to treat my Mom, this is where we go!!! The food is fresh and inventive, the wine list is great, and the service is just right. Chef Hari always comes out at some point to check on his guests. The last time we were there, my husband asked for a wine that was on the website, but not the menu. The waiter made the effort to search the wine cellar and found one last bottle! It was worth the search. This is a great gem for DeLand. Can't wait for our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ontheroadagain0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cress Restaurant also viewed


Been to Cress Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing