We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turned down because kitchen couldn't handle 10 total people in restaurant...really?”
Review of Cress Restaurant

Cress Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 183 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: ZAGAT Guide:TOP Orlando Restaurant & America's Top Restaurants. Cress is a critically acclaimed global brasserie, with Farm-to-Table cuisine, located in Historic Downtown DeLand, Florida. Cress has always been dedicated to sourcing local produce that is inspired by the subtle changes in the Florida seasons. The cornerstone of the restaurant blends fresh market ingredients, exotic flavors, and refined presentation. Our serving staff creates a dialogue about food; for Cress is about the story or our land. The goal is to provide a connection that complements the complexity of the food the Cress kitchen creates with where our food comes from and with the individuals who are growing them. Knowing your farmer, dairyman, cattlemen, and fishermen. Offering 3-Course and Chef's Tastings only.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Turned down because kitchen couldn't handle 10 total people in restaurant...really?”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We (party of 4) went to Cress on Saturday at 5:45, they had 2 tables taken and the other tables were reserved and still empty. In general they had maybe six people total at the time, we were told we can't be seated because the kitchen is not able to handle the crowd, are you guys serious? It's Saturday night, that's when you do business and the website doesn't say reservations only. I've been in the restaurant business for years and we have never ever turned a customer down and i'm talking about a sushi restaurant where EVERYTHING on the menu is made fresh. Shouldn't be running a restaurant if you can't handle the crowd. Terrible experience, won't be returning or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alicjamrgn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenneffer P, Owner at Cress Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are sorry, but it is our policy is to honor our guests reservations. We can not accommodation guests if we do not have any available tables. As you stated, Cress was completely booked with current and pending reservations that Saturday. We recommend and allocate about 2.5 hours/table to enjoy the entire experience.

Our policy is clearly stated on Cress' Website, in our menus, and at the restaurant's entrance the following: We have chosen to prioritize reservations to online or phone requests because of the size and scope of the restaurant. The restaurant can only serve 36 guests at one time, either inside or outside. We are a very small restaurant that has to ensure each and every guest is happy and the food is prepared with the best of care and time. Therefore, tables may appear empty when the restaurant is at maximum capacity and pending reservations have yet to arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    25
    16
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A special treat when in town...”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I grew up in DeLand and my Mom is still there. I live in Michigan, travel a lot, and eat in some wonderful restaurants, so when I come down to visit and want to treat my Mom, this is where we go!!! The food is fresh and inventive, the wine list is great, and the service is just right. Chef Hari always comes out at some point to check on his guests. The last time we were there, my husband asked for a wine that was on the website, but not the menu. The waiter made the effort to search the wine cellar and found one last bottle! It was worth the search. This is a great gem for DeLand. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ontheroadagain0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We celebrated my husband's 60th birthday and the move of our son to Stetson University. It truly was a fine dining experience & we will definitely return next time we're in town. DeLand is fortunate to have Cress!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great meals ,lousy side dishes the truffle potatoes were nothing more than glorified potato chips, they pretty much suck”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

the appetizers were awesome. the dinner was awesome. the dessert was awesome, but the side dishes, sucked big time. glorified potato chips were tried to pass off as truffled steak fries. nothing could be further from the truth!. why serve a great meal with a sucky side dish? those dep fried potato chips that u call truffled potatoes are a joke. Really? you serve awesome food and serve that crap as a side dish? i would rather have fried potatoes with onions, it would be more tasty. I love your food, it is phenonemal, but come on! potatoe chips????? you can do better!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barb2762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely will return”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a lovely meal, good wine at a fair price, and attentive service. We ordered an appitizer, but would have enjoyed a cracker or some bread with our wine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geocache5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cress Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cress Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing