We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find and good food”
Review of DeLand Fish House

DeLand Fish House
Ranked #8 of 181 Restaurants in DeLand
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great find and good food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a real jewel of a place we found on the way back from Daytona to Orlando via Rt. 92. I ordered mahi mahi - grilled, and thought it was delicious, and so were the red potatoes. My husband ordered the catfish which can be ordered as fingerlings or filet and he was happy. The people at the next table ordered crab legs and there were plenty of them on the plate! I also liked the ambience and that it was well lit, nice restrooms too! The prices are very reasonable and the owner and staff are friendly! We will go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharona327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    79
    34
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful fresh fish”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was introduced by my mother and father In law. I had the clam chowder....DElicious! Couldnt keep my 13 year old out of my bowl! Also had the grouper lightly fried. It was very tasty. The fish in fish and chips is swai. Swai is light and my boy loved it. Flounder was mild and also perfect. The owner came by and visited with us about sports and food. This is a nice simple place for fresh seafood. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teressa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The quality of the food on the lunchtime seafood salad bar was very good. But there were only 4 peel & eat shrimp left. We asked for more (twice) & waited about 20 minutes. Apparently the cook just forgot - ? The 2 servers tried to be attentive but they were overworked with having to wait tables, bus tables, & tend the cash register.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed at the Clarion and came for all you can eat shrimp and 2 for one beer night because we had no car. Much better than we hoped for and a great value. Had the grilled shrimp which was wonderful Husband said the blackened was even better. Shrimp was tender and tasty. Servers were very friendly and helpful. Made sure we came back to try lunch and weren't disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, informal, and delicious”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The evening after leaving our Stetson student at school is always bittersweet and needs just the right dinner venue to suit the occasion. Happily we found DeLand Fish House last year. DeLand Fish House has a relaxed, friendly atmosphere, with particularly helpful staff. We typically get there late - about an hour before closing - so it is not unusual for one thing or another to be sold out. However, we have always followed the server's fish recommendations (we have not tried the non-fish entrees) and were never sorry. The restaurant has not been crowded at that later hour, nor were we rushed as it got close to closing. One added benefit... it is an easy walk from the Comfort and Quality (now Best Western?) Inns so if we want that extra one for the road, the only thing hitting the road is our feet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeLand Fish House also viewed

 

Been to DeLand Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing