We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unacceptable”

Super 8 DeFuniak Springs
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 DeFuniak Springs
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
“unacceptable”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The room we were in had bugs, ants and ticks. The sheets were stained and the towels smelled of gasoline. The floors had huge stains in various spots. The bathroom had a 4 inch nail on the floor (not sure where it was supposed to go). When expressing our concerns to the manager, he became hostile and began to yell at us. He was unreasonable and would interrupt us or continue to raise his voice when we tried to tell him our concerns. I would not recommend to anyone to stay at this location. We were VERY disappointed in the rooms and especially in the manager.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellon C, Manager at Super 8 DeFuniak Springs, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
This user is a local from Panama City according to their profile. In validating our reviews, they submitted 7/2/12 stating they stayed with us in June, 2012 and used priceline. However, we had no reservation that was made through priceline that we checked in during June 2012 from Panama City, FL. If this review is legitimate then by all means let it stay, but I've found some from local people (competitors) already, and I can't validate this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    46
    55
    37
    34
See reviews for
95
45
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

It is your typical Super 8. People are nice that work there. There is a waffle house and a family restaurant on the same road within walking distance. There is a great winery next door!

This is the ONLY Wyndham rewards hotel within about 24-40 miles. They charge 15, 000 points for a free night which is outrages for the location and property! Its about $65.00 for a room which is also too expensive for the area.

Room Tip: none to give
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talon2PRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonic, NH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This location was pleasantly average. The rate was slightly higher then I wanted to pay, but they location did not recognize the Wyndham RCI discount. The front desk person in the evening and in the morning were very pleasant. The room was neat, clean and stocked with normal amenities in the bathroom area. Primary challenge was getting a plug to use for my laptop, there were limited outlets. I only had coffee and juice at the breakfast bar. There was coffee, juice, a couple types of cereal and maybe some toast or bread. The coffee was hot, the juice was cold and the cereal milk was on ice. I would probably return to this location if I could get a lower rate.

Room Tip: I was offered a choice of 1st or 2nd floor, I took what was available. There is no elevator, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Nothing fancy, but nice room to spend the night on our long drive from Texas to southern Florida. The room was clean,and the shower had hot water. Free wifi was available. As reported by others, the breakfast was ok, Eggo waffles, cereal, breads, etc, but still adequate to get the day going.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a 1 night stopover on a road trip Fort Myers to New Orleans. Choose De Funiak Springs because we wanted to go to New Orleans via Seaside.

It was our first Super 8, we chose it based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed; in fact we were pleasantly surprised. Check-in was smooth, the room was clean and tidy and very importantly we got the room position we requested, i.e. 2nd floor at the back away from the highway - and it was non-smoking and didn't smell of smoke...yipee.

The location is very convenient for tired drivers as it is just off the highway.

We drove into the town to get beer and food - plenty of options. You could also just walk or drive the 300m or so to the steakhouse.

Breakfast was simple but adequate, for the price paid we thought this motel was excellent value, ($45 for a king). Gave us the confidence to use Super 8 again.

Room Tip: a room on the 2nd floor towards the back to avoid highway noise, (and away from the ice machine)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbGrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevepatel1959, Manager at Super 8 DeFuniak Springs, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for stopping at out Super 8, and we are pleased that we were able to meet all you requests.
We take pride in offering a clean room, thanks for noticing.
We hope to see you next time you pass through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My rating is based on what I would expect to receive given what I paid. I don't know what this hotel is rated, but I would consider it a 2 star property. We stopped at this hotel on a road trip ... just needed someplace to stop over to get some sleep. This hotel was really a motel ... old style, with exterior doors. The rooms/ building were clean and well maintained. We did not want to spend a lot of money since we were only going to get some sleep and head out. This was exactly what we were looking for ... clean, but inexpensive. We travel this route a couple times a year to visit family, and we will stop here again. I would recommend it to anyone looking for just the basics in a motel room. The room has a microwave, small fridge, and coffee pot. The bed was comfortable. The AC was one of those wall units that set under the window that you turn on and use knobs to set the temp. The room was hot when we first arrived and took several hours to cool enough to where it was comfortable. It was a second floor room, so requesting a first floor room might solve that problem. I notice that many newer hotels have paper thin walls .. our room was quiet (i.e. we did not hear our neighbors). They have continental breakfast ... eggo toaster waffles, bagels, bananas, cereal, muffins, coffee, juice. Unlike some of the reviews, They have an outdoor pool. We did not use it, so I can't comment on it. I did not find the staff either friendly or rude. Just seemed that they were doing a job. That's ok .. I just wanted some sleep. As long as I am treated in a civil manner, I am ok with that.

Room Tip: Book direct with Super 8. The AAA, AARP, etc rates were a little lower than
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank clb77581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

All we needed after a 16-hour drive on our way to the coast was a place to lay our heads. We could have been greeted a bit better though. Overnight attendant was a bit unwelcoming and uninformative. Clean rooms and a decent breakfast to get us started on our week-long vacation on the coast the next morning! Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeFuniak Springs
0.1 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites
Regency Inn and Suites
#7 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Springs
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Spr...
#3 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crossroads Inn
Best Western Crossroads Inn
#2 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
321 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Springs - Crestview
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Spri...
#1 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
237 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ponce De Leon Motel
Ponce De Leon Motel
#1 of 1 in Ponce de Leon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 DeFuniak Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 DeFuniak Springs

Property: Super 8 DeFuniak Springs
Address: 402 Hugh Adams Rd, Hwy 331 South & I-10- Exit 85, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435-3431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 DeFuniak Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 30 miles from the beautiful beaches of South Walton, and in the North-East corner of exit 85 off Interstate 10, we offer an excellent location for all types of visitors to the area. We offer free wifi and continental breakfast, business services (computer available/fax service/copy service), beautiful pool area, and our rooms feature flat screen TV's with an expanded cable package, microwafe/mini-fridge, and also our location has excellent Truck Parking (we accept Corporate Lodging). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 DeFuniak Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Defuniak Springs Hotel Defuniak Springs
Defuniak Springs Super Eight
Defuniak Springs Super 8
Super Eight Defuniak Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing