We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

On our way from Florida to Texas by car, this hotel was conveniently situated right off of I-10. Room was the standard design and layout for Best Westerns in this price range ($70). Of special note was the exceptionally comfortable king bed with five substantial pillows. The shower looked brand new. Plumbing worked well. Wifi worked well in the room. Reception staff was very pleasant. Only drawback was restaurant in hotel. Dinner (pork chops) was economical ($10 with salad and sides) but tasted terrible. Free breakfast was truly horrible, especially the grits which had a chemical taste. Hotel is pet friendly with area to walk around the parking lot. In sum, it was clean and perfunctory -- worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    106
    53
    20
    16
See reviews for
111
78
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2009

We have stayed here before and have found it to be an ok chain hotel, nothing fancy, just a pillow and a bed. Our recent stay was very different, we found old rooms that smelled like mildew and stale cigarette smoke. (kind of a shrug of the shoulders when I brought this to the front desk's attention)
Thier "restaurant" was horrible (not that it was great the last time we stayed, but this time was much worse.)
We get a room in this area yearly on our way to a condo we rent in Destin, after a drive from St. louis, Defuniak is a nice stopping point so we can get to the beach refreshed the next day.
Needless to say we will be looking for different accommodations next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Four of us UK seniors, just returning from whooping it up at Mardi Gras in New Orleans, decided we could go no further and called in at the Crossroads Inn for some R & R.
What a great decision !! The bedrooms were large and very nicely appointed with clean crisp linens on very comfortable beds, coupled with a fridge and microwave.
We headed for the bar after unpacking and enjoyed one of the best couple of hours of our holiday, hosted by Pam who runs a very unusual, but friendly bar. She has surrounded herself with lots of old bar games which we enjoyed playing and which Pam enjoys showing you how to play. This coupled with great bar prices was an unexpected bounus.
We then enjoyed a very nice meal in the restaurant hosted by Davis and as with Pam nothing was to much trouble.
After a good night's rest we all enjoyed a high quality complementary hot breakfast, before continuing our homeward journey to Bradenton.
WELL DONE FOLKS !!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

My wife and I traveled to Defuniak Springs to attend a 1 day event and decided to spend the night before the event relaxing at a hotel in the Defuniak Springs area. We chose the Best Western for the overall value for the amenities provided. We got a room near the parking and the pool. We ordered the $8.95 fried catfish special which is served on Friday nights.

Pluses:
The hotel is located on a large piece of land that used to be a pecan grove and is relatively quiet considering the proximity of I-10.
The rooms come with a small fridge and microwave and free wireless internet and appear to have been recently updated. There is a sink inside and outside of the bathroom.
The FULL breakfast of eggs, grits, bacon, coffee, juice, and toast or biscuits was very good.
The pool was an adequate size and very clean.

Minuses:
The interior hallways do have a musty smell to them, but the rooms do not and you can come and go via the door that opens to the sidewalk outside instead of walking down the hallway.
If you want to check out more than a few minutes past the 11:00AM check out you will be charged for an extra half day.
The bathroom was a little on the small side.

Recommendations:
1) Ask the front desk about specials in the restaurant before checking out the limited good dining choices in Defuniak Springs.
2) Request a room on the 1st floor (range 110-115) which is near the parking and pool and faces the east rather than the other side of the hotel which catches the hot afternoon sun and noise from US 331.

  • Liked — FULL breakfast
  • Disliked — Small Bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tallahasseean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tn
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed 1 night, went for their "free breakfast" & when we came back, found that we were robbed! They took our money & all of our jewelry, worth approximately $7,000 plus the cash. We discovered it after we left & had to drive all the way back to Florida to make the police report.

Our advice is do not stop there no matter how tired you may be from a long day of travel. Keep going right past DeFuniak Springs.

  • Liked — Relatively clean
  • Disliked — Being robbed.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stnunn2855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

We just returned home after staying at the Best Western . It is a very clean & a well managed hotel. All the staff are very nice and go out of their way to assist you. I highly recommend this hotel . My family & I will stay here from now on when we are in the Defuniak area. This is by far the best hotel in Defuniak.

  • Liked — The cleaniest of the hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hannroosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upper louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Wonderful small town hotel. One of the best complimentary breakfasts I have ever had. You sit down to grits, toast or biscuit, eggs, bacon, juice, coffee. WONDERFUL. Extremely nice waitresses and hotel personnel. Friday night special was fried catfish for $8.00 and it was great as well. We're from Louisiana and it was as good as any fried fish we have had at 2 times the price. Room was nice and really liked the double vanity one is the bath area (nice large bathroom with granite details) the other outside was perfect for makeup or washing hands while bath was occupied. I also really liked the 2 doors, we were on a ground floor and had our car right outside our room and also had a second door that lead to a central hallway for ice, cokes, dinning area or pool area. My family really enjoyed our stay and had no complaints at all. No bugs or rude people as previously reported. Just good ole southern people in a nice small town... very enjoyable.

  • Liked — laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — the way you had to enter the hotel it was a little confussing
Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Cotton_Farmer_Clay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeFuniak Springs
13.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Springs - Crestview
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Spri...
#1 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Springs
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Spr...
#2 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites
Regency Inn and Suites
#7 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
11.3 mi away
Ponce De Leon Motel
Ponce De Leon Motel
#1 of 1 in Ponce de Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
23.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Niceville-Eglin Air Force Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn
Address: 2343 Freeport Road, I-10 and U.S. 331, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crossroads Hotel Defuniak Springs
Best Western Defuniak Springs
Defuniak Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing