We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel DeFuniak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel DeFuniak
Certificate of Excellence
Niceville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Upon our arrival at the Hotel, we were greeted with a very friendly and knowledgeable desk clerk. She did a wonderful job explaining the amenities included in our room rate, and was very polite. Our room was standard for a B&B... lots of old furnishings and decor. I love antiques, and was happy with the room. The bedding could have been more luxurious (considering we were in an expensive suite), but in keeping with the antique feel of the room, it was old and "granny-like" as my husband described it.

The bathroom was small, as expected for most B&Bs. But stepping over the toilet to get in and out of the shower was a bit odd. Also, no wash cloths were in the room (but signs saying not to wash your make-up off with them were present). I was happy to see plenty of full size towels. But not happy with the tiny bottle of cheap shampoo and small cheap soaps. There was no hair dryer, or even a note suggesting you could check one out at the front desk.

The worst part of the room was the lack of air conditioning. It's July - in Florida - A/C is a must. The placard above the room thermostat instructed guests not to set the temperature below 68 degrees or it will break the system. I suspect someone did not follow the rules and the entire upstairs at the hotel was left in the heat. It was so uncomfortable, my husband and I considered going home in the middle of the night. We decided we were on an adventure, and since we'd paid over $110, we were going to tough it out. The next morning, there was a half apology from the staff (with a joke about how people pay for that type of experience in Sedona - yeah, pretty sure if that's the experience I wanted, I would have chosen to vacation there instead). No compensation was offered for our discomfort.

Breakfast was probably the best part of our stay. The cafe room was well cooled, and the food was tasty. Two options were offered for the main course, both of which were plentiful and delicious. Yogurt, toast, and bagels were also offered.

After breakfast, we checked out and walked around the town for a bit. It was a very hot and humid morning, so before leaving the town, we popped back in the hotel cafe to purchase some bottled water to cool off. Since we stayed at the hotel, we were not charged for the water - which was a very nice gesture.

Overall, the hotel staff was pleasant, but the hotel itself left a lot to be desired. We won't be going back, and won't recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingBelle_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDefuniak, General Manager at Hotel DeFuniak, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us. We are proud of our hotel and want to make it as great as we can. We of course regret the problems you experienced and are currently working to improve those aspects of our hotel. Thank you again. Sincerely, Howell Geib, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    29
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
84
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, TX
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

After a long drive from Texas we were getting tired and hungry. On a whim in DeFuniak Springs we exited I-10 and took a left on 90. Wow, what a neat discovery, Hotel DeFuniak.
We asked if they had a room and we were given 2 keys to 2 different rooms to check out. We took one and just relaxed until Bogey's opened. Another wonderful treat, the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend Hotel DeFuniak to travelers who like to experience and explore the old and the new. I loved the decor and the antiques. This has become one of our favorite hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justboppingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a very relaxing and comfortable hotel with a fantastic staff. From the moment you check in they make you feel at home and will go out of their way to help you. Great breakfast, nice restaurant next door. Very clean and well staffed at all times. Location is great and very secure. This is an old hotel so don't expect giant bathrooms with state of the art plumbing. However, it has great air conditioning that really works, comfortable beds, and nice decorations. Everyone that we met felt just like we did...great place to relax and enjoy Florida.

Room Tip: I saw several rooms and they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgtklbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is my second visit to the hotel - a real gem. Some might consider the location a detriment (half an hour from the coast) but I love that - you have quiet, safety, trees and such - not noise and a gas station or McDonalds across the street.

The first time I went after some research for a historical B&B. A damper in the room was stuck and the A/C was cold; they not only tried like crazy to fix it, got us lots of blankets, but unsolicited gave a free coupon for a night's stay to return.

I did return this past weekend - delightful stay. The staff always have time to chat and visit - not overly formal or in a hurry - so you can get advice or just feel at home. Both times the owner (husband and wife) put in an appearance, too. (P.S. He has some great ghost stories).

Everything is clean, decorations in good taste. Breakfasts look gorgeous but I am happy with a banana or coffee and so usually come in at 9am, as breakfast is ending.

Those familiar with the Chautaqua movement may be interested the town has a link. Town is okay - it's not Chautaqua, NY but has some a few pretty houses and shops - it's more of a village. Prices very reasonable (sincle about $80/night). You would likely pay a ton more for that quality on the coast.

Food locally I have found is not that great, but there is Bogey's, a 4-star restaurant at the hotel. I tend to eat cheaper - but it smelled just great this time and I was tempted.

Would I go back? Yes.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpiroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

My wife and I, on a long trip from Orlando to San Francisco, wanted to explore the area around Seaside, Florida, and we stumbled onto the Hotel DeFuniak in the delightful town of DeFuniak Springs. We were doubly fortunate to be there on a Wednesday night - prime rib night at Bogey's Restaurant, next door. The whole experience couldn't t have been better, from the helpful concierge to the great homemade breakfast, to the nicely decorated rooms. And very affordable - great value. A must if you're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GibsonPolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches LA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Old style hotel in 'downtown' DeFuniak Springs. It's charming, nicely decorated, lovingly restored and furnished. The public areas were really nice, think old-time Victorian parlor. The hotel is not for everyone though because the rooms bring new meaning to the word 'cozy'. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are downright tiny - think RV bathrooms. They are so small that the sink is in the already cluttered bedroom. And the toilet is literally 4 feet from the bed. If you stay there with a friend, they should be a really good friend. :-)

If you can live with a smalll room though, the Hotel DeFuniak is really charming and the service was excellent. We had a minor issue checking in (due to my using a booking 'service') but it was handled quickly and professionally. One of the things that made the stay enjoyable was that all the people who work there are just really nice folks. Breakfast was above average in quality and nicely presented.

The location should be mentioned. The hotel is only a block from the lake, which has to be seen to be believed - a perfectly circular spring-fed lake surrounded by parkland and great old houses. Make an effort to go during Christmas season when the entire lake park is covered in millions of lights and set pieces. An amazing display!!

We had dinner at Bogey's, the hotel restaurant, and the same service and quality we experienced at the hotel carried over. There was a surprisingly interesting menu for a small town bistro and I was impressed with wines available by the glass. We really enjoyed our (very reasonable) meal there - particularly the grouper and the homemade pumpkin cheesecake.

Overall, I would definitely stay at Hotel DeFuniak again - 'cozy' rooms and all. :-).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatchitochesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Like visiting an old world B&B, with the charm and grace to be expected of such. Throw in wonderful owners and warm, gracious staff, along with Cates delicious breakfasts and a touch of "perhaps haunted" and you've got one great experience. Each room has a motif and we plan to experience each one. The Safari room brings out inner 'animal'". LOL

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rj_Marks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near DeFuniak Springs
14.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Springs - Crestview
Sleep Inn & Suites DeFuniak Spri...
#1 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Springs
Holiday Inn Express Defuniak Spr...
#2 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Inn
#3 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.9 mi away
Regency Inn and Suites
Regency Inn and Suites
#6 of 8 in DeFuniak Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ponce De Leon Motel
Ponce De Leon Motel
#1 of 1 in Ponce de Leon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel DeFuniak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel DeFuniak

Property: Hotel DeFuniak
Address: 400 E Nelson Ave, DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433-7443
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > DeFuniak Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in DeFuniak Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel DeFuniak 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"One of Florida's Top Ten Bed & Breakfast Inns" gives service beyond your expectations. Built as a Masonic Lodge in 1920, this magnificent structure was completely restored in 1998 with all of the modern amenities you would expect in a fine Hotel. Every room has been decorated to create a unique theme with the ambiance of a time past. With its 4-Star Bogey's Restaurant and Bar and the Hotel's AAA Triple Diamond Rating, it has become the place to stay for travelers and romantic get-a-ways as well as for business men & women. Hotel DeFuniak is located across from the Walton County Court House and steps from the Lake Yard Park at Lake Defuniak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel DeFuniak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing