We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fire Trap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emerald Seas Resort
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Deerfield Beach
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fire Trap”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The wiring in this place has not been upgraded for a long time. The maintenance in this place is less than desirable. Some of the electric plugs don't work. Extension cords were used in my unit. the floors are very dirty. The bottoms of my two daughters feet were black from walking barefoot in the tile floors. The refrigerator works but looks ugly. All rusty on the bottom. The burners on the stove are all bent and sometimes don't work. The dresser in the bedroom has broken doors and the dining room chairs are wobbly and one was broken. My daughter sat on it and almost fell. The maintenance man appeared indifferent when I pointed out some of the things, started to make a few minor repairs, stopped and said he needed a part but never returned during the week I was there. The manager-owner of this place (Wally) is a nasty individual. He hires people to do half assed repairs. The place is a real dump. And by the way there was no fire-smoke alarm in my unit. This a fire waiting to happen.
There are no handicapped accessories and the place is quite full of senior citizens. Very dangerous.
It amazes me that this place is licensed, let alone a part of the RCI exchange..
On the plus side, the location is fabulous. Beautiful beach, but there are no beach chairs available to guests, so if you can, bring your own chairs. Don't know how you get them on the plane, though.
The towels and wash cloths, sheet are old and paper thin.
No complaints about the matresses. The beds were comfortable

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guild, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Everyone experiences everything differently. Some people expect a 5 star for a 1 star price and gripe about it. This is an old Florida type place with some good updates at an affordable price. Wonderful location with an at home atmosphere. I love it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom condo was a great set up, right on the beach with what would have been GREAT views if the sliding glass doors (3 sets) that faced the ocean had been clean - we could barely see through them! The floors were filthy - REALLY, we are not fussy types, we don't worry about older accommodation, however, we do want it clean - this was so far from clean I could not take my shoes off. When I complained to the office staff I was told "I am certain it is not dirty" - no offer to come and check it out was offered - or better cleaning. On the up side, the location is outstanding, right on the beach, within walking distance to great restaurants, pubs & shopping. They were under renovation during our stay with hammering, drilling, jack hammering, etc. there was building materials spread out all over, although the crew did their best to clean up after themselves, they had a job to do and started by 8:00 a.m. every weekday - we were there Sunday to Saturday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisPA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, CT
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Cute place, excellent location; extremely friendly staff; 30+ years old but still in good share; 2 pools -1 heated; BBQ which we used several times during the week, a cabana for socializing; walk to most everything; full kitchen

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Overall recommend if you don't expect 4Star+ luxury.This TimeShare needs serious updating. The rooms that have not been renovated need to be completely gutted. Those that have been updated need to have furniture replaced. The cleaning staff is woefully lacking. There is no central airconditioning, so you need to run them all day and if the noise bothers you, turn them off at night in the bedroom. All of this aside, the location cannot be beat. It's within walking distance of great restaurants in every price range and the Deerfield Beach Pier. The beach is impeccably maintained and is never overcrowded. The change in Front Desk and Maintenance Staff has improved the service immensely over our stay last year. It's also a very "kid" friendly place, and has enough space to keep them separate from adults who prefer a little less "kid activity". We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Chose renovated rooms and those in the South Building at the corners, because the views are unbeatab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZQinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here the week of January 7, 2012. The unit is outdated and could use some work, especially in the kitchen. We had a roach problem and the water in the toilet kept running. There was also a problem with getting hot water- we had to let the shower run for a very long time to get hot water and then the water would suddenly get cold. The best thing about the place was its location-right on the beach with lovely views but not a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sistiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We traded a timeshare in Hilton Head with 3 bedrooms for a dirty one room condo?! Should not even be called a condo--everything was in one room--the bed was separated from the room by a short curtain! The bed was very scarey--rips in the box springs and the mattress was very old! Cleaned the place before we even brought the suitcases in! It was unbelieveable--did not want to take my shoes off or touch the furniture! Stay away!

Had one positive--right on the beach!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikeflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deerfield Beach
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
Wyndham Deerfield Beach Resort
#1 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
2,405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Deerfield Beach - Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Oceanside
Comfort Inn Oceanside
#11 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Blues Hotel
Royal Blues Hotel
#5 of 18 in Deerfield Beach
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boca Beach Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
Waterstone Resort & Marina Boca Raton, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Seas Resort

Property: Emerald Seas Resort
Address: 660 NE 21st Ave, Deerfield Beach, FL 33441-3814
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Deerfield Beach
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Deerfield Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Emerald Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Seas Hotel Deerfield Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing