We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible-save your money!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Muddy Waters

Muddy Waters
Ranked #19 of 225 Restaurants in Deerfield Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A Key West style restaurant, come on over and enjoy our savory recipes, unique atmosphere, and prices that'll make you feel like a pirate! Muddy Waters is located just off I-95 Hillsboro, right after Military Trail. Sail on over today!!!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible-save your money!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food here is horrible!! Imagine ordering scallops and taking a bite and its cold/raw in the center!! Then getting your sandwich that looks like its been sitting under hot lamps and the bread is soaked and stuck to the plate!! BTW- service is even worse. Never saw the waitress. She threw the food down and just walked away. Restaurant wasn't busy either so there was no excuse for her actions. Stay away its poor quality food!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RDLDGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruby069, Manager at Muddy Waters, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
JByrd’s Muddy Waters Restaurant values customer feedback like yours so we can improve our business. It is unfortunate that the quality of our food was not to our normal standards on the day you dined with us. We invite you back for a second chance and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    120
    46
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere, a real good find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Not much to see on the outside, but go behind the flowers and find a tropical resort. Misters outside and plenty of outdoor seating. A little too smokey for me. Inside is another surprise. The inside expands to at least four regular strip mall stores. It snakes through several groups of tables which isolates groups of tables and gives you the impression it's a small action packed restaurant. Lots of Caribbean decorations. Candace was an excellent server, good selection of menu items. Salmon was excellent, so was the coconut shrimp. We'll go back the next time we visit Deerfield Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We frequently bring our kids here for lunch. It is a fun place with the best fish tacos anywhere. I try not to go inside - the wood floor is sticky, the carpet looks really dirty, and it makes me wonder what the food prep areas look like.... But if I don't think about these things, it is a really fun place with tasty food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessFloats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood BBQ Happy Hour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Got to check out this hidden gem in deerfield. Completely hidden behind Omni bank on Hillsboro just West of Military Trail. Tucked away in this strip mall which is deceiving to the eye of having any wow factor until you get to the Patio area of this wonderful restaurant. The tropical Patio setting with swinging picnic tables of bright charming colors, live fish pond with waterfall, real live parrots, kids menu happy hour drink special, .50 cents for clam & oysters "UNHEARD OF" this place is great! Our kids food served on a frisbee, pirate tattos & coins. Inside with huge dining rooms 2 full bars & great things to look around at. Very Very Cool. Great fun, cant wait to come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peejaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great good, reasonable prices, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I came here with family for my birthday on Wednesday, the hostess outside was immediately talkative and extremely nice, she offered to take a few pictures for us, etc.

The inside of this adorable little place is dark and they have neon paint in the bathrooms and everything is decorated in a unique seafood related manner.

Our server, whose name I cannot remember, was new only being there two weeks, I was very impressed with how well she handled herself. Also friendly and funny!

Food was great, I recommend the mahi dip appetizer to start, comes with sesame crackers/flatbread and a delicious mahi spread with tomatoes, jalapenos and onions on the side!

They offered me a complimentary shot on the house or desert, I chose the key lime pie which was amazing!! They brought out a candleabra to blow out and the staff sang to me and blew through conch shells which was unique!

Definitely a must visit, you'll enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererWanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Waters also viewed

Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Muddy Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing