We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Awesome place to take a stroll and admire nature

Wow what a great place to take a stroll in nature, a quick little pontoon boat ride to the island... read more

Reviewed May 24, 2019
Dante-Donna
,
Yonkers, New York
Fun activity

5 minutes boat ride Saturday and Sunday only . (April 2019) Nice easy walk on a boardwalk and a... read more

Reviewed April 14, 2019
dianepB3133KN
,
Mount Royal, Canada
Read all 66 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Deerfield Beach
from $58.00
More Info
from $165.00
More Info
from $32.53
More Info
from $58.99
More Info
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
31
29
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
31
29
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small island free ferry boat ride awesome place iguanas spiders nature sullivan habitat picnic glimpse dock human paths barbecue adventure florida
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 66 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Quiet areas for watching nature and being away from noise and excess traffic...people are quiet and enjoy connection with greenery...

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Katipow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Best part of this mini adventure is the boat ride .
Once you get on the island is still pretty neat especially for a morning walk .
Summer time is way too hot , but I can see how it could be a great time spent during Florida cool winter days .
We did not get lucky and haven’t seen any animals , but the walk was very calming and you will be surrounded by “ jungle”. I wish there would be a small area to hang out to see the water of inter coastal.
If you like you can do a picnic , there are some assigned areas to bbq too.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank MariannMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday in September. We arrived around 10:45am and caught the 11:00am ride over from the docks at Sullivan park. I think we may were supposed to pay for parking - OOPS! Didn’t see till we got back - but we weren’t ticketed.

The “shuttle” service is a 2min pontoon cruise across the canal to a “marina” on the island.

We went over for approximately an hour. The habitat is pristine, and the trails are a combination of landscaped and decked walking paths.

You can expect to see mangrove bird species, mature iguanas, gopher tortises, and huge-beautiful Gold orb weaving spiders. My wife was not a fan, but they were all webbed up well out of reach of human heads or hands.

Overall this was a very pleasant trip. Be sure to check the parking guidelines.

I would suggest bringing a small backpack, sunscreen if up, some insect repellent, a small first aid kit, and water for everyone in your group.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank ericcandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

Even many people in Deerfield beach are not aware of this great excursion. Pick up the free ferry at Sullivan park (another great hideaway). The park is behind the chamber of commerce on the left BEFORE crossing the bridge. Ferry leaves on the hour weekend only. Great hiking and exploring for kids. Bring your lunch and drinks. We traveled with my elderly mom and have the following tips: exiting off the ferry at the island is tough. A very steep plank and ferry drivers,though very nice, do not offer much assistance. Nicely paved and accessible walkways once in the island but do not attempt to get
To the observation deck if you can’t manage uneven terrain. There are only dirt trails at that point. Instead go left after disembarking the ferry for a nice picnic lunch. Then retrace your steps past the marina and head straight to the dock. Great viewing from there and a shorter accessible walk. We enjoyed it!

Date of experience: February 2018
4  Thank mossod12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017

The Broward County water taxi to and from the island from Sullivan Park is short, but feels like a real adventure. After a short ride across the intercoastal waterway, we docked and stepped off the boat on to Capone Island. There are walking trails that are well marked all over the island to explore. Lots of birds and lizards to see.
After an hour or so on the island you've seen it all and may wish to head back to Sullivan Park on the next water shuttle.

Date of experience: April 2017
4  Thank DBG8474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews