We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the midst of tourism”

Deerfield Island Park
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Oasis in the midst of tourism”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently visited the island on a whim; we are so glad we did! You can access the island via a small ferry which runs on the hour every hour from 10 am to 4 pm on the weekends. (I'd check for updated hours as a previous reviewer experienced different hours.) If you have your own small boat, you can access the 6-slip marina on a first-come, first-served basis. (Not a boater, I do not recall the maximum boat length.) The park provides restrooms, a pop machine, lots of picnic tables, a playground, and two short nature walks. I agree with Heidi F: bring a book and a lunch, then, relax and enjoy getting away from the bustle of tourism all around the island. (A note: if you have a disabled or elderly member in your party, plan your visit to coincide with high tide. Otherwise, exiting/entering the ferry requires navigating a steeply sloped ramp.)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TryingoutTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Neat Island”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was on our Summer list of to-dos because we never knew about it. We read reviews on tripadvisor and planned our trip. Shuttle is scheduled for every hour, we missed the shuttle by a minute and saw it going away, but the driver to us over as soon as he got back (great driver). I would recommend going on the first shuttle of the day or during cooler whether, it was hot. The island has a couple of trails to explore, a playground, restrooms and a pavilion next to a volley ball net. I rated it average only because there is not beach to enjoy while u are hear. It would be a cool place to stop and explore from your own private boat. There are gopher turtles on the island but we didn't see any.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Picnics”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Pack a lunch...take the little ferry over and enjoy paradise!
Bring a book and stay for the day. You can fish there. You can pretend you have your own island.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice little get away”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Lots of different areas for one fairly small island. Despite its size, we spent several hours. It's nice because it's fairly secluded. I think there we're 8 people on the whole island.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JiCiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spacious Ocean Side Lodging”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This facility easily accommodate a large group/social gathering. While pricey, it was very clean and spacious, with breakfast included in the price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deerfield Island Park also viewed

Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Deerfield Island Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing