We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Popular”
Review of The Whale's Rib

The Whale's Rib
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'We Feed The Beach' since 1981!
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Popular”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for a late lunch on a rainy day. The restaurant was packed. My wife ordered Clams Casino. The clams were small, but they tasted good according to my wife. I had the Oyster Poor Boy, which was approximately eight oysters, lettuce, and tomato slices on an eight-inch, toasted hoagie roll. It also was very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nathan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    423
    162
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“July 4th holiday”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Also a restaurants in walking distance to the Comfort Inn Oceanside! We always return here for the best seafood in the area and the USA for that matter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had a wonderfully fresh dolphin sandwich- very tasty. the whale chips are fried potato chips which I should have skipped. But the fresh fish was yummy and the service was good!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gloria73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hole in the wall !”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I don't have anything bad to say about Whales Rib. There is usually a wait to eat here but do not fear. You can usually find seats in bar quickly or at the raw bar. It's hard for me to order anything other than seafood. In love with the oysters, fish dip & Rock shrimp. I crave those dang shrimp ! Drinks are served in mini pitchers and all the servers are very friendly. Lobster bisque soup is delicious. Can't forget the tasty whales fries w/ whales juice. Bloody Mary's always have amazing celery in them. I highly recommend this place. Even if you don't care for seafood they have some tasty sandwiches.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natbuguf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique twist to seafood that is perfect”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My family has now been back a few more times. This place is just fantastic. The atmosphere is great. A true local hangout. The staff is so friendly.
The rock shrimp may be the best I have had. The dolphin fingers are also another can't miss. Others liked the oyster Rockefeller. You must try the whale juice. You can dip almost anything in it.....I know my kids did. They don't need ketchup with whale juice around.
This place is worth the wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whale's Rib also viewed

Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 

Been to The Whale's Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing