We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time eating there”
Review of The Whale's Rib

The Whale's Rib
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 'We Feed The Beach' since 1981!
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second time eating there”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I came here two years ago, I remembered the food to be very good, so I took some friends giving it a good review. I am not sure what happened, but the food was not fresh, the fresh oysters where warm for some reason, the lobster salad wasn't fresh, neither the scampies, I can continue but you get the point.. Place looked dirty. Not coming here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank euroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    423
    162
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty place”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The location is good on the beach but inside was dirty and loud. The food is average and fairly priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterWhite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“OMG, fish like you dream about!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We started with blue point oysters....half the price of an oyster bar in Manhattan . They were cold, perfectly shucked and great presentation. We proceeded to stay with shellfish and the entree was mussels on garlic linguini. Flavour plus!The side salad was certainly fresh...although the garlic bread was a minor disappointment . Great service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

You cannot leave Deerfield Beach without eating here. We love the decor such as it is. The staff is amazing and very helpful. The food is truly special. We have never had anything that disappoints. I love the Lobster Bisque and never leave without a bowl of it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid the Lobster Salad Sandwich.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Our wives ordered the lobster salad sandwich and both were very disappointed. Sandwich was bland and had no pieces of lobster to speak of. Oyster Rockefeller was tasty but couldn't taste the oyster. Whale fries were good. Would not eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davewincup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whale's Rib also viewed

Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 

Been to The Whale's Rib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing