We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Florida Beach Restaurant; Good view, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean's 234

Ocean's 234
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean's 234 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 221 Restaurants in Deerfield Beach
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hillsboro & A1A
Description: Relax in our comfortable setting and savor Chef Victor's inspired cuisine. The sights, aromas and tastes of OCEANS will awaken your senses with an unparalleled dining experience. OCEANS has earned a reputation that goes well beyond its breathtaking setting.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
367 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Typical Florida Beach Restaurant; Good view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were at Ocean's 234 on a Saturday afternoon over the Christmas Holidays. The beach was busy and we wanted a place to have lunch with a view. Valet parking was the draw to Ocean's 234. This is a typical Florida restaurant on the beach. Great view, but the food was nothing to rave about. Reminded us of food service fare without any dress up. I had the pull pork sliders...average. My husband had the Cuban Sandwich...again average. I'm sure that if you just want to sit on their very nice patio and drink with a few appetizers, you will not be disappointed. But, if you want a a great meal, go elsewhere. The highlights of this place are valet parking, the patio and the view right by the pier.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laplume9254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyInTheBiz, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean's 234, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Oceans 234. Happy to hear you enjoyed the view and the valet service made your visit easier. Sadly it seems we fell short on impressing you with our sandwiches. We strive to be anything but "average" or "typical". Your comments will be discussed and thoroughly considered.
It appears you live too far away for us to temp to you back in try us again, but if you ever return to South Florida, please allow us the opportunity to win you over with our "way above average" brunch, lunch or dinner entrees and sushis selections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    179
    89
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sushi is excellent and Oceans is right on the beach. They also have brunch on the weekends. They also have other seafood or meant options. Nachos are great too and excellent service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krystal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great seating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located right on the beach, this outdoor seating is the best, even on a cool January night. The food was fresh, the service friendly and quick although the atmosphere was a bit noisy on a Saturday night. The margarita wasn't priced on the menu and my own fault for not asking, but $12 seemed a bit steep for a simple, relatively small drink. They were unable to accommodate my shellfish allergy by removing the shrimp breading from the snapper, but were able to put the lobster sauce served with the trout on the side.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mseldridge23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyInTheBiz, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean's 234, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your visit to Oceans 234. So glad you we're able to enjoy the beautiful January weather we are currently experiencing in South Florida.
We we're happy to read your service was "friendly and quick" but it seems there was a misunderstanding in regards to the breading on the snapper. Oceans 234 takes food allergies very seriously. In fact, one of our long time managers has serious food allergies and our kitchen accommodates her daily. Please hurry back and introduce yourself to one of our managers. We would love the opportunity to chef up a snapper to your liking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice view, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

It was a beautiful day, perfect for brunch by the beach. We had a nice table outside, although the seating was tight. One person ordered fish and chips, nothing special. My wife ordered a tuna melt, how can you ruin that, you cut the amount of tuna. Most diners do it better. I ordered a Caesar salad with shrimp. It was a decent salad with four large shrimp, but then again it was 18 dollars. I understand you pay for the view, but they pack you in and it is extremely loud, between music and people talking. The service is very good, and they don't rush you. I think JB's on the beach is a better choice!

Helpful?
1 Thank gourmand47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi
Level Contributor
456 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Best Calamari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Best calamari I have ad in a long time! Light and not over cooked. Highly recommend! Had the swordfish and it was cooked perfectly! None of us had a bad meal. Excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyInTheBiz, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean's 234, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time write a review for Oceans 234! We pride ourself on serving the best Calamari around. So glad everyone enjoyed their meals. You sound like someone that may want to an Oceans 234 VIP to receive free food, drinks and event reminders. Please join our VIP Club on our web site. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean's 234 also viewed

Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
Deerfield Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Ocean's 234? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing