We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can i say it's great !!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanjeath Farm Cottages
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just home from another fab week at the piggery,This was our second visit. We found Nanjeath last year in a magazine, It was one of the best holidays we had for a long time. We were Welcomed by Gill, Pete and Woody the owners, who showed us around the cottage and the facilities. We were so pleased, it had everything we needed. On arrival there was a cream tea which was appreciated after a long journey and it was delicious two large scones each Jam and Clotted Cream, enough for 4 people really but hey we were on holiday lol !

The cottage was beautiful, with a private garden over looking the meadow. It was so peaceful just what is needed when you have a busy working life.

The farm is situated near to the Eden Project, Gardens of Halligan and lots of other fab attractions so you can be as busy as you want.

If your looking for a fab place to stay, with fab accomodation and very nice owners this is the place for you.

Jill & Peter thank you once again for a lovely time, we would love to stay again. xxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniem6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one week in the Granary. After a very warm welcome from Jill and Woody we were taken into the cottage. A super idea, we thought was the cream tea upon arrival.
The cottage had everything we could have wanted, "home from home". We enjoyed the selection of videos and dvd´s and spent most evenings just relaxing and watching them.
The newly rennovated Cider Barn is just gorgeous! If we visit Cornwall again, we will most certainly book it. The rooms are so tastefully decorated to a very high standard.
The location is excellent, it´s so easy to get around, within short distances. We loved everything about Cornwall and hopefully will visit again.

Thanks to Jill and Pete for making our stay so nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Oxen House is pretty, comfortable, well presented and secluded. The cream tea on arrival was nice - albeit for 2 not 3 persons. It is not good for views being surrounded by other buildings or trees but has a charming secluded grassed area for sitting out.

Hardly saw the owners.

If after a day out you want to catch up on news, your favorite soap or just some radio or TV - forget it. The picture or DAB radio reception breaks up within minutes. The AM/FM radio gets nothing. No internet except in a 'community' room up a slippery path, and which smelt awful. So could not use our computer for media.

On the last morning the lighting circuit fused.

The 'kitchen' - the term flatters it - was (some ladies might say) designed by a male architect (I am one!) Hard to remember one less well arranged. The Belfast sink (nice) was tight into the corner with no draining board, just a Bettaware plastic tray under a wire rack and no cutlery holder which was insufficient for 3 adults in a 4 person cottage. We coped.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jawenold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Oxen House cottage and wish you had spoken to us during your stay. We try to respect the privacy of our guests but make it very clear that we are always around or contactable in order to assist with any queries or problems and we always welcome a friendly chat.
We apologise again about the shortage of scones and had hoped that we had rectified this by immediately sending over more.
The Digital TV interference was an unusual problem that the local area was experiencing during the week of your stay. This was out of our control, but was resolved by the weekend and has not been a problem since. The CD Player / Radio simply needed re-tuning and this we easily could have done.
Had you informed us that you found the path to the information room to be slippery we would have addressed this immediately.
The trip switch was thrown on the morning of your departure as a result of a light bulb blowing in the lounge. These are sensitive trips designed for safety. Again, had we known, we would have reset the trip and replaced the bulb straight away.
We are sorry that the kitchen was not to your liking. Many guests find it in keeping with the character of the cottage. We have drainer trays with the Belfast sinks in order to avoid cutting grooves into the wooden work surfaces and they have the advantage of being left or right handed. We had always considered these to be perfectly adequate, especially when combined with the full size dishwasher.
Please be assured that we appreciate your comments, have taken them on board and apologise that you stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a find, an advert led us to book The Stables and we were in no way disappointed. Everything you could wish for, so well thought out, we lacked for nothing. A super location, so easy to get around to various places in Cornwall we wanted to visit yet Nanjeath is so lovely, quiet and peaceful. Despite the mixed weather we had lovely visits to Eden, Heligan and the cathedral in Truro. Mevgissey enchanted us as did Charlestown. A week wasn't long enough so we know we will be going back again to Nanjeath to enable us to continue exploring beautiful Cornwall. Thank you Jill and Peter for making it a special week for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonDerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the Oxen House with is the larger of the five tastefully renovated farm buildings made into cottages. We were welcomed by Jill the owner and there was a welcome cream tea waiting for us in the cottage.

The cottage consisted of a large kitchen / diner with all you could wish for in a kitchen, a living room with two large sofas, Freeview TV, DVD player, board games and doors out to the outside sitting area with table, chairs, and umbrella. There were two large double bedrooms, an upstairs bathroom & toilet, and a downstairs power shower & toilet. There was plenty of hot water, central heating, and a coal effect electric heater in the living room.

There is a games room in one of the other farm buildings where you can also collect farm fresh eggs when the hens do their business. It was also great to see that there was a building where you could recycle your plastic, glass, paper etc which is something we are keen on. There was plenty of wildlife with rabbits eating the grass outside the cottage and birds feeding their young when we put out a few crumbs for them.

Although you go on holiday to get away from the daily grind, one thing to remember is that mobile phone reception can be a bit hit and miss in Cornwall and especially a signal for data for smart phones. We found that T-Mobile / Orange reception was very poor in the area around the farm (there seemed to be a stronger Vodaphone signal) and so could not txt, phone, or access the internet. You could pick this all up again though just up the road as we travelled on the A3058.

Outside there is plenty of parking and easy access to the A3058 to travel a couple of miles east into St. Austell where there are shops for everything you could want or west to the A30 for travel down to other parts of Cornwall. Remember also that roads in Cornwall they can be single track once you stray away from the A and B roads so look out for passing places on the very narrow roads. However it is these single track roads that take you to the picturesque places you would otherwise miss. We found the cottages to be a perfect central place for visiting other areas in Cornwall.

We had a lovely weeks stay at Nanjeath Farm Cottages and wished we could have stayed longer. Jill was there to see us off and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiptreeJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was already our 4th visit to Nanjeath, staying in the very comfortable Oxen House for 3 weeks. Coming all the way from South Africa just to visit Nanjeath, is already an indication of how special we find it. To stay on a farm which is peaceful but still close to the lovely little Cornwall villages, is the ideal way to experience the country side.
We love self-catering and this remains the best accommodation we have ever experienced. The decorating,facilities, the first welcome etc are all of an exceptional top standard. We have therefore again booked for next year to confirm why it is so special!

Room Tip: The description of the cottages on the Nanjeath website, is an excellent guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We rented The Stables for a week and found it extremely clean and comfortable and received a very warm welcome from Jill and Pete when we arrived late in the evening.

The farm itself is really peaceful and we shared with swifts, woodpeckers, pheasants and an incredibly loveable dog called Woody.

We took time to visit most of the tourist spots but would recommend you spend time in Padstow, Truro and St Ives.

If you visit cornwall for the views, beaches, shops or cliff walks, Nanjeath Farm will give you a really peaceful and comfortable base for your stay

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nanjeath Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanjeath Farm Cottages

Address: Lanjeth, High Street, St Austell PL26 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > High Street
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in High Street
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanjeath Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed Farmstead of superbly converted barns of great charm andcharacter. Ideally suited to couples seeking a traditional peaceful andpicturesque setting. Perfect central location within easy reach of the whole of Cornwall. Four star gold award ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing