We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage Comforts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nanjeath Farm Cottages
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cottage Comforts”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in the Oxen House with is the larger of the five tastefully renovated farm buildings made into cottages. We were welcomed by Jill the owner and there was a welcome cream tea waiting for us in the cottage.

The cottage consisted of a large kitchen / diner with all you could wish for in a kitchen, a living room with two large sofas, Freeview TV, DVD player, board games and doors out to the outside sitting area with table, chairs, and umbrella. There were two large double bedrooms, an upstairs bathroom & toilet, and a downstairs power shower & toilet. There was plenty of hot water, central heating, and a coal effect electric heater in the living room.

There is a games room in one of the other farm buildings where you can also collect farm fresh eggs when the hens do their business. It was also great to see that there was a building where you could recycle your plastic, glass, paper etc which is something we are keen on. There was plenty of wildlife with rabbits eating the grass outside the cottage and birds feeding their young when we put out a few crumbs for them.

Although you go on holiday to get away from the daily grind, one thing to remember is that mobile phone reception can be a bit hit and miss in Cornwall and especially a signal for data for smart phones. We found that T-Mobile / Orange reception was very poor in the area around the farm (there seemed to be a stronger Vodaphone signal) and so could not txt, phone, or access the internet. You could pick this all up again though just up the road as we travelled on the A3058.

Outside there is plenty of parking and easy access to the A3058 to travel a couple of miles east into St. Austell where there are shops for everything you could want or west to the A30 for travel down to other parts of Cornwall. Remember also that roads in Cornwall they can be single track once you stray away from the A and B roads so look out for passing places on the very narrow roads. However it is these single track roads that take you to the picturesque places you would otherwise miss. We found the cottages to be a perfect central place for visiting other areas in Cornwall.

We had a lovely weeks stay at Nanjeath Farm Cottages and wished we could have stayed longer. Jill was there to see us off and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiptreeJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was already our 4th visit to Nanjeath, staying in the very comfortable Oxen House for 3 weeks. Coming all the way from South Africa just to visit Nanjeath, is already an indication of how special we find it. To stay on a farm which is peaceful but still close to the lovely little Cornwall villages, is the ideal way to experience the country side.
We love self-catering and this remains the best accommodation we have ever experienced. The decorating,facilities, the first welcome etc are all of an exceptional top standard. We have therefore again booked for next year to confirm why it is so special!

Room Tip: The description of the cottages on the Nanjeath website, is an excellent guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

We rented The Stables for a week and found it extremely clean and comfortable and received a very warm welcome from Jill and Pete when we arrived late in the evening.

The farm itself is really peaceful and we shared with swifts, woodpeckers, pheasants and an incredibly loveable dog called Woody.

We took time to visit most of the tourist spots but would recommend you spend time in Padstow, Truro and St Ives.

If you visit cornwall for the views, beaches, shops or cliff walks, Nanjeath Farm will give you a really peaceful and comfortable base for your stay

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garmarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is certainly the best self --catering accommodation we have ever stayed in - spotlessly clean and absolutely everything provided. It was a delight to meet Peter,Jill and Woody and stay at their lovely farm. Exceptionally high standard -will certainly be back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Nanjeath, but we were very lucky to be the first to stay in the newly updated and extended Cider barn. It was great before, but now even better!!! Great place to unwind and chill out. Nanjeath is ideally situated for visiting most things in Cornwall. Can recommend visiting The Lost gardens of Helligan, just a short journey from the farm, great walk round a beautiful gardens. Thanks again Jill, Pete and Woody for being the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: The "New Cider Barn" is ideal for families or 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleybNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We a Swiss couple (51 years) stayed one week in Nanjeath in August 2011. For me it was the first time a Nanjeath for Lisa it was the second time.

For us it was the perfect place to stay. The coast, Lost Garden of Helligan and other attractions are not far away. And it is really quite. The perfect place to relax and enjoy ourselves.

The place itself was a really nice cottage, nicely furnished, very clean and a good equipped kitchen. This allowed us to prepare and cook our one dinner.

Jill and her husband have been extremely nice and helpful. And we liked the scones and the clotted cream provided to us on our day of arrival.

After the vacation I understood why my wife wanted to come back.

Room Tip: we stayed in the piggery which was perfect for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Wow! Wow! Wow! Nanjeath Cottages were beautiful and the location quiet and secluded. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the hosts of the farmstead (Jill and Pete). The cottages were of an exceptional quality. the setting was beautiful, tranquil and within easy reach of all that Cornwall has to offer! This was our first stay in the Piggery and we are now booking up for next year. One part of us wants to tell everyone about this beautiful, tranquil location, the other part wants to keep it a secret because it is so wonderful and we want to keep it for ourselves! It is abundantly clear that Jill and Pete are absolutely committed to Nanjeath and their passion for providing perfection for their guests is totally inspiring. We are counting down the days to next year at Nanjeath. Thank you Jill, Pete and family for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neeney h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nanjeath Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanjeath Farm Cottages

Property: Nanjeath Farm Cottages
Address: Lanjeth, High Street, St Austell PL26 7TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell > High Street
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in High Street
Hotel Class:4 star — Nanjeath Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed Farmstead of superbly converted barns of great charm andcharacter. Ideally suited to couples seeking a traditional peaceful andpicturesque setting. Perfect central location within easy reach of the whole of Cornwall. Four star gold award ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing