We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
DeBary
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great docent, historical home

History to be learned and beaty in the structure. On going renovations but well worth the visit... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
625richardl
,
Colfax
Beautiful and very interesting tour

We went here not knowing what to expect. The people welcomed us warmly and our tour guide was a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
KURTH791
,
SAINT CHARLES
Read all 66 reviews
  
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
48
14
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
48
14
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour florida history well worth the visit johns river local history blue springs state park mansion film champagne property seniors artifacts trade acres germany buffs enterprise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 66 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2019

We were looking for something off the beaten road and found the DeBary Hall Mansion. The tour guide was very nice and personable. There is a lot of history to learn about this property. History buffs would truly enjoy the tour. Highly recommend. And it is minutes away from Blue Springs State Park if you are lucky enough to visit when the Manatees are in. We visited when the count was 508.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank suebick89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019

I took a group of 20 ladies for a private tour and catered box lunch arranged by DeBary Hall. Numerous positive comments! I have also been here when they have other reenactors for a history day and highly recommend that as well.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2019 via mobile

We had a very pleasant visit to this wonderful historic house. Started with the short video introducing you to the area and which explained that the only way to get here was via ferry boat on the st. Johns River. The original property encompassed thousands of Acres which were primarily in Citrus. Our tour of the house was with an excellent and delightful guide who is very knowledgeable about the family and the history of the house. We would definitely recommend this.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019

Of all places to go, AVOID this dump. go to Orland and the real attractions. This is a total PIT...
My wife and I went thera and was we believe accosted by an offensive woman, who appeared to us to almost trip over herself (you could see her movements in the window) to come out to us.
Here is a place which ATTEMPTS to attract naïve TOURISTS WITH CAMERAS and this employee goes out to quiz us about our filming.
I have an old but small SUPER 8 FILM CAMERA WITH SILENT B&W MOVIE FILM! And yet this ignoramous, in our opinion based on all of the facts, we believe tried her best to disturb our visit.
I told her about my camera. She had zero interst.
I told her it was super 8, joking that you remember super 8 since she appeared to me to be an old lady. She had no interest.
So I said, oh perhaps you though we were from the news?
No response again. In our opinion this is simply a very nasty employee abusing her job and should immediately be fired. She was so motivated to race out, trying to disrupt us. NOT because of what she lied about, the camera or anything else on Earth. She tripped over herself to come out because we found her to be in our opinion, an intolerant and embedded employee, intolerant o by profiling them based on her narrow mind.
I told her we lived in Debary. She immediately attempted to grill us about SPECIFICALLY where we live! That lady is Felony stalking and that is a crime.
This employee is a discrace and should be fired along with appropriate legal action regarding that kind of behavior..
The place anyway is a TOTAL TOILET with zero attractions. Dirt and a old house and one incredibly criminal minded employee.
Oh, as we walked away from her offensive incursions, she yelled out: "You can take pictures." Obviously she KNEW, that she had absolutely NO right for that illegal and bad behavior by that employee at that tax funded establishment.
Yeah, we know we can film as we finally brushed past this person. You cannot however by law, as an employee of this open public establishment, accost people legally and get away with that. The town has a lot of corruption that Federal people are fully aware of. BOTTOM LINE: FOR THIS AND SO MANY REASONS DO NOT GO OR DO ANY BUSINESS WITH THIS HOLE-IN-THE-WALL "HISTORIC" SITE" AND THERE IS NOTHING THERE! GO TO ORLANDO!!

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank FloridaTravelAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

DeBary Hall has that old Southern Flair and if you are ever in DeBary at Christmas, you have to visit. It's amazing, that's if they still do Christmas.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank margelitteral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews