We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average food, slow service”

Swamp House Riverfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in DeBary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Swamp House Grill is located overlooking the St Johns River and Highbanks Marina in peaceful, beautiful Debary Florida. If you're looking for good food with a homegrown, old-Florida vibe then we're your place! Please feel free to bring your well behaved dogs and eat downstairs at The Happy Snapper Tiki Bar on Saturdays and Sundays.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, average food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been to the Swamp House on a couple of different occasions. The location overlooking a Marina and the St. John's river provides great views, which is good as the service can be very slow even when the restaurant isn't full. The food is ok but nothing special, although the alligator has been a big hit with my kids.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krbess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    181
    55
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bailey, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We totally enjoyed our lunch here. We had been hiking a back trail over at BlueSprings & were pretty hungry, the fast service & plentiful portions hooked us up. The only glitch was receiving the wrong cocktail, but they remidied that quickly (btw, the best drinks we had on vacation) ! My husband & son both got burgers which they said were excellent. My daughter & I split the gator quesadilla with tropical fruit salsa. Wow! So good. We also had the sweet potato fries which were the best I 've had due to their unique preparation & yummy maple cream cheese dipping sauce. Bonus for the great ambiance. We loved watching the baby gators swim in the Marina below while we munched.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ValCassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland FL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Riverfront Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The view of the river & unusual decor make this a fun place to watch the boats go by on the St. John's River. The beer is cold, and view is great. The marina has dockage for visiting restaurant patrons, and there is a boat rental on-site if you want to rent a pontoon boat.
As far as the food, dinners are over priced for the quality, about $18.00 for dinner for very average food.
But if you seek a simple burger & a beer in the afternoon, this is a nice place to spend a couple hours looking at the wildlife of the river. They also have a tour boat & the marina for a ride on the river to check out the gators & plentifull bird sightings, with the occasional Manatee.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank offshoreDelandFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
567 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Good food if you've got the time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is usually an open air roof covered restaurant unless it;s raining or it's love bug season and than they drop the transparent side curtains. It loses most of it's charm with the curtains down. The restaurant fronts on a small marina along side the St. Johns river. It's a very nice location on the end of a long road to nowhere. Unless you live in the woods nearby, it's a going to be a special trip. In nice,bug free, weather it's worth it as long as you understand that while the food is very good, preparation takes a long time. Probably a half hour minimum for anything other than soup and a few appetizers. Plan accordingly. By the way, while the menu covers a lot of items, the menu that runs with this web site is NOT the house menu, which is completely different.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, FL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice location on the St. Johns River with a nice view. Pretty good food. Good staff. A bit expensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JackieBoy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swamp House Riverfront Grill also viewed

 
Sanford, Central Florida
 

Been to Swamp House Riverfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing