We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Swamp House Riverfront Grill
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in DeBary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Swamp House Grill is located overlooking the St Johns River and Highbanks Marina in peaceful, beautiful Debary Florida. If you're looking for good food with a homegrown, old-Florida vibe then we're your place! Please feel free to bring your well behaved dogs and eat downstairs at The Happy Snapper Tiki Bar on Saturdays and Sundays.
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Nice location on the St. Johns River with a nice view. Pretty good food. Good staff. A bit expensive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rdrunnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    191
    58
    30
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful lunch on the river”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were house sitting for a week and doing some work as well. Sunday afternoon we were done with jobs and headed to Swamp House for a late Sunday Lunch. We chose to eat outside at the Tiki Bar deck. Lazy afternoon watching boats come and go. The food was wonderful and the rum runners hit the spot. Had the best ever Ahi Tuna Salad! We have been there before but never ate outside on the deck. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Rustic Waterfront!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are looking for old Florida with rustic charm and darn good food - this is the place for you! This no frills, down to earth piece of heaven is snuggled under big trees along the St. John's River. Local boaters are docking constantly and for a good reason - good food, cold drinks and a great view. On our first visit we sat at a high-top table overlooking the water and decided to have appetizers and drinks. We ordered the blackened catfish bruchetta, the fried alligator bites and the corn fritters. Everything was delicious and the alligator was probably the best we have ever eaten. Prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is laid back. Great place to spend the afternoon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Waited for more than an hour at the bar to get seated, had to ask them again and again when we would be getting our table. Finally left when n0 one would tell us when we would be seated. Will not return - the food is just average, so not worth your time.

Helpful?
2 Thank Barbra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Florida Birthday Date!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Swamp House Grill is a great place to eat, listen to live Jimmy Buffet-esque music, relax with a drink by the firepit, dance in the moonlight under Live Oaks and palms.....
We spent a leisurely 3 hours enjoying an evening at the Swamp House Grill. The food was great, service friendly, prices moderate and the atmosphere AWESOME!! I can't remember an evening out I have enjoyed more in a very long time!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicolieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swamp House Riverfront Grill also viewed

 
Sanford, Central Florida
 

Been to Swamp House Riverfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing