We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walking”

Gemini Springs Park
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in DeBary
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DeLand, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I love Gemini Springs not just for the park but for the trail that is attached to the park. It is my normal routine to go out once a week and do my 5 mile course. The trees and wildlife are gorgeous and I would recommend it to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bren567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    31
    7
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DeBary, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Large park with lots of space”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lots of space to walk and enjoy Florida outdoors. Its a shame the springs can't be a swimming area once again. The grounds are beautiful. Good place to picnic or bbq for the day - but it's hard to be near the water and not be able to get in it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice and free with a good dog park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Close to home, Gemini Springs Park is a great place to picnic, play sports, let the kids or dogs run. Offering a fenced area for each small and large dogs, the entire area is shaded by Live Oak trees and the ever-present and beautiful Spanish moss.

Helpful?
Thank Nicolieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Truly, a hidden GEM.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I’ve been in every corner of this park and truly find it to be a hidden gem. The area encompasses much more area than the developed area around the spring and fishing dock. The paved spring to spring trail runs completely through the park. If you follow it south, you will find it ends at a county park, boat ramp at the St Johns River. It has a clean well maintained rest room and water fountain. Parking is also available at this end that most people are not aware of. In addition to this, the St John’s Water Management District maintains another parking lot on hwy 17-92, half way between the river and Dirksen Drive. This allows access to the central area of the undeveloped area of the park. From this location you have access to the back woods trail that wanders through the woods where you can see abundant wild life. On the back trails you can see Wild Boar, Turkey, White Tailed Deer, Red Shouldered Hawks, Eagles, Osprey, Swallow Tail Kites, Great Egrets, Storks, and Red Wing Blackbirds among many other species.
This is a wonderful area for photographers, Hikers, Mountain Bikers and Trail Runners.
It can be crowded near the springs and fishing dock at times. If you find this condition, bike or walk the paved trail of hit the back woods trails. I’ve walked these trails for years and rarely run across other people. Oh, an occasional mountain biker, runner or hiker, but no crowds and I find it very peaceful.
One back wood trail runs out toward I-4, on the South side of the Bayou that (I feel) is the best area in the park. It’s currently not being maintained due to budget cutbacks but we are trying to get the County or the SJWMD to start it back up. Another trail that has found itself unfunded is on the West side of the Bayou. Hopefully they will find funding to open both of these beautiful and scenic trails back up.
One more interesting area is the large retention pond on the south side of the properly near the St Johns River Bridge on I-4. I have discovered that certain times of the year the pond can be full of Red Wing Blackbirds or Red Shouldered Hawks hanging out in the tall pine trees looking for lunch. The same is true of Ospreys: Many times they will be on the tops of large dead trees eating fish freshly caught from Lake Monroe.
This is truly an interesting area and I hope you will explore it as I have.
Enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank runner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Great Birding Area. Huge Park For Family Gatherings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was a first time visit for me and I was so thrilled at all that was available. It appeared that Fishing was number one in this park. I went hiking not fishing. Miles of trails and very quiet and peaceful hike. The park was empty becaue I went mid week. I highly encourage you to visit this place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemini Springs Park also viewed

 

Been to Gemini Springs Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing