We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Tour for Photography Groups”

St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in DeBary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the beauty of Natural Florida aboard our new 28 passenger pontoon boat. Join us in exploring the back waters of one of the most protected areas of the St. John's River. Whether it is from November through March when the many migratory birds and wintering manatees abound or during the summer months when we see the alligator hatchlings and the year round residents.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

St John's River Eco Tours hosted our camera club for two boat tours in one day -- one in the morning and one in the afternoon. The three-member crew was excellent, very accommodating to our photographers. We saw an array of wildlife, with a special sighting of a pair of barred owls, who were nesting nearby. Eco Tours limits the number of passengers on a photo tour so the photographers can move around the boat. If your camera group is interested, investigate the special tours in the digital media section of their web site. A restaurant at the marina is handy for lunch.

Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

It was a great day for us as well, your group made the day for us, It is wonderful when we get to share this special place with individuals who understand the special beauty that enchants the area. We learned from you as well as shared the experience with you.

Very nice owl photo! Thank you for making our day a special memory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

On a recent visit to a friend's new home, we decided to do a trip to the St. John River. Captain Holly and our guide Jeff took us on a two hour slow cruise down the river and around Goat Island. We saw many species of birds, alligators and turtles. We also saw another tour boat speed right by a large alligator that our captain had backed our boat up to so we could get better pictures . My wish was to see a Manatee and not to be disappointed, our guides took us off the trail and found our manatees. We got great pictures. We were out 30 minutes longer than expected, but no one left disappointed. I have already recommended this tour to my friends.

Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks so much for coming with us, it was a great day. We look forward to seeing you again on the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Two friends and I took the tour on Feb. 21, 2013. There were two other passengers. It was a great experience. It was a much smaller boat than the big tour boats we passed on the river. The pontoon boat pilot, Capt. Holly, was very personable and knowledgeable. If you didn't get a good picture of an animal, she would back the boat up a bit so you could try again. Doug Little, the tour guide, was great. Our tour lasted an extra half hour because we went looking for manatees and we found them. We saw alligators, many kinds of birds, turtles and manatees. I highly recommend this tour.

1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, Manager at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful day with you on the river. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My time on the river was shared with 27 of my neighbors as the travel club from Del Webb Orlando decided to book the whole boat. The boat had very comfortable seats and there was plenty of legroom for my 6' 2". The section of the river that we cruised was truly wild, as after the first few minutes of leaving the dock there was no sign of buildings just us surrounded by nature. The captain was very knowledgeable about the wildlife and did an excellent job of pointing it out and providing us with interesting facts. The captain took her time piloting the boat and gave us ample time to photograph the many birds and critters that we saw. We were lucky enough on our trip to see gators, turtles, manatees, and numerous birds.
This tour exceeded my expectations and I can see it becoming an event that we will do again next year.

Thank DWOBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, Manager at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

We really enjoyed having your group with us. We look forward to seeing you on future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We went on this cruise during a Christmas vacation to Florida. It was wonderful to see a whole different side of Florida. We saw alligators, both big and tiny, and lots of Egrets, storks and other birds. We also saw a snake sleeping in the sun. All from the safety of our boat. If you are lucky you might even see a bear as bears are prevalent in the area. We
Did not see a bear as they are mostly crepuscular but next time we are I'm Florida we will go again and maybe we will be lucky this time. The owners of theis cruise are very nice. The first day we were scheduled I got an email early in the morning that bad weather was supposed to hit by afternoon and would we like to schedule the next day. My advice for anyone going from the Disney area is to take the toll roads over to Dubarry and not 4 which can get very congested and often gridlocked. It will cost you $10-15 to go on the toll roads but it is well worth it if you want to actually make your cruise time. There's a subway not to far from the boat dock if you need to have lunch before your cruise and if you have more time, there is a restaurant and bar right at the dock area. Excellet trip. I was sad when it was over. I could have stayed out there all
day. There is a bathroom on the boat too!

Thank sheriLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed having you on the tour. Next time you are in the area please stop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC also viewed

 

Been to St. John's River Eco Tours, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing