We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good value, poor service”
Review of The Frog & Wicket

The Frog & Wicket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Over the boundary rope of the oldest cricket pitch in England… the Frog & Wicket will hit you for six with delicious food, a fantastic choice of ales and outdoor areas to suit all ages. There’s even a skittle alley and several function rooms if you wish to book a return in style.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value, poor service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The food is excellent and good selection of beers at great value. Ample parking and a welcoming atmosphere. However very much understaffed and the weekend staff there clearly don't want to be there - when recently eating in a large group it was difficult to get service and we were simply refused when asked for separate billing.

Excellent as a family pub, however they simply don't have the capacity for groups and I will look for other venues in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    66
    36
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Large Sunday Roasts”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went for Sunday lunch last week with the family and had a really good meal. The roast dinners are great value for money and large portions. More potatoes and gravy were provided free of charge. Th only complaint was that my daughter used the mothers and baby/disabled toilet facilities and they were not very clean and the loo seat was off. All in all a nice place for a roast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jetCavershamReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No pretence. Just a simple, great place.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We chose this place for Saturday lunch. We hoped for sunshine, because we've felt chilly in there on previous visits, but we have always enjoyed it. We chose a table by the window and it's 'kinda quaint' to see cricket being played across the road. With the collected frogs dotted everywhere, it's a jolly little place with no pretence.

The menu looks a bit 'bus station cafe' in its design, but the food has been lovely on previous occasions. They do sandwiches and baked potatoes in and amongst the usual pub favourites and specials. My wife had a delicious and amply-portioned fishfinger sandwich and though I'm not a veggie, their asparagus and cheese pasta with a poached egg took my fancy. It was quite marvellous. Yum. The chips were nice too, though I'd say the garlic bread (one type with my pasta and a different type ordered as a side) were both a bit dry and dull; like what you might expect from the freezers at Iceland.Chance for improvement there.

As customers and ramblers started to fill up the place, they all looked jolly and happy to be there. Certainly a characterful pub. The young female staff were all polite and cheery. Though I must say, one thing struck me as odd while paying at the bar...

Being a place where you pay up front at the bar, it seems wrong to me that the card machine asks for a tip. At this point? Well, sure, the girls were lovely as I gave them our order, but the tip comes after the meal as a reward for good service. (It's not a god-given right, like how they see it in America.) As it was, after that point (you can say no to the machine's hints for a tip), delicious though the food was, nothing was done above and beyond bringing our food to our table. Pleasantly done, yes, but no extra banter, no asking how our meal was, nothing. And remember, we'd carried our own drinks to the table and fetched our own cutlery...

I'd suggest the pub removes that part from the card machine if they're taking payment up front. It's handy when payment is taken at the end, especially if you've forgotten to take cash for tips.

But yes, what a good, honest and straight-up pub with character, lovely food served in good-sized portions and a view of the cricket (not a fan, but it's nice to see). And a great slide out back for the kids. And the Frog and Wicket is better still when the sun's out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent meeting point”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Ploughmans lunches are hard to come by these days. My relatives from NZ were impressed with the choice and the weather helped as we could take advantage of the garden.
Planning to go again soon this week but hope the landlord leaving at the end of the month does not make it less attractive a venue

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Met here for lunch with a friend and was lovely. Had excellent service from the friendly staff and the food was delightful. Great place to meet with friends and would highly recommend going whether it is for a quiet drink, meet friends or even family gathering

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank coatesy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog & Wicket also viewed

 
Finchampstead, Wokingham
 

Been to The Frog & Wicket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing