We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE YOU WERE WARNED”
Review of Grand Seas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Seas Resort
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the grand seas in August. rooms are filthy pools are dirtythere is NO internet service even though they say there is in there brochure. The air cionditioner can not keep up with keeping the room cool. all the furniture is old and worn out, the pool area is full of people that are not staying at the resort. You have been warned if you stay here you will be sorry!!!!!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vwbug69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Grand Seas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We exchanges our timeshare week for this "five star" resort. It was absolutely NOT five star, more like three star, at best. Elevators and hallways stunk-moldy smelling. Room was ok, but nothing to write home about. Everything was old and dated. Had to have maintenance up three times to fix running toliet (twice) and then the handle actually broke off of the toliet? Pools were ok and not too crowded but hated that the umbrellas were all taken up at five o'clock every day. Did not really enjoy the whole Daytona Beach atmosphere-expected something more like Mrytle Beach. Best part of the entire trip was the restaurant on site- Gilligans. The staff was great and food was decent for prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived at The Grand Seas Resort earlier than our check in however the man at the desk was more than happy to let us know that our room was available.The room had a beautiful view of the beach & pool and was aslo very clean!My brother and sister in law came with us and we went to Charlie Horse for dinner which was very good.We decided rather than drive everywhere we would get a trolley pass for $3.00 each and was good for 24 hours.Saturday night we went down to the Boardwalk where they had a live band and later a fireworks show.At night we walked along the beach and in the morning watched the sun come up.It was a great weekend for all and I would do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went on a family vacation for spring break. Both out door pools were frigid, they don't even put solar covers on them. One person dared to mo in the pool and screamed and got out extremely fast it was so cold. The ocean in April was warmer than the pools. The kiddie pool was very small and the adults would sit I the kiddie pool. The front desk staff was rude, timeshare sales kept calling our room, it was a pain to get our parking pass we had to wait in a long line to see time share sales to get our parking pass. The room was dirty, furniture needed replacing. Please if you are considering booking, look elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's way to long to list, just want OUT ! Dirty, front desk needs nicer people. Call and just as bad if not worse. Can be the worst place beach side. Kids pool is repulsive. Adult pool are sandy and filthy, ants all over cool deck. Machines , video games don't work most of the time. Steps going down to the beach a hazard full of sand, never cleaned. Bar & Restrant O.K. Other then that a dump!

Room Tip: Don't Go !
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryA7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've read some of the reviews and I am a little shocked by the negative comments. I've stayed several places in Daytona and this was one of the nicest, especially for the price. It's a great family place with plenty of pool area and slides for the kids. Our room was very nice and clean. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends! If you want to stay at a 5 star resort then go stay there and pay for it. But as far as an average family vacation spot with nice rooms and pools, you can't go wrong staying at the Grand Seas Resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited this "resort" (ha!ha!) per the recommendation of friends who use to vacation here all the time before friends of theirs purchased a condo in St Augustine Beach that is at their disposal whenever it is available to them.
I should have followed my instincts when I read the negative reviews on this property, but we were looking for a quick getaway for our 27th anniversary.
Suffice it to say...heed my warnings! The check-in process is not a warm, friendly welcome. Our "hospitality" employee had the personality of the wall behind her. Upon receiving our keys to room 3034, we drove around in circles looking for an available parking space. Parking is definitely an issue here. We went back up front and parked in the guest check-in parking. We went inside to inquire about parking and was told we could park down at the other end of the building in the "south" lot. That wasn't happening considering the unloading of our vehicle that still needed to be done. We expressed our disdain with the aforementioned non-hospitable front desk person. Not surprised of her response (or shrugging of her shoulders).
We never unpacked our suitcase due to tiny, curly black hairs in the top drawer of the armoire in the bedroom.
We stopped at Publix before checking in (conveniently across the street) to pick up a few essentials. There was a small cockroach on the counter that ran behind the stove before I could kill it. Further investigation revealed an odor coming from the stove burners/drip pans. They look like they haven't been cleaned in a VERY long time. Nor did they sit flush on the drip pans. Due to our visitor, everything we bought at Publix went into the fridge.
The first time I washed my hands in the bathroom sink it was very slow to drain. This continued to be an issue. The jets in the jacuzzi tub look as though they've not been cleaned in a very long time (if ever). Given the tiny curly hairs found in the drawer in the bedroom, there was no way we were going to sit in that bathtub. We showered with our flip flops on each time. The outside skirting of the bathtub looks as though it was pieced together (shoddily, I might add). The showerhead was pitiful. You can see the piece was disconnected which caused water to spray everywhere regardless of our attempts to place the piece flush on the wall. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is pitifully separating from the ceiling. Cosmetic things to some of you, but nonetheless distasteful to see/look at each time you enter the room.
My husband did mention these things to the maintenance guy in the corridor outside our room one day.
Upon check-out, we addressed these issues with the front desk clerk (another non-hospitable person) and she stated she wished we would've called the front desk to report the issues. When I told her we called the extension on the refrigerator magnet that happens to be the "Concierge" desk that NO ONE answers day or night. She had the nerve to tell us we should have dialed 0 for the front desk. If that be the case, let your guests know.
Because this was a special getaway weekend for us, we chose to overlook the many flaws of this unit and not to be consumed with the negatives during our stay.
However, I am prompted to report this property because of the lackadaisical attitudes of the employees at this Non-Hospitable establishment. They give the Hospitality industry a bad name :((
So thankful we are not "timeshare" owners like the couple we met in the pool. Heck, for the $975 per year they pay for "maintenance" fees I could vacation at much better accommodations. I would definitely have to question who exactly is maintaining this property because they need to be fired. Glad we were only here a short time...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cleanfreakinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#20 of 73 in Daytona Beach
456 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#21 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Seas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Seas Resort

Address: 2424 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $74 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Seas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Seas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Seas Hotel Daytona Beach
Grand Seas Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing