We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Inn Daytona
Ranked #89 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Henry VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worse hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel because it on the choice network which I am an employee and used my employee discount, I also know with the discount I may not get the nicest room but this was the worst hotel I have ever seen. I know that people write bad reviews before they would write a good review; so i read all the reviews and thought it's on the beach it can’t be that bad, it was, do not believe the pictures they have posted I saw those and that helped make my decision to stay; that and I figured we only need to sleep and shower here. I can’t even begin to tell you how disgusting the room was. The room was so small, the beds were small, room smelled bad, the walls are paper thin, the gap under the front door was big enough to put your hand thru, the room was not clean, the towels were stained, the parking is crazy, the fridge and micro are in the corner closet and the window in the bathroom if someone walks by the can look in. I have added a few pictures of the worn out toilet seat (cheap to replace), the bathroom window in the shower, the bathroom door and the ceiling which had black fingerprints all over it (also cheap to remove: magic eraser). If I had to say something nice I would say I didn’t like the window in the bathroom but it was different looking at the beach from the shower, plenty of hot water it’s right on the beach and checking out. We were going to stay 4 nights but we checked out after 2 we could not get a full refund, we considered sleeping in the car the last night. I booked another hotel and they were nice enough to let us check in at 5 am we were up and ready to go at 4 .

Room Tip: would not stay here if the room was free
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    29
    15
    35
See reviews for
52
37
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the price and location. Location is great - right on the beach. The hotel is SO dated, the appliances in the kitchen are ancient, the bathroom was far too small, and there was a weird smell to the room; like a combination or incense, urine, and basmati rice. Spend a few extra bucks and go elsewhere - there are plenty of great beachfront hotels in this area, and $20-25 per night extra is worth NOT having to stay at the Rodeway Inn. Had this not been business travel and been booked as 'unrefundable', I would have gone elsewhere (I did shorten my stay to just the one night.)

Room Tip: To get a great room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Collinsville, Virginia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very small and was suppose to be queen size beds but more like a full. Fridge and microwave was a joke. Bathtub may have been good for a toddler to swim in. Cleaning service must have been in a hurry the day before I checked in considering hair was everywhere in the bathroom, sheets was nasty. I left this hotel and checked into another one and could not wait to get to my room to take a shower, not to mention wanting to wash my clothes. Bathroom had a window and right outside this window is a walk way. This was the nastiest place I have ever stayed and would never recommend this hotel to anyone. The parking was horrible, room was awful and I can't find but one thing to say good about this hotel and that would be the beach and I would have rather slept on the beach !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaG599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Can't imagine it'll be around for much longer, under this management. Breakfast is good, and the place is clean, BUT they measure out everything, such as bathroom supplies, laundry detergent and ground coffee for your room. This tells me they're cutting corners wherever possible.

Room Tip: Get one of the three ocean front on the second floor. Best view, and rooms are more up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Everytime we come back it gets better and better! The new furniture promised for our return will be a plus. Thank you Rodeway Inn for making it possible to stay on the beach affordable. I would recomend everybody to stay here. Family friendly hotel and very affordable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend. We got a kitchenette ocean front. you have to plug in your refridge when you get in the room and call to the desk to ask them to turn the switch on for your stove...oh yeah and plug in your microwave. (????). Room was ok, but barley had any cookware, 1 plate, 2 glasses, no utensiles.....ect. We had guess next to us who took over our balcony (it is not private) and sat in front of our windows that blocked our entire view of the ocean. They were loud, obnoxious,rude and apparently never sleep. Later the next day we found out that they had reservations for our room and were mad at management for giving it to us. Managent told them and us it is first come first serve??? So they took it out on us!!!! Management asked us to leave early and did everything they could to get us out.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 726weekender123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for two nights the location is right on the beach. The pool is in the perfect spot. Rooms well I wasn't impressed but you get what you pay for. Staff was very friendly and a special thanks goes out to the maintenance guy who kept letting me in everytime I locked myself out! Overall It was a good place!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmzhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#84 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#75 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Prix Motel
Grand Prix Motel
#60 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#76 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#74 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Inn Daytona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Inn Daytona

Property: Sunrise Inn Daytona
Address: 1503 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4901 (Formerly Rodeway Inn on the Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunrise Inn Daytona 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Inn Daytona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn On The Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Rodeway Inn Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing