We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, friendly hotel for a family vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Our family of 5 adults and one child spent 4 days at the Tropical Winds and thoroughly enjoyed it! Rooms were spacious and very clean. It was so nice having kitchen facilities. We had to change rooms for 3rd and 4th nights' stay due to unavailability of the suite we had the first two nights. The staff was very accommodating about letting us move first thing in the morning rather than wait until normal check-in time. The location is excellent, fairly quiet and the beach was great. Each employee we encountered during our stay was very pleasant; as we left on Mother's Day, each one wished my daughter and I a Happy Mother's Day. I look forward to a return visit and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

I just returned from staying a week at this hotel during sprink break with my sister and neice. We had a one room with an ocean view at first and this was probably the worst room in the hotel and I immediately upgraded to an ocean front room, which did have a nice view but the room was not very nice. I have traveled a lot and usely stay at RCI affiliated resorts so this was my first hotel vacation in a long time and I was really disappointed in this hotel. I should have know this hotel was not really nice when I walked into the lobby because there was nothing nice about it. The rooms are old and run down and they only have one elevator for service and guests. I did feel like the hotel was clean but would never stay at this hotel again. There are a lot of nice hotels on Daytona and I would recommending book one of those and paying a little more money because you will be happier in the long run.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We found this place driving by. From the momement we walked in we were greeted by a friendly helpful staff. Absolutly clean, clean, clean, room ! The owner of this hotel should be proud of the employees.
The poolside cafe has great breakfasts at such cheap prices. We went there every morning.
Easy parking , easy access to the beach. We would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank saders1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Came down to tropical winds on Franklin Bus Tour great place to stay . Will be back next year by bus or car. Very friendly and keep things clean. See you next year Gwen.From room 205.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank painting4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

The staff at the Tropical Winds are fabulous, right from the moment we arrived after a very long day of flights and shuttle service. We were greated by a very helpful front desk clerk, Bryan who assured us that our luggage would arrive soon and accomodated our room requests. The next morning we were greated by Bridgette who had our missing luggage, she was very lovely and helpful it was always a pleasure to deal with her. Next we headed to the cafe for breakfast and were greated by very friendly and cheerful staff who were always smiling. This comment would not be complete without a mention of the lovely Gwen who was always offering information on local eateries or contacting taxi's for us or giving our shuttle service hell for making her guests walk to the curb instead of picking us up at the door. Everyone from the front desk, cafe staff, cleaning ladies and maintenance staff you all made our stay a very pleasurable one and we hope to return to your resort in the future.

Thank you,

Mr. & Mrs. Skedgel

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We think Tropical Winds is a great place to stay. We have been going there for 5 years. The staff does a great job. The pool side cafe is a nice relaxing place to eat & the price is right.Franz & Billie are a lot of fun.The hotel is clean .Every thing is handy.The lounge isa nice place to visit at night. We had lots of fun there.A vey friendly hotel. I am going back again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budda333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The entire staff was friendly as well as most of the guests you encounter. This time of year, many people are staying for a month or more. Their building mntc man was shampooing carpets, touching up paint or mopping the lobby floor every time we saw him. Great location for the more quiet end of the beach, plenty of parking. Cafe serves breakfast and lunch at great prices. $4 for cheeseburger and fries. We had planned to buy groceries and cook in our room but at those prices, we didn't bother. Did our laundry before leaving, they had nice washers and dryers for $1 each; better than you find at most hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricecakes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#12 of 74 in Daytona Beach
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $88 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing