We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the only place to stay in Daytona Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's the only place to stay in Daytona Beach”
Reviewed September 30, 2009

This is my 3rd time staying at this hotel.
Why look for anything else, when you know what you have, when you stay here.
It's like Home away from Home.
Very clean, close to shops, restaurants, niteclubs etc...
Located right on the beach.
Super friendly staff.
I can't say enough about this hotel.
Keep up the "Great Job" staff at the Tropical Winds.
Hope to see you all soon....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    334
    78
    26
    25
See reviews for
340
422
47
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orange park, fl
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2009

my trip to this motel was great. staff was very nice and kind. i will be going back to stay here again. the room was very clean and lookin over the ocean was so unreal. best part of the hole trip. Lostsouls3-orange park, florida

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostsouls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I stayed here from September 26-27, 2009, just 1 night. I booked an oceanfront room by phone ,.. the reservation was quick, easy and they even set me up for a higher room. Amazing oceanfront view, king bed + sofa for just under $90 w/ tax included. Can't be that!!! Also the hotel had a pretty good location ... you could see the pier from the hotel and just a very short drive to Ocean Walk Village or Boardwalk. The outside pool was excellent with more than adequate chair lounges. I recommend this hotel hands on without hesitation. Nevertheless you have to understand this is a smaller hotel lacking all the glamour of a bigger resort ... so if you're looking for luxury and spectacular lobbys this is not the hotel for you.
I would stay here again in the oceanfront king room without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondjamesbondpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I have only good things to say about this place. Great price, very clean, everything worked and looked great, nice furniture and decorations, friendly staff, fantastic view (in ocean front room).

Was quiet at all times. You know how some places you can hear everyone's door slamming? None of that here. Easy check in/check out. Has a cute cafe on site that serves breakfast & lunch really cheap. High speed internet worked great.

Has 2 pools, one inside and one outside. Around the outside pool are canvas deck chairs, not the old hard plastic kind like most places have. They provide pool-side towels also.

We definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLMaryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithpatty57
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I had a decent trip, the room was clean also spacious and the staff was nice. The best part about it was the view of the Ocean. I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithpatty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel from 08/14 until 08/18 I booked a oceanfront double bed room for 77 dollars a night which was amazing. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and requested a no smoking, high room. We received just that. FYI: OCEANVIEW IS NOT OCEANFRONT. The room was equipped with a small kitchen that had basic utensils, pots and pans and a coffee maker, two double beds, a balcony with an amazing OCEANFRONT view. This hotel is old like most hotels in DB, but the staff was nice and friendly and for 77 dollars a night we were satisfied. It is located in a quieter part of the beach. You just walked out the back of the hotel, past the pool and then down the steps and you are on the beach. I did not use the indoor pool it looked old. We did use the outdoor pool and it was a green color. I asked and was told it was a fresh water pool, but it was ok. We swam in it and had a great time. The restaurant is little, but the food was good and we enjoyed it. We will stay again!

Places to eat: Bertie's Luncheonette is located where the Publix store is It is in the corner. EXCELLENT pancakes. THEY ARE HUGE.

Alfie's Restaurant in Ormand By the Sea just a few miles on A1A My husband got a HUGE seafood platter for 16.95 We both took our food back to the hotel. Try the fried ice cream we couldn't , but saw it and it looked like it could feed 4 people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheschirecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuluota, fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I booked this room through expedia and checked in pretty early. The room i reqstd was supposed to be an oceanview king nonsmoking. They gave me a room on the first floor that u couldnt even see the beach, just the retaining wall...and the room smelled like cigarettes and had ash trays. I then noticed a cockroach in the corner by the a/c. I then reqstd another room which the manager adv i would have to pay another 10.00 for a room on the 7th floor w/ 2 small sized beds...i wasn't happy. she then gave me a side view of the ocean, this room smelled terribly of smoke and there was a silverfish bug on the fridge handle. The outside pool was green, not blue...the inside pool was a little better. I do not recomend if you dont like critters or smoke lol...the cafe was the size of maybe 2 small rooms, and the lobby was small as well. didnt enjoy...spend the extra money and stay at hilton.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orlandodude2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 73 in Daytona Beach
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Visit Barbados, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing