We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Daytona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We had such a great time, wish we could of stayed longer. Tropical Winds was an old hotel, but the oceanfront room was great...king size bed, large balcony, beautiful ocean to look at....every morning we watch the sun rise and every night listen to the waves crashing on shore. The cafe was also good...had breakfast and lunch everyday there. Ms Gwen was very helpful with things to do. Had a wonderful time!!!!

Room Tip: get the oceanfront
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mannpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

We greatly appreciate your nice review and are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. You certainly can't beat sitting on our oceanfront balconies and listening to the waves. Glad you also took advantage of the convenience of our poolside cafe and as always Ms. Gwen continues to be one of our biggest assets.
Thank you for staying with us.
Christine Lane- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Tropical Winds definitely exceeded my expectations. Everybody is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and the beds are so comfortable! we stayed with a group of 6 so we got three separate rooms all right next to each other all with an ocean front balcony. There is a cute little cafe located inside the hotel and it open for breakfast and lunch. The food was so yummy and it was very cheap! If I ever return to Daytona beach I won't hesitate to stay at Tropical Winds

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kayla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing yor experience with fellow travellers. I am happy to hear that we were able to accommodate your 3 rooms together and that you all thoroughly enjoyed your oceanfront rooms and balconies as well as the convenience of our Cafe. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Christine Lane- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We live on the west coast of FL and just like to 'get away' and bop on over to Daytona for the weekend several times a year and have stayed here before. Still just as nice, clean and friendly as always. Helpful staff, clean rooms, comfy beds. Parking your car is as safe and secure as it can be. Plenty of room in the parking lot and NO charge to park (as some do). Would have liked a larger "kitchenette" area since we had a baby who needed foods refrigerated and microwaved. The small efficiency sizes were too small but we made it do this time. This will continue to be our choice hotel for my family when we go to Daytona. OH, and the little café on the first floor is the absolute BEST for breakfast and lunch; but it is CASH only. You must give that a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up floor for a good view. SMOKERS are on the 5th floor so if you can't stand t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHERINE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

We greatly appreciate the nice review you left for us and are happy to hear that we continue to be your hotel of choice in Daytona Beach. Sounds like the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms are the main reason you return time after time. The FREE and ample parking certainly does set us apart from other area properties. I will let the Cafe staff know how much you like their breakfast.
Thanks again for your continued patronage.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been going to Daytona for over 22 years. We decided to make a change and try out Tropical Winds. We’ll all I can say is looking forward to many years of being a guest at this hotel, people are great, friendly staff and very clean rooms.
If you like people oriented hotels this is the place to go and make sure you visit the little cafe inside the hotel.
Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All ocean front view rooms have great view to enjoy sunrise and sunsets over the ocean
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

I am so happy to hear that you found us after coming to Daytona Beach for 22 years and it sounds like we will be your new "home away from home" . All of our staff strive to provide a family like atmosphere for our guests and our housekeeping staff works very hard to maintain a clean facility to make folks like you return time after time.
Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a nice place to stay. The only negative thing I have to say is that I booked and oceanfront room. When we checked in, they had us in a room FACING the ocean on the bottom floor, but all you could see was the parking lot. I asked them for another room. They didn't have any more oceanfront, but they gave us a very nice ocean view room. They even offered us one of the apartments overlooking the city, but we chose not to take it. The next morning, they did move us to a nice oceanfront room on the third floor. I would definitely book with them again. It was a clean, quiet room. Close to downtown, but far enough away to avoid the crowds.

Room Tip: Ocean front!! Great view of the sunrise! :)
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lili_BeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a nice review. I am sorry that you were placed on the first floor initially, but am happy to hear that or staff did their best to move you as quickly as possible to a great view on an upper floor. Sometimes with our high occupancy rates it does get a bit challenging to get everyone onto the higher floors. Almost all of our rooms do have an excellent view of the ocean and it's nice to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to having you as our guests again.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was our third year staying with them and we love it more every time. The rooms are very nice and clean and the staff are wonderful. The poolside cafe is the perfect place for breakfast or lunch.
We will be back next year too. My bags are still kind of packed.

Room Tip: Ocean front are the best rooms and the veiw is quite good. you can see the boardwalk lights at night...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swoop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review and for your continued patronage. It's nice to hear that our repeat guests appreciate the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff.
Keep those bags packed so we can welcome you back in the very near future.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was beyond what I expected. It was me and my fiancé and son we rented a king bed ocean view with a sofa pull out. The room was very nice the view was amazing the staff was wonderful. The battery to the door lock died on us and the staff was very quick on fixing the problem. The balcony was a little small to maneuver around especially with all your towels and beach stuff out there to dry. If I had any complaint it would be the towels every time I used a towel to dry off with I ended up with someone else's long black hair on my body. But overall it was a wonderful visit I did like the fact two had a restaurant that served hotdogs for $1 for lunch out on the pool deck and they also have a indoor pool that came in good use when it stormed. Did wish they had continental breakfast. You just kinda expect it unless I was staying in a motel 6 then I understand. But we will definitely be back.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank snookawukkums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your nice comments and I am happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations in almost everything. I do apologize for the towel issue and assure you that our housekeeping staff will rectify that. Due to the fact that we have a Cafe that is open for breakfast and lunch we do not offer the continental breakfast and are therefore also able to keep our rates very reasonable.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
1.5 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $73 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Visit Barbados, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing