We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave and barb have stayed at the tropical winds for the last 5 years. We stay for 2 weeks. Gwen at the front dest is a s”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Barb and Dave have stayed at the Tropical Winds for the last 5 years, we stay for 2 weeks.
We love it. Gwen at the front desk is great, Chris, the manager is more than ready to help you. The cleaning staff will help you as need be. They have been there for years- so what does that tell you.
The rooms are clean, pool is kept up well. Walking the beach is easy. A nice little restaurant for lunch and breakfast
Keep up the good work.
We are from Ontario and so enjoyed the sun. We also met lots of other couples enjoying what we wanted as well
Barb Campbell

Room Tip: higher floors so you can leave the sliding glass doors open to enjoy the ocean
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank campbells13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

I booked this hotel purely based on Trip Advisor. My family made our annual trip to Daytona to watch my daughter compete in cheerleading nationals. We were looking for something close to the all of the events and activities but just far enough away for a little peace and quiet. While the hotel is several years old it has been so well maintained and updated. I have stayed in brand new hotels that were not any cleaner than this place. Our room was spotless and was well furnished. Our third floor room had great views of the ocean. We had 5 great nights sleep on Beautyrest mattresses. The hallways are air conditioned eliminating that common hallway smell. This also allows the elevators to be comfortable. The pool had great lounge chairs and plenty of them. Again all spotless. The small breakfast and lunch café is poolside and has a great variety for reasonable prices. But the building is not makes this place special. The staff here creates a great atmosphere. Check in was a pleasure. Wow front desk personnel that actually seem to like their job, what a simple thought. We were spoken to virtually every time we entered the building. The restaurant staff treats you like you have been a friend for life. Between 12 and 2 a gentleman named Franz staffs a drink station and a hot dog bar selling those at a down right cheap price. In a time of mega hotels this one is just the right size with a great personality. I look forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay ocean front.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We enjoy this hotel, great for couples or small families. Hotel service is great, clean and comfortable each time we have booked. Small cafe with a good sit down breakfast, not fancy but very convenient and affordable- they also serve lunch. Beds are comfy- you get tons of pillows! Some rooms have pull out sofas. Ocean "view" room was nice but if you want an ocean front ask for it! Clerks available 24/7. Pool heated - they have indoor and outside pools, beach right off deck! Outdoor shower by beach access and by pool. I booked for a good price but never disappointed at the comfort and cleanliness. Close enough to restaurants and night life!

Room Tip: If you want a good bed for two get the king! If you want to see the beach ask for oceanfront!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lenya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twinds, General Manager at Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate your continued patronage and are happy that you enjoyed our new comfortable beds. Our owners and staff strive to make your stay better each time you visit with new upgrades. I look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you - Christine Lane - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are from the Orlando area just wanted a little getaway this was perfect the staff very friendly are room was adorable. We will definitely be returning found a nice little hideaway. Right on the beach close to everything you could want to do. Will be recommending to all our friends and family Thanks guys for a nice little trip.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank waggygitl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've stayed here three times in the last five years. Each stay was pleasant. Stress free check-in, clean rooms, and helpful staff. Not to mention great rates. The diner serves a great breakfast at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank defence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

6th floor Suite with one bedroom, 1 bathroom, 3 beds (2 in the living room 1 in the bedroom), sofa, kitchen and 2 balconies facing the city. 2 pools, inside pool heated (Luke warm). Steps from beach. No continental breakfast but they have a cafe on site. I didn't try it. All in all my stay was fine. The room served it's purpose. The room was clean and we had no issues with it. Eateries and Publix close by. Stayed for 2 nights.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank GApeachNYnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Fast check-in (in spite of a crowd at at desk), clean room, friendly staff. I would recommend an oceanfront room to take full advantage of the view. Third time that we have stayed and we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comxkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
1.5 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $74 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Visit Barbados, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing