We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Wheeling
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My family and I usually come to Daytona Beach every year. The hotel we usually stay at closed the indoor pool that they have and the outdoor pool is far from heated. So, after a couple of nights, I decided to start looking for different hotels. Man am I glad I did!! Not only are both the indoor and outdoor pools BOTH heated, the rooms are 90% nicer, the balconies are much more private, it is a lot closer to the Boardwalk, and the staff is very nice. I believe we may have found our new "regular hotel" for our annual vacation at Daytona Beach!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    311
    73
    26
    25
See reviews for
313
402
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I found this hotel on tripadvisor.com and we were very satisfied with our stay.

The room:
We were in room 604 which is large and features a king bed and four pillows. We slept great as the bed was very comfortable. The room has a flat panel TV, table and two chairs, a couch and kitchen. There was a balcony overlooking the pool with two chairs and a small table. We had an outstanding view of the ocean.

The amenities:
This property has two heated pools (inside and outside) and beach access. There is a computer and printer that I used to print out our boarding passes for our return flight. The free wifi had a good level of performance. The hotel has a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch. They have baggage trollies available to get your bags to your room. There is ample free parking.

The location:
Tropical Winds is located on Atlantic Avenue between International Speedway Blvd and Granada Avenue. It is located on the beach within easy walking distance to the pier. There are restaurants and shopping on Atlantic Ave.

The staff:
As I mentioned in previous reviews, the staff can either make or break the experience. The staff here was very pleasant and efficient. I want to mention the people that made our stay outstanding:
Christine Lane – hotel manager,
Tonja Taylor – Night desk, she checked us in on our arrival,
Brandi Vlad – Day desk,
Katie – Housekeeping who made a heart-shaped towel pal and
Miss Gwen – Day desk who showed me that southern hospitality still exists.

We will be back again at the Tropical Winds next year. The staff and accommodations of the Tropical Winds have "earned" our repeat business. If you are looking for outstanding accommodations at a reasonable price, the Tropical Winds has figured it out.

Hotels are just buildings. It’s the people at the hotel that make the difference.

Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve_Shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here ten days for spring break. Nice rooms nice kitchenette. Great balcony right on beach. Two heated pools nice restaurant in hotel short walk to grocery alcohol and clubs. Staff was pleasent very helpful .very clean. A bit on the quiet side for being full of students which was nice to relax .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mellissa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

The room was clean but bathroom needed a little work. The bed was nice. Could see the ocean from my room :-) This Hotel met all my expectations for the price I payed. Def would recommend if your ok with and older hotel. Really close to a great restaurant ChuCheRias. WOW great food for great prices. Came for a restful weekend and i def got one :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here at the tropical winds, being right on the beach in July was a big plus. I have been coming here with family for 18 years and I came back on my own with a friend. It was an amazing experience, the beautiful beaches, great oceanfront king bed room, and all the amenities and services a hotel could provide. I went deep sea fishing, explored the ocean, and went roaming about the boardwalk and enjoyed a little inner city. I would recommend Daytona Beach to anyone who is looking for a great family, friends, or couples vacation or retreat. Most certainly if you come down to the astonishing "famous beach" I would only recommend the Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel. Well worth it to come down to the amazing Florida beach, but I guarantee you'll want to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jbrunnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Last minute decision to attend a conference in Daytona Beach, this week. A friend found a room ON THE BEACH for just 69.99 opposed to the conference hotel at 169.99. I called direct, saved 20.00 over the trip advisor price. shuuuuu. Talked with Ms Gwynn wonderful and helpful woman. The room had an ocean view, small refer and micro wave, flat screen TV, king size bed. This is an older building but updated. The people were great, had an early check-in and for a couple of extra bucks a late check out. There is a very small café café type restaurant that over looks the patio and ocean very reasonable breakfast and quite good. I would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: as for ocean view with Single King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I found this gem and couldn't be happier! This is my third time here and it is consistently wonderful. Clean, great location, rooms are comfortable, staff is wonderful, can't say enough. Balconies are nice and private.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchernats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1398 North Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32018
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing