We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2008

i stayed again this past week in may 2008 at the tropical winds oceanfront hotel daytona beach. i looked at another before deciding to go back. once i checked out others i felt the tropical winds is where i wanted to be again. this was my 2nd stay there and each time is better then the last. this time i took an oceanfront efficiency. best move i made. the front desk gal was so nice and cheerful upon checking in. i was hrs early due to the flight in . she gave me a room right away. the room was awesome. it was like a dream come true. facing the ocean. the room was very clean. the housekeeping staff were wonderful. rooms done early . they wont wake you to clean the room and change the towels.they wait till you are gone out. the cafe downstairs is a wonderful place to have breakfast & lunch. they are so reasonable. i thought it to be cheaper then go to a restaurant to eat. the pool area is real clean. the maint. dept does a thorough job keeping it clean.there is internet computer in the lobby for the guests. they just ask you to limit to 15 mins if someone is waiting or comes down to use the computer. that is a reasonable request. i have now made tropical winds my vacation home. the hotel may not be the newest but it sure is a great place . to me the newer hotels, taller ones and ones with big names like the hilton are more costly. you are paying for the names. again thankyou expedia for listing tropical winds on your site. i found them thru your hotels listing 2 yrs ago and i am glad i chose this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mittens82755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2008

My husband and I chose this resort after having read the reviews on TA. (Thank heavens for TA!!)

Thank you to all the people who have stayed here and shared their views.
But we didn’t book it, we decided to take a chance when we arrived. There are so many choices of where to stay we could so easily have got it wrong. So we wanted to ‘vet’ the room first.

Gwen was the first person we came into contact with in reception, we asked if we could see an oceanfront room - she didn’t hesitate in giving us the key to 310. It was an efficiency, lovely clean, fresh oceanfront view on the 3rd floor, with the sound of the ocean in your room.

We only checked in for 2 nights initially, but afteit’s right on the beach, so we decided to stay here for the duration. We asked Gwen if the room was available for the time we wanted, it was, and the rates she quoted became cheaper per night the longer we stayed.
Very happy with our choice, it really made our time in Daytona very pleasant.
Also the sunrise is amazing, what a lovely way to start the day.

Aircon/heating works a treat. It was a little cold during our stay, so the heating was a bonus for one day.
The Coffee bar/café on the ground floor is a lovely place for breakfast and lunch, either eat in there or ‘to go’ if you are round the pool.
We had breakfast here on our first morning, it was delicious with lots of choices, and the wonderful man who served us is a real charmer, very friendly and a great host.
Our room was serviced daily and very early too, we went out for breakfast about 7:30 every day, and didn’t get back till late afternoon, so much to see and do in Daytona. But on one occasion we came back around 9:30 - 10:00am and couldn’t believe our room had been done already!! Wonderful.
We had clean towels every day, 2 queen sized beds which we found to be extremely comfortable - even the pillows were perfect.
There are beach towels available as you go thru to the pool area, plenty of sun loungers available and access to the incredible Daytona Beach.
This is the only place I would stay when I return, and next time I would book it, as Gwen told us we would get even better rates as we are repeaters.
We chatted to nearly all the staff here , we found them to be very friendly people, always willing to pass the time with you.
We rented a car from Alamo in Orlando, it was a Chevy trailblazer SUV, managed to do a lot of what we wanted to do, and as we had to drive from here to Atlanta airport on our last day, the 6 hour journey was a definite breeze, easy driving for my husband… but I think it was more down to my fantastic navigating!! We were given brilliant maps at the Atlanta Welcome Centre too which took us into ‘car rental row’ at Atlanta Airport to return our car to Alamo. We stopped for lunch and didn’t make one mistake.
Driving on Daytona Beach:-
We did this with everyone else, but we drove ALL the way along, what a laugh, an RV had churned up the sand at the quieter end of the beach, guess what, we got stuck in that soft sand - right in the middle of a family beach party. While we were debating exactly how to get out of this. 2 American guys sitting with their family on the beach and 2 local boys in a pick-up came along, and before we knew it, they all pushed us out!!
Thank you very much, if any of you read this for getting us out, but the guys all said this wasn’t the first time and it won’t be the last. Needless to say we didn’t drive along the beach again. Next time we will get a proper 4 x 4 and try again.
We love this place and the people - it is such a fun place, and the food! But I will be writing about food in the forum.
We found a Chevy dealer selling tons of corvettes, We own/drive one in the UK, so that was great to see them all.

Places we went to:- Inlet Harbour, Ocean Walk, , Flagler Beach, St Augustine for a nice drive out, So many eateries (as you do in America) So much still left for another time soon!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheGlee's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

My family and I stayed here for a week. The hotel's location was great with private balcony overlooking ocean. Kitchenette was great for saving money. The pools (outdoor/indoor) were clean and nice. The rooms were clean,beds comfortable. Will definately go back. Had teenagers who were happy with it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mother70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

4 of us came here and stayed in the Sunset View Apartments over spring break. This place pleasantly surprised us! The room was very clean and the staff was REALLY nice, they even arranged for us to have a later check-out time. It's prime location and was extremely reasonably priced. The little cafe is absolutely adorable too. I would DEF. recommend staying here to anyone who's not looking to break the bank but still wants a nice, clean place to stay. I'm sure i'll be back there again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chickyburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

I'm an advid traveler that stays in hotels probably about 1 to 2 times per month based on trips for business purposes and leisure. Tropical Winds pleasantly surprised me. I expected cheap motelish accomodations with hard beds and bland decor. Instead, I slept like a baby in a very comfortable king size bed with an unobstructed view, kitchenette and great service in the hotel. My husband and I stayed at this hotel with the idea that we just wanted a quick weekend getaway at a very small price. This was perfect. Nice pools right on the ocean and it was not filled with crazy spring breakers. The room isn't going to compare to a Sheraton but it will definite work for you. I haven't seen a motel room this clean on the beach in quite some time. Please make sure to stop in the cafe for breakfast and lunch everyday. The manager was so friendly and fun to listen to and the food was excellent for the very inexpensive price. Quiet end of the strip but close enough to hop and skip down the road to all the nightlife and restaurants. The only down side is that you absolutely need a car in Daytona. It isn't really a beach town in which you can walk to everything. You do have to drive. Make sure to take the drive down to the Ponce de Leon Lighthouse at the end of the strip. The drive was my favorite part of the trip with fantastic yet scary views at the top of the lighthouse. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jtfs792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

If you want to be right on the beach, and not spend a fortune, this is a great hotel! It looks to have been recently updated. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Great oceanside pool! Indoor heated pool too! The onsite cafe serves an inexpensive breakfast & lunch menu. Kitchenette helps to save some $$$ as well on the food bill.
The only problem I had was the hallway (4th floor) had a bit of a musty smell... but maybe that comes with being on the beach?
If you're looking for luxurey, this ain't it... but for a good clean room with fantastic beach access, this one is well worth the money!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank QueenLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach...
#38 of 74 in Daytona Beach
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
606 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#11 of 74 in Daytona Beach
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $87 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing