We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very clean and nice. Our room was on the first floor so the view was limited. I would definately stay there again, but would get a room on the 2nd floor or above. You could see the water from our room but could not see the beach.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 1st floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

family trip to Fla. Loved the location, cleanliness and great staff. Older but clean and remodeling. Stayed one night on the city view side. Noisey traffic and police sirens all night. Moved to ocean front room, ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!

Room Tip: Stay in the ocean front rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute, just to have a place to crash. The room was pleasant; had a little balcony that had a pretty view of the beach and the sea, and a window that overlooked the main road. The beds were comfy, the water was fine, and the wifi worked well..

We didn't get a chance to explore the hotel very much as we were out by 9am the next morning. We did however get to see the lobby area which would do well with a little updating. But if you are only looking for a comfy room to sleep in, then this would do just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catspyjamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great stay for the cost. Beach access and location is great! They do have a small cafe...we had an ok breakfast there...then we walked the beach. They have an indoor and outdoor pool. You should stay here because we will stay here again and spend more money on the great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hancockm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

One rating service gave this a 4 star- very optimistic rating- it's 2.5 star at most- pretty clean and good size rooms but nothing special- It's apparenty a snowbird hotel since every night there was a large contigent in the room off the lobby that was cocktail time,etc- Never bothered us but you would need to wade through them to use the computer- Front desk staff was very nice and professional-
It would be ok for a few days but for a vacation I'd try to find a real 4 star

Room Tip: upper floors are quiter and escape cooking smells
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just as my last visit to Daytona Bch. a couple years ago I chose to stay at this really nice hotel, Tropical Winds. Only, this time it was even better. The hotel had just replaced carpeting on the first floor, and refinished the outdoor pool and even heated it. So, now they have an indoor and "outdoor" pool that's heated. And last but not least, not only is the hotel clean and on the beach, the staff is first rate and that is what really makes the hotel a pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baldeagle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My Wife and I have been here several times over the past 4 years. We like to go to Daytona during BikeWeek or Biketoberfest. We have stayed a few hotels and this has always been a great stay at a great rate. It is an older hotel but we have always had clean rooms and friendly staff. It is hard to beat the location. It's close to everything you want in Daytona.

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms are slightly less expensive and still a great room with good views of the beach...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
1.5 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $73 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Visit Barbados, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing