We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Winds Hotel Daytona Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Tropical Winds Hotel Daytona Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is a hotel really worth staying at. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff are exceptional. We were really made to feel at home, with the staff going out of their way to help make our stay enjoyable. The views from the balcony of the ocean are superb and you can see the Dolphins in the mornings and evenings. I am also a keen fisherman and I have never fished anywhere in the world where I have caught so many large fish from the beach. We will most certainly be returning next year.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the top floors for the best ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    272
    56
    22
    23
See reviews for
249
341
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CLARENVILLE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have been travellling to Florida for a fall vacation for the past 18 years, and had been staying in numerous hotels during the first 13 of those years; however, 5 years ago we lucked into the Tropical Winds. We've been coming back to this hotel every year since for a month, and staying a few days longer each time; we love it! We meet friends there from several states and they enjoy the place as much as we do. Miss Gwen, Chris, Tonya, and the remaining staff are very friendly and helpful and make every guest feel welcome and at home. The rooms are clean, and the deck and swimming pool area are clean and tidy, and quiet. We have just come home to Canada and are looking forward to next year's trip already! Thanks to you all and we'll see you next year!! Bill and Virginia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I and our "group" from several different states (including Canada) stay here every October and sometimes into November ( we can't get enough pampering). We had originally stayed at the Beachcomber on down the street until the Hurricanes came through a few years ago. My husband and I THOUGHT we had the best place to stay, but after finding the Tropical Winds we found out we were wrong. The Beachcomber didn't get rebuilt after the hurricane and the staff put us in one of there other properties (what a disaster) we knew we had to find another place. A couple from Indiana that we knew found out about the Tropical Winds, it didn't take long for our group to check it out and get some reservations set up, and we have not regretted it. Christine will do anything for you and the front desk staff are great Miss Gwen and Tonya will help you out with anything you need. The cafe is family as well, Billy and Franz do a great job. It is so great to catch up with what is going with the staff from year to year. We just finished year # 7 and we are looking forward to year # 8 already. This year I was having some health issues and the staff did everything they could to help me with the stay this year, hopefully I will be better by next year.
This is a wonderful place to stay if you like being treated as family!

Linda Wise

Room Tip: We always like the sixth floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was a little tired but located on the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was good and dependable and coffee making facilities were welcome. Cost £35 for the night with was acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicken999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel. Service and staff was terrific. Very friendly. They went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience.Pools were clean. Rooms was very nice. Excellent access to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molli03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a nice clean, comfortable hotel right on the ocean. Very quiet and has nice balconies. The staff could not be more pleasant and met our every need. They have a cafe on the premises which is delicious. Would stay there again and would have no problem recommending them. Very pleased. It was a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEART6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Older hotel, but clean and comfortable. Front desk staff very nice. Very accommodating to motorcyclists (us) during Biketoberfest. Location close enough to everything but far enough from craziness to get away when you needed to do so. Quiet at night. Not too much within walking distance, but everything you need is about a two or three minute ride away. Only complaint was that water pressure in shower wasn't great. Overall, a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dooz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.5 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#18 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing