We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay I have ever had !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I live in central Fl and go to Daytona Beach every summer always looking for a better place to stay. I stayed at the Tropical Winds this summer and I will never stay any where else again, It truely was the best trip ever due to the staff and the property had everything I could of asked for. I found my home away from home. Thanks go out to every one. Sherry Kirkland

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having stayed here a couple of times before we had a good expectation of what to see. The rooms were clean and well presented. The amenities were good with full cupboards of crockery and cutlery in the kitchen. The A/c was a little noisey...but that was not too much trouble.. the mere mention of it brought a man to not only change it but put in a new one which made our three week stay away from UK even more pleasant.
As per usual all the staff approach were welcoming and helpful and could not do enough for you. This can only be due to Christine the Manager who runs a "happy ship" and is most helpful in ensuring you have an excellent stay.
We WILL be back; we have now found somewhere that is hard to beat for a vacation.

Room Tip: Most rooms are oceanfront. Choose how high you like to be above to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenSolihull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed at. This was also probably the cleanest hotel ever. There were people constantly cleaning the property. We stayed in an oceanfront room, which had two double beds, a full kitchen, and a private balcony facing the ocean. The beds were very comfortable. The room was excellent. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could need, including dish soap and towels. It had a flat screen tv on the wall. The bathroom was also stocked with plenty of towels. We never had a problem getting towels, unlike a lot of other hotels I have stayed at. The room was very large, much larger than they look in the pictures. They also have internet in the rooms as well as the lobby. The elevators were very clean as well. The oceanfront pool was also very clean. There was a pool guy there everyday cleaning it. There are plenty of chairs at the pool, and many of them face out to the ocean. There are clear panels up so you have an excellent view of the ocean. There is also very easy access to the beach from the pool area. The inside pool is also excellent, very clean, and it has ocean-themed paintings on the walls, very unique. They have plenty of beach towels to use, and there's even a hamper at the door to put them in when you come back in, instead of having to take them to your room. The rooms are interior, you don't have to walk outside to get to your room. The little pool side cafe is also very nice, great service as well as great food. I can't say enough about the customer service. Everyone who worked there was very nice. When we checked in, they were going to put us on the second floor. But we requested a room higher up, and they were very happy to switch our room to one on the seventh floor. Every time we walked into the lobby, they welcomed us with a hello. The lobby is very nice and clean, it even has a small library. The parking was also great, not a nightmare like some other hotels I have stayed at. There was plenty of parking in front of the building as well as the back. The landscape in the parking lot is also very nice. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is close enough to the boardwalk and pier, but still far enough away to enjoy a quite vacation. The pictures are very accurate, not outdated like a lot of other hotels' pictures. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The owners really take a lot of pride in this hotel, and it shows very much. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you go to the actual hotel's website to book, you will get a much better deal than booking an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here after running away from the horrible Americano two doors down. The hotel staff is wonderful and very caring. The grounds are clean and well-maintained, and the amenities are very good. There is a nice heated indoor pool with access to the outside patio, and a small cafe that serves breakfast and lunch until 2 pm. The outside patio and pool has pavers and a glass fence so as not to block the ocean views. Ocean access is down about ten concrete steps to the beach, and there is a shower head at the bottom by your feet to wash off the sand. There's another outside shower just inside the gate on the pool deck. On the way to the outside pool, there are newer vending machines for soda, snacks, and ice cream; as well as an ice machine. There is a rack with clean pool towels, and a hamper for your used towels.

Our room was oceanfront with a good-sized balcony. The only bad thing I can say is that the room air conditioner drains onto the balcony, so there is always a little water trail. Not their fault- it's no big deal.

The room was nicely updated and very clean. There was a fully stocked kitchenette with a large refrigerator. The bathroom was also updated and well-lit. We had two double beds, while we only slept on one, it was very comfortable.

We had already booked our stay for next month's Biketoberfest prior to this unexpected stay based on the reviews, and are very happy that we did. This will be the place we stay in Daytona from now on. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, oceanfront. Had a great view, and no problems with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just spent Labor Day weekend and I must say the place was FANTASTIC! we had oceanfront and the view was terrific.The room was clean and the staff very helpful.Only drawback was water saving showerhead.....We will be back !

Room Tip: OCEANFRONT! and the Cafe is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice and clean family owned/operated hotel. Not your top notch but totally acceptable (NO BUGS) and the customer services is to DIE FOR!!! Gwen at the front desk, WOW is all I'm saying she's full of imformation and if she doesn't know. Oh no worries, she'll take the extra step to find whatever it is you are in need of. She's truly a gem along with the others (cleaning crew/kitchen & pool crew) excellent group of folks. The only downside that I encountered was the shower pressure wasn't up enough. The water was hot but the pressure was very low. Carpet in elevators could be replaced but other than that I was VERY HAPPY!!! I'll be back again and again...!!! Thanks for making my 46 birthday trip a delightful one...

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for the oceanfront view rooms its worth every dime!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neanfitforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had an excellant stay here! We opted for the Ocean View because of the slightly lower price, it does face the nieghboring hotel but the size of the room more than makes up for it, still a wonderful view and breeze off the ocean. Facilities were nice, employees were great! Stayed here with multiple family members in multiple rooms, we had no complaints at all. Most of the family members booked the Ocean Front rooms, which were a little smaller but come with fully equipped kitchenette. Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ocean View room is larger but faces to the north and south of hotel, can see ocean but also neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FL_Traveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
3.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 73 in Daytona Beach
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1398 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $72 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Visit Barbados, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Resort
Hotel Tropical Winds Oceanfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing