We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ponce Inlet, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Needed a impromptu room on short notice and was recommended by a friend . to me this place was nicer than the Hilton just down the road. When you first pull up, the entrance is even more opulent. The rooms were very clean and on the floor above me they were doing work and I NEVER heard a sound.The decor was updated and never smelled mold or "hotel oldness" I call it which is almost always there with beachfront resorts. has everything you need there but close to a couple of fine restaurants (the oyster pub and Sapporos Japanese steakhouse) I did not use all the services (there is a plethora) but I was still duly impressed. I will be coming back....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Scott G.,
Thanks for the very complimentary review. Your comments on cleanliness, appearance, and first impressions are very much appreciated. I will be sure to pass them along to all of our staff. I hope that you the opportunity to return to Daytona Beach soon and if you do that you will once again chose to stay at the Plaza Resort and Spa.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    439
    199
    114
    117
See reviews for
614
594
64
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

To start, we did not stay at this hotel. I read reviews of this particular hotel, and it was billed as the top resort in Daytona. We stopped there this past weekend to check it out and I'm so glad we did because I would have been sorely disappointed had I booked a room.

This is not a resort, at least, it does not deserve to be in "resort" category. My generous rating would be a 3 star property. The carpets are dingy, paint peeling, industrial fans in the hallways from water damage ... the list goes on and on. It was a nice place to stop and have a drink, while looking at the ocean from their bar deck. But, that's about it.

The spa menu has reasonable pricing, but I would not feel comfortable booking a spa appointment at a facility I do not feel comfortable staying.

The only reason I'm rating as average instead of poor is because the staff. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful! We asked for directions around the property, and each staff member responded with enthusiasm, and courtesy. The bartender, Jon, was hospitable and informative. Kudos to the staff of Plaza Resort & Spa.

If only my cell phone battery had not died, I would have posted the pictures I wanted to take of the inconsistencies we saw - and we weren't even guests. Choose another "resort" when booking. Save yourself money and raunchiness, go to Ormond Beach or New Smyrna Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackpot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jackpot82,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visist to our property. We recently had some very hard rains which resulted in some water intrusion. Those leaks and teh resulting damage are in teh process of being repaired. I am so happy to hear that you had a great experience with our staff. They are a great group of hospitality professionals. Please come back and stay with us and experience an over night stay.

Sincerely,


Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for memorial weekend! Through all the busy crowds, I have to say, checkin was so easy & the rooms are nice. A big king size bed with pull out couch. Nice up to date decor good size balcony & we ask for extra towels and they were quick for such a large place. Even got a late check out of 12:00, no charge. Will stay again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetovacay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear lovetovacay82,

Thanks for your great review. All of our staff are very excited to read positive reviews. We believe we have a one of a kind product here in Daytona Beach. Our location mixed with our outstanding staff and beautiful building make for a truly great experience.

Come back soon!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My second stay at Plaza Hotel and Spa lived up to and surpassed my first stay a month ago. Amenities abound in this grand historic hotel . Built around 1910 it combines the grandeur of old with the modern due to rennovation and recent updates. Service was supurb from check-in to security. The onsite restaurant, Magnolia's, had a lovely setting and good food at a nice price. The indoor bar was charming with warm wood and lounging areas; still feeling comfortable and casual. Outdoors is a pool and pool bar. The beach, of course, is great. The location of the hotel permits you to take a short beach walk to the pier and boardwalk area. Next visit I plan to use the spa and treat myself even more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Gayle23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our location is truly amonst the best in Daytona and our lounge and restaurant are very comfortable. I hope that you will return soon and indulge in our incredible spa.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend, anytime we asked for towels took hours and two or more phone calls. Room was not stocked and security was horrible just overall a very bad experience . The front desk was not very helpfull had our room moved three times and bad exp on pool deck but there response time was horrible.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tonya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tonya W.

Thank you for your review. We want to hear from all of our guests, even those who were not pleased with their stay. Please feel free to contact me directly. I would like to hear more details of your stay so that I may take corrective action immediately. We appreciate your patronage and hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went to Daytona with some friends over the weekend. This hotel is a little secret of ours as the price is great and it has one of the best locations. The new updates in the rooms are really good. Also, we just discovered the SPA is one of the largest in the area. All of this time it was right under our nose. This is easily the best value. Very friendly staff and management is really working hard to make this place nice. I really enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer ocean view. I think it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanallanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Allanallan,

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to see that you had a wonderful time. You are correct in that we DO have one of the BEST locations in Daytona Beach. We appreciate your confidence and loyalty and look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just stayed this past weekend for Mother's Day what a wonderful relaxing time we had. Starting with a simple easy reservation our check in process was also simple with having 2 rooms we were able to get the side by side at a last minute booking on a Saturday with easy for a handicap person to walk out of our rooms right to the pool. Lots of room to move around in my room wheel chair friendly. We had such a peaceful and relaxing stay we didn't want to leave

Room Tip: Ocean front with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Sharon T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor. We really enjoy hearing form our guests. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms easy to manuever in and convenient to our amenities. PLease come back again !!


Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#20 of 72 in Daytona Beach
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Property: Plaza Resort & Spa
Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing