We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of property”
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Howey in the Hills, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review of property”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

First of all .....the lobby is awesome......it really looks great. The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful and took time to answer my questions with a positive attitude. Let me say that I did not stay on this property as my girlfriend had booked another property close to this one but I had to go and take a look being a past guest. I had heard of a remodel and wanted to see how it was. A relative was looking for a place to stay last minute, and I suggested this hotel but wanted to go see it when they arrived as I didnt want to feel bad if I had suggested a poor atmosphere. So after entering, we rode to the elevator to their floor (8th) with no problem and this place was really busy with people in and out. The rooms looked great and they were pleased that they hadnt paid $289.00 at the Hilton, in fact they bought supper later........lol...... I asked other guests on the elevator how they liked the place and all seemed happy and those leaving seemed a little down that they couldnt stay. The only thing I could say negative was that there were a couple of door jams that need some attention, not that they are unsafe or anything like that, just with the make over they need to be brought up too. Overall, my relatives had a nice stay, the rooms were well cared for by the maids and the food in the restaurant was very good. Its a close walk to the Boardwalk, shops and restaurants off property are nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Kenny G,

Thanks for the great review. I am pleased to see that you took the time to inquire from other guests how they were enjoying their stay. We have a wonderful hotel in a great location with a fabulous staff. PLease stay with us next time you are in Daytona Beach.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    439
    199
    114
    117
See reviews for
614
595
64
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice hotel overall. Requested Ocean Front View room and got partial ocean view room. Was told the hotel was full. When I made the original reservation I was confirmed for an Ocean View Room. Stayed in room 1409 which is partcial ocean view room. You can see from the pictures I took what partial view is. I was able to visit a friend that did receive ocean front view room and was able to take pictures from her balcony. Ocean front view rooms are bigger and nicer. Had to find the pool on my own. There were no signs as to where to go to get to the pool. Walking distance to everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizbeth_Cheer_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Construction at hotel was not mentioned at time of reservation. Oceanfront location was best thing! Beds were comfortable, room was small and bathroom very small. Maid service was poor. Location to shops, movies and restaurants was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Kenny G,

Thanks for the great review. We are making improvements continuously this year and the Plaza is truly the place to stay in Daytona Beach. Glad tyou recognized our friendly staff and even heard it from other guests. Next time you and your friend need to stay with us!! Come back soon.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall, we had a good experience at this hotel. On the positive side: the rooms are large and have a small kitchenette area with a microwave and refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable, and we had a nice large flat screen television. The views from the rooms are also excellent. The beach is very nice and the hotel is an excellent location. You can easily walk to a number of restaurants, shops, movie theater, the boardwalk, and a Walgreens.

On the negative side: the hotel is definitely older and you see that in some areas such as certain hallways and especially the parking deck. The elevators are very old and quite an adventure at times. In addition, they were generally crowded and you had a to wait quite a bit. The hotel is also currently undergoing renovation and the work can be noisy at times (jackhammers).

Howevever, for the price and location, I would still recommend this hotel. We had an overall enjoyable stay with no major problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RowdyRedneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Rowdy /Redneck

I appreciate your comments and was thrilled to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. WE are going through some renovations that will make useven a better value. Our location is great and our hotel is stiving to be your hotel of choice when visiting Daytona Beach. Please return soon!!

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Some earlier reviews had us concerned as we had booked 5 nights. The parking and elevator stiuations were fine. The views and location were awesome. Rhe rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The pool area and beach access a plus. Overall a very satisfied guest. We will be back to see the progress of this landmark hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saltlife91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear saltlife91,
Thanks for your review. Happy to hear that you recognized what a great hotel we have. The location really is superb and the views are second to none in Daytona Beach. We hope to welcome you back soon!!

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I wish I had read the other reviews before I made reservations. I am from N.C. and my stay was the last week of March 2013.

A few problems I encountered with this hotel: I had requested in 3 separate reservation emails that I wanted 2 rooms and I wanted them adjoining. Upon arrival I discovered that the rooms were on separate floors. The front desk was then able to give us 2 rooms only separated by another room. We had to wait an extra hour for this room to be cleaned only to notice later after dinner that the ceiling was badly stained and leaking. We packed and unpacked again having to change rooms; being further away from our other party. The front desk had also attempted upon check in to attach the $17.00 per day resort fee. ( I had asked in my previous emails if all charges were complete and assured they were) .The front desk corrected this. One of the elevators had problems working and in fact had guests trapped inside them at least twice during our 5 nite stay. The AC/Heat in our room was so loud it was impossible to speak to someone in a normal tone. The fire alarm was pulled as a joke one night by a guest. I called the front desk as some guests panicked to find out about the circumstances. There was no announcement made to calm guests regarding this. The back door was to remain locked during evening hours for safety but was always unlocked.
We would have changed hotels if there had been any available with oceanfront rooms . This was spring break for a lot of families.
The staff at this hotel was accommodating and always attempted to fix the numerous problems but was more than I wanted to deal with on vacation.
To add a positive : the location is great.
M.S.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Melanie S.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all forms of feedback so that we can continue to improve. We are taking steps to improve both service and security during busy spring break times and have hired additional staff to do that. Glad you appreciated the location but do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed there March 24-26.
This place is a paradox between down right nasty and new and grand. Security was completely lax. The outside doors which were supposed to be key only entry after 5pm didn't even have locks. "Pizza guys" roamed the halls looking for doors that are so coated with paint that they don't even close properly. When we fell victim to them, the hotel didn't seem to really care and the security manager said, "Yeah sometimes those pizza guys are running around and we can't keep up." B.S. Our room was new, but the A/C was leaking all over the carpet and soaking in. The deck was decomposing. (at least they are working on that as others have pointed out...this place is under construction so expect lots of jack hammering) The restaurant had a total of 3 guests and was way over priced and not even usable. No concierge. No Kids Coordinator even though this place requires a 25 year old to checkin (which is nice btw). The pool was very nice. The other issue is it is in a weird "shady" section of the strip right now with a bunch of abandoned buildings around that are creepy. Again, not their fault, but still something to consider. So much wasted potential, but just not 3 stars yet. Find somewhere else.

Room Tip: Find out if the construction is done. If you get a room on the South side, be prepared to over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtthomas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob V, General Manager at Plaza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear jtthomas10,

Thanks for your review. We really do appreciate everyone's comments and suggestions, good or bad.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the pool area.We are doing some renovations that include repairs to balconies.The first phase of this work should be completed the first week of May.We will also soon be adding HD to our TV programming, a new business center, and some upgrades to our pool area and our fitness center.Rooms will also be receiving some new sleeper sofas and bathroom vanities. We are working with local authoirities to stop the pizza flyer distribution and are addressing the door locks as well. I appreciate your past patronage and do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bob Van Bergen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.2 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Property: Plaza Resort & Spa
Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing