We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheer Team's Experience”
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plaza Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheer Team's Experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been going to NCA Collegiate Cheerleading National Championships for about 15 years. This is the cleanest and quietest hotel we've stayed at to date. The service is great. Our room opened up right to the pool and patio. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: First floor on the corner near the pool is convenient to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tesa30bac97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    431
    196
    108
    115
See reviews for
600
587
63
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here last year - awesome location and a great room. We booked it not even knowing it would be Ocean View. What a nice surprise. The room was clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank all4sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

11th floor oceanview room, small balcony but big enough ( have had much smaller ), Nice utility area, with microwave, and units and worktop. Beds were comfy, air con usuall noise for us brits. We dont use them here much. music by the pool which we liked very much, food area was big enough with enough food and drinks. the rooms were nice and roomy.

Room Tip: ask for the best room in your price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucygoosy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ok, we travel all over the place and we enjoyed this hotel. It is an older hotel that has been renovated. They are still renovating it. We usually stay at either Marriotts or quaint hotels with character. I have decide Trip Advisor reviews are sometimes a way for people to really nit pick about things. Hello people, this hotel has been around since 1888. Get real, somethings are not going to be NEW! Overall my family and I enjoyed it. We stayed one night to enjoy Daytona Beach over Christmas break. Check in was easy and fast. Staff was friendly. If you ask about the history of the resort, they will even give you a packet explaining the timeline of the place. We checked into our room which was on the 8th floor. It had a nice view and was clean. Room size was bigger than an average hotel room. It had mini frig and kitchen area. The parking garage was really low so, if you have a tall vehicle, it's NOT going to fit. I didn't really care for the resort fee so that was sort of a surprise, but they do give you two welcome drinks at the lounge. The room does come with 2 bottles of Fiji Water and free internet. The fee was a little high in my opinion. We didn't eat at the restaurant. When we were there, the hotel was not busy at all. We got a call from the front desk to make sure we were happy with the room. I thought that was a nice touch. The hotel itself is centrally located to alot of things so we were happy. We visited the Daytona Lagoon and my son had a blast on the go carts.

Beds were comfortable but there was a constant knocking in the bathroom wall. I'm sure it was from the plumbing. It was kind of annoying but again, we know we were staying in a old hotel. I'm not sure if that happens on the other floors or not. Overall, enjoyable stay. If you are looking for everything new and perfect, this is not your hotel. Looking for a reasonable priced hotel with clean rooms and character, then check this place out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macon ga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here New Years Eve weekend. The problem with this hotel is its star rating is misleading. The amenities such as a spa and room service qualifies this hotel for a 3.5 star rating. However the whole place is sooo run down and just has an old smell throughout the property. Because of this the overall impression of this hotel is a 2 star. With this in mind, we were very disappointed expecting a 3.5 star property. The employees were all very nice and housekeeping was efficient. I just could not get passed the overall poor impression of the hotel because it just had this old feeling about it. If it was a 2 star hotel, I would of been Ok. The hotel is on the beach in a great location near the pier which was good. This hotel just needs a total renovation not just some coats of paint here and there, which is what they did. I can not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are just a little more and definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymnasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is not the Ritz Carlton. The hotel was clean enough, the staff was nice enough, and the room was only $109.00 a night. I'd stay away from the breakfast buffet, the food was pretty gross and I really don't get the "resort" fee. We were there on New Year's Eve and were lucky to find a parking space.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxrestguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Room: freshly renovated but still a bit dated and worn. Bathroom is tiny. Window sill was disgusting; bugs, dirt, bug feces, and who knows what were all over it. Hadn't been cleaned in far too long. Called housekeeping and was told they had no vacuum to clean it up. Wen we came back from dinner, it had been cleaned. The TV channel selection was pretty poor; many channels with no signal; no channel directory; and it took a moment for each selected channel to register. Needs significant improvement.

We went with a "river view" room. What a joke. There is no river to be seen from the rooms on the floor we were on, only shops and parking lots just across the busy and noisy street below. The river might be visible only to rooms on the highest floors. Hotel website representing these rooms really misrepresents this. It was hard to sleep most of the night because of the street noise.

The restaurants were quite mediocre. We ate at Magnolias and wished we had followed our instincts to eat somewhere else. It was our waitress' first time on the dinner shift and had no clue as to what a dinner service was all about. She had obviously received no training. We were in the restaurant some 90 minutes; pretty long considering there were two waitresses and only two tables being served. We learned later that our waitress was having to watch the front and take care of to-go orders as well--explaining why we saw so little of her (we also had to get our own water refills several times). Not sure why the other waitress couldn't have helped a bit to ensure we had a better experience. The food tasted okay, but mine was over-cooked and dry; my wife's entree was cold and needed to be sent back to be reheated. We had early drinks at The Veranda; both were wrong. Don't give either a thought--go directly to somewhere else in the area. There appears to be several descent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrRoady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
2.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#29 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort & Spa

Property: Plaza Resort & Spa
Address: 600 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plaza Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching across the Seabreeze Avenue beach approach, the historic Plaza Resort & Spa has been entertaining guests for over a century. Discover the grand tradition of hospitality and service at this sparkling Daytona Beach hotel. Stretch out in our elegant, spacious accommodations and enjoy stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean. Experience true relaxation at our very own Ocean Waters Spa, the only full-service European-style spa in Central Florida. Transform your typical seaside getaway into one where you discover what affordable luxury is all about at this historic Daytona Beach Florida hotel, where extraordinary comfort begins with a premier setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Resort And Spa
Plaza Hotel Daytona Beach
Plaza Resort Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing