We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perry's Ocean Edge Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Perry's Ocean Edge Resort
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Riverview, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came to town to visit my wifes family and called the hotel for rates. We were surprised that the rates were very reasonable for being a weekend. We got a room with 2 beds that was waterfront for $100. We thought that was a good price and we got to walk on the beach. They doing renovations on the place to get updated. When we got there on a Saturday the tiki bar was closed. But we went next door and got a drink. Alot of places within walking distance to include a grocery store where you can buy food and cook in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    319
    109
    47
    49
See reviews for
527
225
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was an okay property - nothing special - nothing overly upsetting happened to us - but we will not be returning. We go to Daytona Beach every year for the Rolex 24. Our usual property was unavailable and we decided to try somewhere new. Here are my thoughts on Perry's:

Pros

* Large, spacious room which was clean
* We had an oceanfront room - really nice view off the balcony of beach and pool
* I liked that there was a separate eat-in kitchen with 2 big windows (would have been nice if they could be opened), full size fridge, stove with oven, micro, toaster, coffee maker, and a good selection of dinnerware, flatware, kitchen utensils, and some pots and pans.
* I like to cook breakfast, and make food for the races. There is a Winn Dixie right across the street.
* Nice big flatscreen TV
* Fantastic water pressure in the shower

Cons

* Old, dated property. Even tho it's been renovated, it still shows its age
* I'm accustomed to an "across the door" dead bolt inside the room to prevent housekeeping from entering when we are still in the room. There was none. There was a dead bolt of sorts, but not a very secure feeling when sleeping, etc.
* Not enough parking spaces, and the parking lot is small and tight - not very easy to maneuver around. One night the office told us to park across the street along the side of a building, and just put our parking decal on the dash. Well when you have to cross 4 lanes of traffic to go back and forth with bags, groceries, etc., it becomes less than pleasing and sometimes dangerous
* We did encounter a drunk crying woman, smoking, crouching and cussing at the elevator one night
* The bathroom was extremely small. Only 1 person could fit in it at a time, and actually felt like the size of those public bathrooms where you had to step in, and shift around so you could close the door. Every time you came in or out, the door would crush and move the little towel rug on the floor. Once I decided to just pee with the door open and as soon as I sat down on the toilet, the door handle banged me in the shoulder......that's how small this bathroom was.
* The coffee maker did not work, and in all fairness I did not call them to report it and get a replacement - I just boiled water on the stovetop in a saucepan. I take my own instant coffee so that was fine.
* They provided 3 pans - a soup pot, and 2 different saucepans...........NO frying pan. This made cooking bacon, eggs, italian sausages very challenging. Again, in all fairness I did not call to ask about a frying pan, and on check out we learned that they do NOT provided frying pans anyway.
* The free WiFi did not work for the 3 days that we were there.

I cannot comment on the outdoor pools, indoor heated pool, tiki bar, gift shop, or any other part of the property - I did not utilize them.

Also, upon checkout, we did air our feedback on the WiFi, the frying pan, and the coffee maker. They gave us a $20 per night plus tax refund on our bill..............thankful for that!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Yardie-in-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I checked in Friday January 25th after booking this 3 star???? Property on Hotwire. I walked out 45 minutes later willing to forfeit my money just to go somewhere else (we moved our 2 rooms next door to the Best Western and LOVED it!!) Let's see I will start with the fact that I emailed them to let them know that my husband is wheelchair bound do to leg amputation and that we would need a handicap room. They responded and said they could not guarantee but would try accommodate.... What they did not tell me was that NO ROOM IS EASY TO GET TO when you are in a wheelchair. We were traveling with our 4 month old daughter and I had to push a 300lb man in a wheelchair up steep ramps with her in a carrier. Then we get to the room (as we were walking around the pool area to out room we noticed that one of the rooms is decorated like someone’s home.... people live there????) and room 1 (#26) is DIRTY and looks like it dates back to the 70's. Room 2 (27) has a hole in the ceiling from which a piece of paper is popping in and out of the room..... Needless to say we grabbed the laptop and quickly found somewhere else to spend out 3 nights.

Room Tip: STAY AWAY from the CHEAP ROOMS in this place. The pics on the web are real and there is a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmmoreland2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Perry's last summer for 5 days. Although some parts have an expired look, you have to look through it. The hotel has recently changed management and is visible busy with renovations and improvements. Rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel has 2 swimmingpools and a small pool for children. More play areas for small children would be an added value for a family hotel as this. Although no breakfast is served you can get free donuts and coffee every morning. A better and healthier alternative is to pick up breakfast at the nearby Publix supermarket. The location of the hotel on the beach, the very friendly staff and good price / quality ratio make this hotel a must for young families.

Room Tip: ask for a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRobert78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed here before and had a great time. It was beautiful.

But this time the room I booked wasn't available when I got into town. I booked a certain room a month in advance. Paid for it in full and called in the morning to confirm my reservation. At check in, two very under-trained (I'm being nice here) Perry employees had no good reason why my room wasn't available. All they told me was "...your room wasn't cleaned today so we can't sell it to you" . The also said the cleaning lady had left for the day and the Manager was unavailable for the weekend. Leaving my BF and I stranded.

They did offer a downgrade and a discount - but If we wanted a regular room we could of stayed anywhere! Besides it was a special occasion! That's why we booked the room in advance!.

Furthermore, they made NO effort to find out WHY or HOW this problem occurred and one of them BLEW UP the bathroom in the LOBBY so bad, I was suffocating while negotiating with them. I was so pissed. and SO disgusted. Never again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Okay, got to get the negatives out of the way. Perry's is an older resort and they are remodeling. The fitness center is old and outdated. Having said that, you will not be disappointed. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. Bath and Body Works bath products and plush towels are in bathroom. Beds were comfy. Our room had a refrigerator and stove top. The indoor pool was perfect for adults and children. Friendly staff as well. Don't skip the homemade donuts...OMG!!! They were delicious, however, if you want more, there was a restaurant on site and an IHOP across the street. Beautiful oceanfront location makes this place perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the indoor pool section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyLeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived after 8 PM and parking was difficult as the facility was having carpet replaced and lots of renovating going on. Our room was very large, we were upgraded to a room with a full kitchen and the facility was clean despite renovations. Staff was friendly, free donuts in the morning, three pools......we had a wonderful time and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#12 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#19 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perry's Ocean Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perry's Ocean Edge Resort

Property: Perry's Ocean Edge Resort
Address: 2209 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5398
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Perry's Ocean Edge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Daytona Beach hotel with over 1000 ft. of landscaped ocean frontage, two outdoor pools, indoor heated pool & hot tub in a 10,000 square ft. atrium, activities program, outdoor tiki bar, restaurant open for Breakfast & Lunch, free homemade donuts and much more. Located 2.5 miles south of the Convention Center & Pier. Over 75 years of Hospitality Tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Vacatia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Perry's Ocean Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perry`s Ocean Edge Hotel Daytona Beach
Perrys Ocean Edge Hotel
Perrys Daytona
Perrys Ocean Edge Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing