We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice location, a bit of a time capsule” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daytona Beach Regency

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daytona Beach Regency
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice location, a bit of a time capsule”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My family and I recently vacationed at this property. The location is pretty nice, by Daytona Beach standards. It's within a spitting distance of a few chain restaurants (Bubba Gump, Joe's Crabshack, etc.) and is right on the beach.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. I think the company is putting an emphasis on customer service, and they might as well, given that the property itself is not very appealing.

From the outside, it looks more modern than it really is. The building, I think, was renovated somewhat recently and there are no obvious signs of wear and tear. The parking garage is secure and convenient (and free to use if you stay at the hotel).

On the inside, the age of the building becomes more obvious. The ceilings are low and the rooms feel dated. The large LCD TVs feel out of place in the company of old-looking couches and easy chairs. But the rooms are clean and everything seems to be in pretty good working order.

It was nice to have a kitchen, with a full fridge, microwave and stove. Curiously, the pot from the coffee maker was missing, but because we had two rooms (combined), we used the other room's coffee machine. A kettle was delivered to the room on request, and was brand new.

Unfortunately, even though we asked for a room with an ocean view, we were given one that looked at the Wyndham next door, right at their garbage/recycling facility. This was most unfortunate, since the staff of that hotel sorted the refuse late in the evenings, and the noise was definitely unwelcome. I'm not sure what the hotel management considers to be water views, but if our room was an indication, it's that if you step out on the balcony and look hard to the left, you'll get a glimpse of the ocean. The way the hotel is built makes me think that the majority of the rooms fall into this category (the ocean-facing bit is the narrowest part with the fewest rooms...go figure).

There are some facilities, like a tiny little gym, an events room (with an unstaffed bar and some tables and TVs), a children's play room and an outdoor swimming pool. I wouldn't really call any of these amenities good, as they were quite spartan. The pool is, perhaps, the most interesting of the bunch, but is small and, I assume, packed during busier periods.

There is an entrance to the beach from the pool area and the beach is quite phenomenal. We were there in December, but the relatively warm weather allowed for some nice long walks along the water. Not a specific hotel amenity, as all the beach-front hotels have it, but still nice.

So, in short, while I wasn't blown away by this hotel, it was nice enough and the staff was great. And at under $150/night for a 2 bedroom setup, the price was definitely right.

Room Tip: When asking for an ocean-front view, make sure you specify that you want a room that doesn't req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gosha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    144
    45
    21
    27
See reviews for
162
121
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
879 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Daytona Beach Regency for two nights on our way home from Key West. Our room was on the eighth floor on the side away from the Wyndham. That was a good location, as we had a beach view due to the fact that there was a vacant lot next door. However, there was a sold sign on the lot, so construction next door might mean a noisy stay in the future. It is also close to the boardwalk and a very nice movie theatre.
There was a nice pool and hot tub, as well as a good beach property. We did not use either, primarily because of cool weather and other priorities. Otherwise the amenities were sparse. We typically stay in larger (newer) resorts, so may be spoiled by this. While we were there for two nights, we were only there for one day and it was Christmas Day. We did not expect any programs or events and were not surprised. However, the staff on duty was very friendly and seemed competent and helpful.
Our room was missing a toaster but one was delivered promptly on request. The bed was clean and comfortable and the room was fine. The bathroom was fine for a hotel but not up to the standards we usually find in a resort.
If space were available, we would probably choose to stay at the Wyndham next door (we did try to book it but it was full by the time we booked for this last-minute trip). It seems to be a larger, newer resort with a lot more facilities. However, if the Wyndham were not available, we would not hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: Ask about construction next door and book on other side if construction has started.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chagrin falls
Level Contributor
255 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I would generally give this property good reviews; however do not accept rm 203! I used frequent flier miles to purchase a 2 bdrm suite (which usually means you get worst rm in house - which we did). Suite was very spacious - 2 bedroom/2 bath. Recent renovations apparent including fresh paint and new carpet in halls. Also appliances in kitchen looked new. However, we had worst view ever. Rm 203 is directly above lobby - so no balcony or view because the windows are taken up by the lobby's roof. Felt like we were in a basement. We didn't ask to switch rms because only staying one nt & everyone exhausted. Despite that, nice property - within walking distance to boardwalk and right on beach. Pool area was welcoming and pool was warm - even though 50 outside. Hot tub was not working. Inside pool was freezing. Hotel supplies pool towels and selection of starter kirchen items (coffee, tea, paper towels, dish soap) and for bath too. Hotel needs to clean out vent system. My husbands allergies were in overdrive - thought it was dusty vents. Parking complimentary - inside & out. Calendar looked like it had some fun events - movie nt by pool and spa day. Just make sure you carefully select your rm.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The resort is a pleasant building with some signs of wear on the furniture and in the flooring. We stayed on the sixth floor and had the same experience as some others that visited in late 2012. The building is long rather than wide so there are few suites on the ocean - most have a "glimpse" of the ocean off the side balcony - this was the case for us. the long side facing south butts up against the Wyndam and their trash recepticle is on the street just below the Regency. Every load of trash down their 20 story trash chute can be heard in the rooms across the way. Like I said, bad neighbor, but little that Diamond International can do about it, though they should try and work something out.

The hotel is one hour from St. Augustine, and that was one of the focal points of our visit. It was a great ride up the coast and the city of St. Augustine is incredible, full of charm, history and photo ops. We enjoyed climbing the St. Augustine Lighthouse as well as touring the Castillo de San Marcos there. We ate in several of the restaurants (Sara's Crepes and the Irish Pub across from the Fort) and enjoyed the food and the outdoor dining, even in December. We also visited Ponce Inlet, FL just 20 minutes south of the Regency. There, we visited and one of us climbed the beautiful lighthouse there too. That same day we made our way back onto the mainland and down to New Smyrna and over to the beach there to visit the Canaveral National Seashore. That was a good time as well. We visited the Eldora Historical Site and once again took many pictures. Tot he south using a very powerful camera lens I managed several pictures that included Canaveral's Shuttle Assembly Building on the horizon. The Regency was a good location for these visits.

The Regency is also located two blocks from the "Boardwalk" area of Daytona Beach - the kids were having a lot of fun there and Joe's Crab Shack on the Daytona Beach Pier was a very active place.

As to the amenities things were just so so. The internet connection in the room was terrible. Being an active photographer who relies on access to the internet meant I was frustrated except at 4:30 in the morning (as is the hour at this moment) when there are few folks connected. But, when 9 a.m. arrives and folks are on the stir the connection will become overwhelmed. Also, when one in the afternoonarrives folks are out and about and the internet gets a littl ebetter. But come the dinner hour and the rest of the evening and night, the internet is useless. Our concierge suggested we come to the hotel lobby where the connection is better - I told him to fix the room connection as I didn't come to spend my creative time in a hotel lobby!

Would I return to this property? Probably not, but if there was nothing going on anywhere else in Florida, I might.

By the way the trip was my wife and I here for Christmas and a lot of photo shoots (both of us are photo nuts). Typically we are Marriott Vacation CLub travelers, this is no Marriott, maybe 65-70% of a Marriott Club.

Room Tip: If you are not in one of the beach side rooms your accommodations are routine at best. There are ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danm357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Spent a week in early December . Was greeted by friendly staff. Jonathan was professional and attentive. Enjoyed the beach, pool, and location . Some of the room was dated balcony very old and tired. Loved the beach view.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relationships
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The rooms were large and wonderful. Great location, super close to the boardwalk and right next to the interstate. They have a great pool with a sliding board and the hot tub was always 104 degrees. The entertainment staff (Andrew) was awesome and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrie1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Well, I expected a lot better, considering other Diamond Resort properties I've used. The rooms were visually OK, but the maintenance of the property left a lot to be desired. May have just been my bad luck, but the carpet in my unit was flooded by the laundry room next door, and the maintenance staff didn't take it too seriously. By the 3rd day, the room smelled of mildew and they finally moved me. The new room, on the 5th floor on the south side had no view but the Wyndham parking lot next door. Plus, every time someone threw a bag of trash -- and beer bottles -- into the trash chute, you could here it crash loudly into the dumpster below, day and night. The original room, on the 2nd floor, faced north, with a nice view of the beach, BUT the music blaring in the parking lot below kept us up until we complained again and again two nights in a row. We stayed here in mid-December, and the nearby streets and beaches seemed filled with panhandlers, drinkers, and "ladies of the night" instead of happy tourists. We've been in Daytona Beach during the summer, and it was somewhat family oriented, but NOT during this early winter week. No wonder they have security staff walking the grounds and hallways! Well, maybe I'll give it another try, but will certainly avoid the winter, the south side of the building, and the lower floors. BTW, the staff was not all that attentive. Not sure what's going on there, but they need some help being more friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. Disinterested at best, gruff at worst, and not all that well informed. As a contrast, we visited with some friends who were staying at the Daytona Shores Resort and Spa, and they had a MUCH nicer experience at the same price.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the north side. Nicer view, and less street and parking lot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAceBuyer_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#34 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#18 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
0.4 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabree...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Beach Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Regency

Property: Daytona Beach Regency
Address: 400 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3925
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Daytona Beach Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Regency Hotel Daytona Beach
Regency Daytona Beach
Sunterra Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing