We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shores Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Shores Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our room was not as expected, we had booked a ocean view but what we got was overlooking the hotels ventilation and air conditioner units, the ocean was hard to see!! If we had stayed another night I would have asked to move!! The breakfast buffet was excellent, expensive, but reall great selection, We will go back, but will check the room before we unpack!! The rooms really need new carpet!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you request an ocean view room on north side of building, or upgrade to ocean front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlingto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    292
    136
    81
    54
See reviews for
366
461
40
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FLorida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in November. The room was beautiful and comfortable. The patio area was well designed, right on the beach.
The food was very expensive in the lounge, room service and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

If I could give this place a ZERO I would.

We booked this hotel a month in advance online and also called to say to say we would be a late arrival but would definitely be coming, and confirmed our oceanfront room during the phone call...... only to find out when we arrived, and were checked into a room that overlooked the parking lot (and was right next to the elevator where you could hear every sound from the lobby), that our original oceanfront room had apparently been given to someone else and no other rooms were available.

When we went back to the reception desk to find out what was going on and after 10 minutes of looking at their computer and trying to think up an excuse (knowing they had already given our room away) we got an "I am sorry, but we are full and there is nothing we can do tonight" from the them. Management wasn't even on the property on a busy holiday evening so we were told that we needed to call on a later date to voice our complaint. Seriously?

We specifically chose this hotel because it had an excellent rating, was a four star hotel and spa, had a "fine dining" restaurant on the property and had ocean FRONT rooms.

We also had to cancel our dinner reservation at Azure because we did not want to eat and drink and then drive to another hotel afterwards (if we could even find a room at a comparable hotel at that late hour) or drive home (which was over an hour away).

Thank you for ruining our holiday. You lost a customer. We had planned on spending a considerable amount of money at your hotel, in the restaurant and spa. We didn't have to come to your hotel. We chose to.... but we won't EVER come back.

We spent another hour trying to find a place to stay and ended up in a MOTEL on the south end of AIA. We then ate at a the only other restaurant we could find that was still open at 10:30 at night .... and they were closing in 30 minutes..... so we had to rush through dinner, because they refused to stay open one minute longer than closing time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingGirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We drove up from Orlando to spend our anniversary. Everything was fantastic and the view was unbelievable. Not sure how they dialed up a full moon but that made it even better. This place is top notch and all the associates were friendly and accommodating. Well done Shores!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed a month at Shores Resort & Spa, and I was surprised by the inconsistency of service, quality of food, and rooms, especially for a AAA Four Star rated hotel. One of the things I expect when I stay at a 4 star property is consistently high quality, and that was not the case at the Shores Resort. Overall room service food was good, but out of over a dozen orders, they never brought the requested condiments. In the room, the TV was an antique relic ... it was a flat screen, but took over 30 minutes to "warm up" so you could actually see the video ... you could hear the audio, but it was just gray, then gray pixels, and finally a picture would start to come in, and even when it was at it's best, there were still pixels on the screen. When you are trapped in your room with stormy weather, which we experienced for over 20 of the 30 days we spent at The Shores, being able to watch TV or access the internet are essential, and with the poor quality of the TV and the worst internet access I have experienced since dial up modems, I was extremely disappointed. One email I tried to send, which was text only and only 12 words, took over 5 minutes to go out! The internet routinely just quit, and it would take up to 45 minutes to get it working again ... I was on a first name basis with Ethostream, the hotel's internet provider! Since I had to work while we were staying at the Shores, this was a disaster for me, including having the internet quit in the middle of a Board Call. The rooms are comfortable but dated, but if you have to access the internet on your stay, I would go somewhere else!! The other strange thing was how they did the shower in the bathroom of my room ... it was built in the space where a tub would normally fit, so approximately 60" x 28" and they didn't include a door, and the shower head was above you (think rain coming down on your head), so very difficult to rinse all body parts, and you had to stay in the little 30" x 28" space that was enclosed so you didn't completely fill the bathroom floor with water spacing out of the shower!
The hotel charged a $15 per day "resort fee" which was primarily for the internet that didn't work.
While I enjoyed the view of the Atlantic Ocean from my balcony, overall I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We originally went here for a conference and had discounted rates for that. When we arrived Elyse , at the front desk, found out it was the start of our honeymoon. She upgraded us to a honeymoon suite. Our room was beautiful, ocean front with a beautiful balcony , four poster bed, very, very clean, and so nice we decided to extend our stay. The in room massage, room service at 2 am, the restaurant and bar downstairs, the pool, hot tub all exceeded our expectations. The service, from the front desk to the bar, room service to valet parking was excellent. When we went downstairs for lunch we notified the front desk and our room was cleaned while we were gone.The staff even took pictures of us without asking them too! The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas. Upon checkout, the valet service provided us each with a bottle of cold water and a handmade rose. We even got a bag of "s'mores by the shore", to make over the fire pits on the pool deck area at check in. . Fortunately The Shores is close enough for us to go to for a weekend getaway and we will definately take advantage of that. My only regret is that I don't have the names of each staff member to list them here. It doesn't matter though, they were all excellent. There was absolutely no reason to leave the hotel! It was to cold for the beach but we couldn't resist a walk on it anyway! A big thank you to everyone there!

Room Tip: Our room had one entrance with 2 rooms inside it that both locked. It is ideal for a family so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went to the Shores Christmas Day Brunch on the rooftop. The food was excellent, our servers Kelly & Sally were wonderful, and watching the waves reaching the shoreline made the experience even better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
6.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#16 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#8 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Resort & Spa

Property: The Shores Resort & Spa
Address: 2637 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5699 (Formerly Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#21 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shores Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Resort & Spa is a luxury boutique resort located on a quiet stretch of beautiful beachfront property in the town of Daytona Beach Shores, Florida. A short five minute drive from Downtown Daytona Beach, The Shores Resort & Spa is the only AAA Four-Diamond luxury beachfront hotel in Central Florida. Our amenities include waterfront rooms with balconies, oceanfront dining, full service spa, spacious sundeck with swimming pool, oceanfront firepits, Tiki Bar, jacuzzi, private beachfront cabanas, and much, much more. The only way to experience the luxury is to visit The Shores Resort & Spa today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Shores Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shores Resort Daytona Beach
Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing