We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I Expected!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceanside Inn
Ranked #76 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what I Expected!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed there this past July 2012 with my family for 3 nights.A timeshare company offered me to stay there, to try it, not for free,not even cheap,but i took it thinking that they will treat me as a guest and show me the best of their company`s hotel and ammenities.Saddly,I found that this wasn`t what i expected.It`s an old hotel with old appearance from the interior of the room to the outside.Surely was better than Calypso Cay room ,but not what i expected.I don`t like timeshare people that offer you something,make you stay in an old hotel and then try to show you other great resort thinking that you are dumb and you will buy their stuff,please!.People deserve respect.Don`t try to sell using those tricks,shame on you!. The continental breakfast is so bad that not even my dog can eat it,please!The only good thing about this old hotel is the closeness to the Daytona beach- it is behind the hotel.An old hotel means old carpets,bad odors,stains,rust and all the bad things that all old hotels have.If you just like to be close to the beach,then this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    142
    135
    107
    138
See reviews for
229
169
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Overall this place was pretty nice! The only experience we had was the Air Conditioner but that was our fault. The chair was in the way. Then we moved it and then it turned out pretty cool in the room! This place gets real busy but that's a hotel for you. Especially in Daytona Beach, Florida. The staff was nice. They talked to you. It was a pretty good place to stay. This is our 2nd year of staying at this hotel and we will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toyotaworkaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

After reading reviews i almost cancelled my booking.. So glad i didn't! Friendly staff. Our room was big, clean and some oceanview! We didn't have big towels in our room, went down to the front desk, they fixed it right away. There's a kitchen as well in the room so you can make ur own food. I'd stay here again! (We had room 910, top floor)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susann86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We checked in and when we got in the hall way from the elevator is smelled. The room was not much better. The tub was dirty and the bathroom needed to be painted. The room needs to be cleaned out then painted and carpet replaced replaced the furniture with new stuff. However when you leave the property and go to the beach and face the ocean with your back to the hotel, it's a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hello1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Troy, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you're looking for inexpensive accommodation and not fussy about decor then this place is okay. Its clean but very outdated.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Expat2005SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 5 days, on the second day we found a roach in our room. We complained to management, nothing was done. We were told it was an isolated incident, so imagine my surprise 2 days later when i found another one 3 times the size of the first one. Our room always smelled moldy/stale. The air conditioner sounded like a jet taking off when it kicked on and kept waking us up. The clerk that checked us in was really rude, and almost every time i went to the front desk she was there still rude as ever. We also had to pay a resort fee, and this hotel so didn't warrant paying an extra fee for anything. I was very disappointed with our stay. We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank campbellhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Upon arrival on Sunday we checked into Room 613(I believe) and with tropical storm "Debby" approaching we were understandable to "some rain" coming through the window area. However, the windows continued to leak and we were then asked if we would like to "move rooms." Which, having our 9 month old son(who was born prematurely and still currently under the care of 5 specialists)opted to change rooms to room 306. "Arnie" was very accomidating and deserves another heartfelt handshake from myself and my other half. And he is by far one of your better employees. I couldn't thank him enough for his assistance not just with the moving of the rooms yet even later that afternoon and then even the following day!
"Trista"(front desk) on the other hand...was very short and curt...down right rude and not easy to speak with and also VERY unaccomidating.
Glenda is by far the most considerate and compassionate and polite person up there. Glenda also deserves a KUDO's!
So, after we move the room and I get everything all set up, we continued to try and enjoy our stay by using your outside facilities. We had a bbq and swam a bit. Even got into the ocean. It was later that evening as my other half (does NOT sleep under the covers....)that I discovered that there was dried BLOOD on the BOTTOM SHEETS!!!!! It was past 11pm and our 9 month old was sleeping for the evening so we figured we'd alert the front desk the next morning.
We enjoyed breakfast then asked for a little "later" check out as it was getting near our sons nap time. The front desk agreed and said "okay". So we proceeded up to the room, to pack our items and put our son to sleep for his morning nap. We also put the "do NOT disturb sign" in the little lock area of the door and thought we would relax a bit until our son woke up and it was time to leave. No sooner was our son asleep for about 20 minutes when the housekeeper KNOCKS on the door and wakes UP our son!!!! I ask..."Why would you knock on the door if the "do not disturb" sign is in place?" Her answer was "sometimes people leave them inside the door" I then asked "well, then...don't YOU communicate with the FRONT desk regarding the LATE checkouts?" Her reponse was "well....ummmm..." and at that point...she apologized however, she had already woken our son!
In light of this, we went DOWN to the front desk AGAIN and see Glenda who was already aware of the situation and what happened. She said they spoke with the housekeeper and it was being properly handled.
So, between moving our rooms, blood stained sheets, rain water coming in the windows,cracked ceilings and mold smells and poor communication...well, lets say that there are other hotels on A1A we will try...

Room Tip: Tiki Bar and the Inside resturant are operated by the SAME company. They are not always open! We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTKLB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#26 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Emerald Shores Hotel
Emerald Shores Hotel
#45 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hawaiian Inn
Hawaiian Inn
#64 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Inn

Property: Oceanside Inn
Address: 1909 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5005
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanside Inn is a carefree beachfront getaway on the quieter side of the World Famous Daytona Beach; featuring 165 guest rooms, beachfront swimming pool, kids pool, tiki bar, lite continental breakfast, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Hotel Daytona Beach
Oceanside Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing