We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It worth to try” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaiian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawaiian Inn
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It worth to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our first time coming to this hotel. We checked in really late and we got a room on the 2nd floor. The room was in really bad shape, we couldn't even lock the front door. We were too tired to complain that night so we decided to wait until the morning.
We went down to talk to the front desk the next morning and we told Bea that we'll leave if they not going to move us to a different room. She apologized and she immediately handed us a key to a different room. She reassured us that we will like the room and we can switch to that room right away. We were skeptical but we were willing to give it a try.
So we went up to the 5th floor and we fell in love with the room right away. The room was absolutely beautiful, it had really nice furniture and a great view.
We quickly packed our stuff and moved so we could finally start our one week vacation. Bea even gave us a discount for all our troubles.
I would definitely stay here again if I could get the same room or a similar one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry for the hiccup you encountered on your first night, but are glad that Bea was able to help, and that you enjoyed your week long stay with us. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Daytona Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    317
    225
    172
    299
See reviews for
547
360
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Francisco Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The last three years the wife and I have spent Christmas in Florida and really enjoyed our trip every time. However this year our stay at Hawaiian Inn was not what we have come to expect. We stay in Daytona and end up spending a lot of time in St. Augustine but in the past we just couldn't pass up the great price we got on a really nice room at the Hawaiian Inn. This year we didn't get the room we have the two prior years. The rooms we got this year need a little work. Some rooms are privately owned and some I believe are owned by the hotel so im not sure who needs to read this review but rooms 402 and 108 desperately need to invest in new couches. Have you ever tried to stay for a week in a place lacking a comfortable place to sit down? The first room had a very uncomfortable ripped leather futon like couch. The second room had an old broken down $90 futon from WalMart. We are trying to decide if we will ever stay at the Hawaiian Inn again and right now im just not sure, like I said the price is great and in 2011 and 2012 I couldn't be happier but this year was a little different story. If you own a nice room at this place and would like to rent it for a week next Christmas contact me cause im just not sure I want to roll the dice and take a chance again in 2014. The property is great being right on the beach with indoor and outdoor pools and a tiki bar. Staff is friendly for the most part.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vklloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your most recent stay. However we appreciate your feedback and will relay your comments to our management team. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again next year so that we can make it up to you. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel was in a fantastic location but the rooms were very sg
Ha by and old and not clean, it was expensive. The bar staff were very helpful and friendly, reception staff could do with a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and insights, and will relay your feedback to our management team for review. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Ocala, Fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This review is for the hotel and room 140 specifically. It was our 33 wedding anniversary, so I asked for an early check-in, which they granted (1:00 pm instead of 4:00 pm). The room we got had nothing going for it. This is a list of things that were wrong with room 140: the heater in the living room did not work (and it was needed the first day) and after complaining the next morning, they had to change out the entire unit-light bulb was out in the refrigerator-light bulb was out in the single living room lamp-light bulb was out in the single bedroom lamp-light over kitchen sink did not work-limited overhead lighting-no spare toilet paper and only 1/2 of a roll in bathroom-no ice bucket-no dish towels-no dish soap-no couch (only a futon) that did not stay upright, so we used two of the lawn chairs as our living room furniture-the sliding glass doors were so heavy and hard to close (you had to slam to get it to latch)-the carpet in the halls and lobby were stained-their brochure said there was a TV guide near the TV and it was missing-the room smelled bad-no coffee filters supplied (what a mess that made)-the pool towels were smaller than the bathroom towels-the heated "indoor" pool was a nice temp but had stained sides and cracked tiles. By our last day there we had most of the small details worked out and Amy kept the room stocked after the complaints were made, but this place is not worth all the trouble. Not the anniversary vacation we were expecting!

Room Tip: I hear from maintenance that the following rooms are the best rooms there: 310, 521, 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments, and cograulations on your 33rd wedding anniversary. We are so sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit. However, your feedback is very important to us and will be relayed to our management team for improvements. We hope that you might consider giving us another opportunity to show you better hospitality in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first time using the Hawaiian Inn which we selected online and booked sight unseen. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely, the view awesome and the staff were very warm and friendly. All of this made for a very relaxing weekend. I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for this review! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you enjoyed your room and our fantastic views. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My family have holidayed in the Daytona Beach area since the early 80's and we have stayed at the Hawaiian Inn since the early 90's. This is the first time I have been back since 2008 and there seems to have been a few changes. On the plus side the one thing you can't change is the location and this hotel is right on the beach with stunning views of the Atlantic. On the downside the hotel is looking a little tired and could do with a bit of TLC.I appreciate the accommodation offers value for money compared to some of the other hotels and I guess you normally only get what you pay for. In previous years we have always had an Ocean view because we have often stayed for a week but as this was only one night the room was overlooking a car park which is never going to have the desired effect. The week we were there was the annual bikefest event with bikers from across America converging for a week. The noise from the Harleys during the early hours meant it was a little difficult to get to sleep but we would have had the same problem with any of the hotels on the strip. It's sometimes a problem retracing old footsteps as there's a tendency to compare previous experiences and this was no exception. Although I would never have given this hotel a 10/10 it would have rated a good 6 for the location and value in 2008. I would now only rate this between 4 and 5.

Room Tip: You need to get an Ocean View to do this hotel justice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barton-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for this review. We’re delighted that you have been visiting Daytona Beach for so many years! We’re sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent stay, but we appreciate your feedback, and will certainly relay your comments to management. We hope that you might consider staying with us again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

After driving for 20+ hours we arrived at the Hawaiian Inn at 11:00 am on check in day. We knew it was too early to check in but we were so excited to be there we couldn't wait to go to the front desk. I walked up to the desk and said "Hi. We are finally here after a very long drive from Ontario, and I know we are early" The clerks response was snarky and not at all friendly "I guess you are early...your room won't be ready until 4:00". I asked if we could park our vehicle and use the pool. She did say yes that would be fine.

After checking in there were a few things that I brought to the front desk's attention and the man's response was always the same "I will let them know". Finally after the third trip to the bathroom with no toilet paper he told me I could go ask housekeeping myself, so I did.

When we broke a glass in our room and asked for a broom he said we would have to wait until housekeeping arrived. An hour later he sent someone up after we used papertowel to clean it up (we had young kids and couldn't leave it).

There were broken beer bottles on the mini putt and my son cut his foot, again he didn't seem to care and just said "I will let them know".

The room was nice, the price was right, the view spectacular, the location perfect, the pool and amenities awesome,the customer service downright unacceptable. We would love to return, but will look for a place where we will be welcomed when we arrive. All I ask when I am on vacation is for friendly staff that are helpful and make us feel like we are wanted. It sucks being super excited to go somewhere, to be made to feel as though we are a bother.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for this detailed review. We are so sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, and we will be sure to pass your comments on to our management team. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again so that we can show you better hospitality next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#77 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#8 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emerald Shores Hotel
Emerald Shores Hotel
#46 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Inn

Property: Hawaiian Inn
Address: 2301 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawaiian Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Say "Aloha" to this family friendly resort located on the "World's Most Famous Beach"! Perfect accommodations include executive guest rooms or one and two bedroom suites most with balconies overlooking the ocean. Enjoy the island atmosphere as you stroll along the miles of white sand beach. Amenities include Olympic sized pool next to the Tiki Bar & Grill, heated indoor pool, 9 hole mini golf course, shuffleboard, and much more. Nighttime brings the renowned Polynesian themed Luau Dinner Show!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaiian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Hotel Daytona Beach
Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach
Hawaiian Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing