We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool and Tiki Bar are the only redeeming qualities.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaiian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawaiian Inn
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Cudjoe Key, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pool and Tiki Bar are the only redeeming qualities.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good points: View from balcony was perfect. Pool was very nice and Tiki Bar was convenient and had good food. Location was good.
Bad points: Hallways stunk. Room was not what we were told we were going to get. We reserved a king suite with full kitchen/couch/etc. We got a standard hotel room with two queens and a small kitchenette that was completely unequipped to do anything. Not a single paper towel, coffee filter or soap to watch what minimal dishes we were provided. The fridge also ran intermittently throughout the night and was so loud it woke us from our sleep more than once. The towels were paper thin and scratchy to the touch. It was impossible to shower b/c the water went from scalding hot to iceberg cold about seven times during one shower without any warning. Also, we are in Florida can you put some REAL plants around the jacuzzi and not fake dusty crap. Disappointing for sure.

Room Tip: We were told they are all individually owned so finding one that suits your needs it a crapshoot sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kw0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations and will certainly relay your comments to management for improvement. However, we are glad that you enjoyed the view from your room and our tiki bar. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    317
    225
    172
    299
See reviews for
547
360
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

our experience was absolutely horrible. we go there every year atleast twice and stay the weekend for the both or our birthdays. we always get the king suite ocean front. first of all the lady named brenda who I made the reservations with was in a very bad mood and ended up giving us a king studio when I asked for the king suite. throughout our telephone conversation I kept asking her are you sure my total amount I just paid for is the king suite. she insisted soI believed her. once we got to the hotel the front desk was very rude. we got to our room and realized it wasnt what I reserved. I called the fro desk and they said there was nothi they could do for us because they were full. I found out that the guy just didnt want to give us a new room even after I offered to pay more money so we could be more comfortable. the second day we were there I went down to the front desk and tried getting our visitors a wrist band so they could hangout with us. the older beer belly grey haired guy told me we could only have two guests not four. I was furious. they weren't staying the night. they were just visiting us for my birthday. that night the elevator wasnt working and our refrigerator was all rusty. this trip we took ruined our vacation and my birthday. we will never stay at the hawaiin inn again. mostly because the staff was so rude and inconsiderate. I am very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and so sorry that we failed to do so on your most recent visit. However, we appreciate your comments, and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to earn back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

for trips on a budget this is a good value. beautiful ocean view rooms. great pools and deck area. tiki bar. luau show in evenings which are a bit pricey. souvenir shop and cafe. direct access to beach and indoor pool as well. rooms arw spacious ours had a kitchenette. outdated equipment. bathroom terrible watet pressure. tile on floor uneven so table and chairs rock. beds suck no other way to put it. mattresses are so soft you cant get out of the damn bed. need new beds. updated unbroken furniture. not crazy about the wall to wall mirror behind the beds.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We certainly appreciate your comments and feedback. We're glad that you enjoyed our fabulous location, and hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel has a great location right on the ocean. The kids loved the heated indoor pool and the free mini golf right on site. However, our suite (408) was terrible. The carpets had several gross stains and sticky spots. The vents in the bedroom, bathroom, and kitchen were rusty and there was a moldy spot of crumbling drywall behind the toilet near the shower. Housekeeping was not the best. They came everyday and replaced the towels and took the garbage but never vacuumed any further than the front door. We were there for five nights with four young kids and really needed the floor vacuumed around the table where we ate most of our meals. My son found a beer can and ping pong balls under the couch from the previous visitors. We were also only given one bar of soap for the six of us to use for the sink and the shower. It was never even replaced when it was crumbling. They say the kitchens are fully stocked, but we had to buy our own dish soap and cookie sheet to use in the kitchen and had to use the washcloths and towels from the bathroom to do the dishes. One of the convertible sofas was broken and the arm wouldn't stay up. When we were checking out around 5 am, the lady at the front desk was asleep and never even woke up as our family walked out the front door.

We were told by a long term resident of a condo on site that each room is owned by someone different so each and every room is different. The rooms are nothing like what you see on the website. We made the most of our vacation since it was prepaid, but I don't recommend this hotel to anyone and we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear that your children loved our on-site amenities. However, we are sorry that our resort did not meet your expectations. We will be sure to pass along your review as we are always looking to make future improvements. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stay here most of our trips to Daytona. We like the fact that is has an indoor and outdoor pool. We also like that it is located on the part of the beach you can drive on. The pool bar is nice but it does not stay open long enough. We have never done the dinner show so I can't say anything about that. They have been remodeling which it's making it look so much better but there is still some improvements that could be made to the inside of the rooms. In the peek season the pool area can get a little roudy but all and all a pretty good place to stay. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLT5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, once again. We’re glad you could take advantage of our onsite amenities as well as our easy access to the beach. You’ll have to join us for the dinner show next time! You’ll love it. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

After doing a lot of research on hotels in Daytona Beach I decided to book this one. We were skeptical because we read some bad reviews before we left but continued on with an 18 hour drive. Upon arriving at the hotel, were were 4 hours early for check in. They had our room ready within 1/2 hour of arriving. We were so surprised!!! The room was 340...King Bedroom with a separate area and a full kitchen! We can't say enough good things! It's not a 5 star but the service is!!! Any issues that we had were resolved quickly and without incident! We will definitely book this hotel again! The staff is friendly and the hotel is great!

Room Tip: Room 340 was fabulous!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenT761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Easter vacation with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed your room and our accommodating team members. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Out stay at Hawaiian Inn was bittersweet. My husband, sister and brother-in-law and I had gone to Miami Heat game and we bought some souvenirs. When we arrived in Daytona I took the bag of souvenirs in our room for safekeeping. We stayed in room 103. My sister and her husband stayed in 104.

When we checked out, I was packing our things and I noticed my bag of souvenirs was missing. I checked the room thoroughly and my husband checked our vehicle. We never found them. I went to the front desk to report it. They took me in a room to talk to the manager. When I told him what had happened he more or less insisted that we left our door open at some point and tried to make it sound like it was my fault. He told me that if housekeeping thought it was garbage when they cleaned the room and threw the bag away then housekeeping was not guilty of anything. The souvenirs were in a new Miami Heat bag with two basketballs, a t-shirt, and two foam fingers sticking out the top of the bag. The manager said that didn’t matter, they still could have thought it was garbage.

He was very unreasonable and only wanted to resolve the problem by blaming me. He told me I could file a police report. I told him I would like to do so. The police came and he, my husband and I went to our room, room 103. While my husband and I were filling out the report the policeman left the room for about five minutes. When he returned he told us he wanted to check out the surveillance cameras but the motel didn’t have surveillance on rooms 101 through 105. I know I will never get my souvenirs back. Just please, if anyone is considering staying at Hawaiian Inn, don’t stay in room 101-105. If you have anything taken from your room it will definitely be your fault according to the manager.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Hawaiian Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for further review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#77 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#8 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#15 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emerald Shores Hotel
Emerald Shores Hotel
#46 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaiian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaiian Inn

Property: Hawaiian Inn
Address: 2301 South Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hawaiian Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Say "Aloha" to this family friendly resort located on the "World's Most Famous Beach"! Perfect accommodations include executive guest rooms or one and two bedroom suites most with balconies overlooking the ocean. Enjoy the island atmosphere as you stroll along the miles of white sand beach. Amenities include Olympic sized pool next to the Tiki Bar & Grill, heated indoor pool, 9 hole mini golf course, shuffleboard, and much more. Nighttime brings the renowned Polynesian themed Luau Dinner Show!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawaiian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawaiian Hotel Daytona Beach
Hawaiian Inn Daytona Beach
Hawaiian Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing