We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Playa Resorts & Suites
Ranked #78 of 98 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel back in 2011. Not much has changed and I was aware of that. The property is old and it is a beach hotel as far as I am concerned. The rooms are dated,however renovations are on going. Our room on the 9th floor was a clean with an ocean view ,double beds and a kitchenette with full fridge. The appliances are dated, but my expectations were met because have been here before. The carpeting and headboards were recentley replaced as well as the bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. The pool was busy and while the water was clean on day 1 of our 4 day stay it needed a good vacuming and the deck could use a nice pressure washing. Another new item in the pool area was the addition of 2 small jacuzzi tubs. I will definitely stay again especially for the price we paid from one of the travel sights. We often stay at higher end hotels and resorts but the Laplaya just has a special feel for us and we enjoy this place and the beautiful Daytona Beach area.

Room Tip: Higher floors at or above floor 5 offer a nice view as well as a little less noise from the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinman566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Vinman566,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the La Playa Resort. Thank you for noticing all the wonderful upgrades we have made over the past couple of months. We all know the property does have some wear and tear, but you hit it right on the head… It’s the overall special feel of the property that captures guests’. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible and are glad we meet your expectations on your trip. Please use your “Guest Advantage Card” when booking your next trip with us.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    105
    74
    81
    169
See reviews for
203
128
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
deltona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My first suggestion is to look at the management only responds to the happy submission not the real stays that are provided by them!
We went for a birthday get away from 8/2-8/5...mind you we are locals and can drive to the beach in 30 min for far less cost than a hotel stay.
Our weekend started out with roaches and ants and a door that would not lock properly. We had to go down to the lobby on 3 separate occasions to have our keys recoded to get in our room. The parking lot and "rented lot" were full so we had to park our car in the shopping plaza across the street....our car was towed 30 minutes before we checked out. I went in to the lobby to ask and was met with a sarcastic response "we would of never told you to park there we would tell you to park on the road first.” Had there been parking on the road it would have been used, heck had they provided parking for their guests there would have been NO ISSUE!!!!!!!
A $15.00 cab ride for 2 miles into the real ghetto of Daytona and 130.00 later we had the car back. I email the hotel directly and NO SHOCKER that there was no response!!!!!!
DO NOT STAY HERE the only positive thing that can be can say is the room "smelled" clean.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear RJC1980,
Thank you for taking your time and writing a review of the wonderful La Playa Resort & Suites. As you can tell by going through most of the reviews left for the property; we reply to all good and bad reviews. All type of feedback is welcomed. We use it in training and also to improve areas which we can improve on. Let me start by first saying – HAPPY BIRTHDAY. Sorry to hear about all the issues you experienced with your guest room electronic lock. Electronic issues are not foreseeable so we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused during your stay. I am sorry to hear that your vehicle was towed for the plaza lot located across the street. The front desk staff’ are not authorized to direct parking other than on our parking lots. The plaza you parked clearly had signs posted advising that any vehicles parked over night are subject to two. Since you are only 30 minutes away from the World’s Most Famous Beach, please call the hotel and ask for the General Manager. Let’s see if we can get you back to the property and change your initial experience to a better one.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved everything about this place..anytime i visit daytona this will be the place that i stay at, the room service was excellent management was awesome the atmosphere there was peaceful i love that place..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie2569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very nice location, but very ghetto hotel! U can see that the doors of many rooms were damaged from robers, horrible stinch from the balcony! The airco makes such noise u just cant sleep at night! GIANT cockroaches! Very expensive and disgusting breakfast! Cold SPA n jacuzzi! half friend staff...so not a topper, those 3 night were an iternity... we spent our time at the beach n got terrible burns...but hey better that then staying at the pool or in the room.

Room Tip: dont go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicMf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Old old "resort"- should be categorized as a motel. No parking, stuck elevators, smelly rooms, loud guests, doors that don't lock. No valet parking, no room service, no restaurant- In a scary, shady neighborhood. Need I say more?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaMammaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our property. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Our property does not have or advertise: valet parking and or room service. We do advertise a restaurant which is open for breakfast only and lunch on seasonal weekends. I am not sure how you can classify our location to be scary/shady as this is an extremely clean and quiet part of Daytona Beach. All guest rooms are equipped with electronic locks. These locks are very reliable, but sometimes we do have issues related to in climate weather. Sorry to hear you had a problem with your lock, we would have like to have handled this issue and any other issue during your stay as we do have management and maintenance on staff everyday.
Since June, we have made and continue to make multiple upgrades to our property. New walk way handrails, new guest room carpet, new guest room bedding, pool deck furniture, etc… We have received rave reviews in reference to the changes. Please feel free to visit the property again next time you are in the area and view all of the amazing upgrades.
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Was just like the website said it would be. The bartender Chrissie was the BEST! Will go back just for the tiki hut and the service there. Thanks for the great time. Look forward to the next trip. Defiantly recommend LaPlaya to anyone that want to have a great time with good people.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MpattersonGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the LaPlaya Resort. We had a spacious suite that easily accomidated our party of 7. The property is older, but well maintained. The AC was super cold...kids had to ask for blankets! They are in the process of remodeling and I look forward to staying in a remodeled room for our next stay. We enjoyed the pool area with our 3 kids, as well as the beach view. The resort has a bar & restaurant that we did not use...but looked very nice. Bonus was the music on the weekend poolside. The staff is very attentive to pleasing their guests. Our bathroom was missing the shower-head and the maintenance crew was there to take care of it within minutes of getting the call. My only complaint would be the parking, due to the renovations, and having to park in the dark parking lot next to the property.

Room Tip: Always choose the ocean front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
373 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sea Shells Beach Club
Sea Shells Beach Club
#27 of 98 in Daytona Beach
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Grand Seas Resort
Grand Seas Resort
#53 of 98 in Daytona Beach
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Resorts & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Resorts & Suites

Property: La Playa Resorts & Suites
Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3204
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Resorts & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Resorts & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing