We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This may be the worse hotel I ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Playa Resorts & Suites
Ranked #82 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This may be the worse hotel I ever stayed in.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Reading the reviews they are spot on. Why would you have a huge hotel without any parking. We had to park next door in the abandoned hotel parking lot that was pitch black. The next night we had to drive around for 30 minutes because that lot was full. I didn't see any renovations on the actual rooms maybe just the parking deck was condemned and had to be closed for repair. I could go on forever just read the above post and get the full view of this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenazAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear KenazAG,

We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your recent stay in regards to parking. Our parking deck is not condemned; as you did see, we are in the process of making the necessary upgrades to our parking garage. I do not know if you stayed in one of newly renovated guest rooms, where we have installed new bedding and carpet where we have received multiple compliments on all of our upgrades. Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback of your stay. All feedback is welcomed and used as a training tool.

Have a great weekend.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    105
    74
    81
    168
See reviews for
203
128
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have stayed at the La Playa a few times. It's a nice, roomy suite right on the beach! One of the "little things" we loved about it is our room had a murphy bed as opposed to a sofa sleeper. MUCH more confortable!!! Nice beach bar, staff was great. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel needs major renovation. It has a smell in the rooms. Parking ramp closed & not enough parking for paying customers. Desk staff very rude when asked where we should park Staff never cleaned rooms had to go to desk & get clean towels

Room Tip: Great view of the ocean on from the east side room decks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Newcomerstown, OH, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Has probably on the best locations on the beach. Hotel has gone downhill over the years but they are making renovations and trying to bring it back. Excellent shopping directly across the street in the Bellaire Plaza and other shops within easy walking distance. On north end of Daytona so not as congested on middle of town, Tiki Bar is nice and they have a DJ on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to Daytona Beach to the LaPlaya Resort for the first time over the 4th of July for 5 days. We had a super time, everybody was very nice and friendly and always had a big smile for us. We are definitely going back next summer. The rooms was very nice and very clean. It sure was a trip to remember. The location was very great too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Monika,

Its great to hear from you. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that are coming back next year. Thank you for the awesome comment about our guest room. We have updated the carpet and bedding in our rooms and have heard nothing but great reviews so far. Thanks again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Miss Parker at the front desk was wonderful and let us check in a bit early. We did not get a 1st or 2nd floor as requested so our 3 children were not allowed on the balcony since we were on the 9th floor. Chrissy at the tiki bar was awesome. The only complaint i have is that the ceiling has a leak in room 920. We are already making plans for our 4th trip back there in September and hopefully all the renovations will be complete. Keep up the good work to ALL the employees at LaPlay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antnottsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Antnottsr,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad to hear that Willie was able to make your stay awesome. It is unfortunate that your guest room had a leak from all the rain this past week and can see how it can be a inconvenience. We are all looking forward to seeing you again in September. Did you receive a Guest Advantage Card when checking out? Please contact me directly to book your stay at our rewards discount if you did not receive one. Hope to hear from your soon.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We vacation there every July and needless to say we will be returning next year! This year was a little upsetting due to the remodeling, but they made sure they had the best accommodations for the aggravations. The rooms, pool and other areas are always clean, the hotel is adjacent to anything you need, and the hotel staff is great! Compared to other hotels around, this is the best by far for the price!

Voodooed in Daytona for the 4th and had a blast! :)
See ya next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Charlotte,

Thanks for such a wonderful review. I am so glad to hear you will be staying with us next year. Please call me direct next year and mention the renovations, and I will be sure to give you the best repeat rate possible. Thank you for the kind comments about our service and staff. I will be sure to share your feedback with team members.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#22 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Garden Inn Daytona Beach ...
#13 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Seas Resort
Grand Seas Resort
#55 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Resorts & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Resorts & Suites

Property: La Playa Resorts & Suites
Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3204
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Resorts & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Resorts & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing