We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Playa Resorts & Suites
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Avon Lake, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Best Vacation Spot!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Everything was perfect! I stayed with my best friend for 8 days in March. We spent a lot of our time on the pool deck and on the beach. There was always some activity going on, music playing and everything was kept so very clean! The room was phenomenal, the cleaning service did such a wonderful job and they also made sure we were stocked with everything we needed. The front desk service was so helpful for check in and check out or if we needed a cab called. I met some of the most wonderful people who are still my best friends to this day at LaPlaya. Restaurants are really close if you don't want to do a ton of driving, or there are wonderful places on the board walk right now the road! If you are planning on going to Daytona Beach LaPlaya Is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    105
    74
    81
    169
See reviews for
203
128
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever been too. Thank god I was only there for 2 days. The kitchen is revolting. There are nasty stains on the marble kitchen floor and its just gross. The hotel is just gross generally.The bedroom was ok but the TV was like from the 90s. The only decent part of my stay was the beach and room service.and there are drunks.in the parking lot at night and u can hear them screaming. I HAD A HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE HERE I ALMOST CRIED WHEN I WENT OUT THERE. WORST HOTEL IN DAYTONA BEACH DO NOT GO I REPEAT DO NOT GO U WILL REGRET IT!!! I WOULD RATHER STAY ON THE BEACH!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

well, i will say that the staff were nice, but the hotel could use alot of work. They only had one elevator in the lobby which was a no no with all the traveler's in. After waiting so long for the elevator, i decided to use the stairs. The resort luggage rolling cart wheels were terrible. Our room had a lizard and a cockroach running in it. The carpet was filthy, when you walk on it without socks it felt gummy. The balcony slide door didn't close all the way. The balcony itself had cracks everywhere. The pool was nice, but it felt like i was swimming in ice water.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When I made reservations I was pleased with the price for the ocean front suite that I booked. It seemed to good to be true but I asked questions to make sure we were on the same page. When we checked in the first thing we were surprised by was the difference in the pics from the website to the actual building. Secondly they had no rolling carts for our luggage (a family of five with lots of bags) then were told to park across the street. After dragging all of our luggage to the eight floor making our kids carry bags too, we get to our room and find that its just a basic double bed room. No couch or Murphy bed like we were told. Plus the room was out dated and dirty. Called the front desk and was told that all the suites were booked and that they were sorry for the confusion. Needless to say we checked out and are now staying in a beautiful suite room at Perry's Resort. It was a waste of our time and started our family vacay off bad. I would not recommended staying there unless you like to party.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetitravel81981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry you feel deceived in the difference of our website photos and being on property. We feel our photos are true to the overall property. Sorry for the inconvenience of not having any luggage cart available at the time of check in. During busy hours of arrival;s carts are normally in high demand and at times hard to have easily available. We apologize for the booking error for your room category. Our front desk staff are trained to do a full reservation read back to all guests prior to giving out the confirmation number and finalizing the reservation. Was your reservation booked via direct hotel or online? We are in the process of laying new carpet in all of our guest rooms and we do invite you to come back and stay with us in the future and try to erase your initial thoughts of our product.

Regards,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I can start off by saying the staff was awesome very polite, quick and prompt. Shari was excellent!!!! The only bad part was the elevator had to wait forever they only had one working one. I know they are renovating to excited to see once everything has been done. The DJ was on point! I must say We will be back to visit in July!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique0728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Its great to hear that you'll be back sometime in July. Thanks for the awesome comments about our staff. We are very excited about the renovations that are taking place... We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately, we can not foresee a elevator maintenance issue. We did have the issue corrected the very next day. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Do not book this hotel, so disappointed in the rooms and condition of hotel. The rooms were awful, dirty and old looking. For what you pay for a room it is not worth it. On line it looks great until you go to check in. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mack_beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager36, General Manager at La Playa Resorts & Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us where you left with disappointment. The La Playa Resort does show signs of wear and tear from over the years, but promise you that cleanliness is one of our top priorities knowing the age of the building. We have started renovations to areas of our property that are returning guests and staff’ are really excited about. Please follow us on Facebook for up to date photos and news. Thank you for your time.
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed on 05/11/2013.the hotel look very nice from out side, the rooms are really really bad condition, we even took pictures. we left our shirts and slipers and my hat on chair and we were swimming in the pool after 5 minutes the security asked us to leave so they can close the pool. Our shirts and slipers were gone. we went to the front desk to complain we saw other 2 guest were complaining about the same thing sone had stolen their stuff. the front desk kept telling us we are not responsible for anyting and the pool area is not secured. This is the worst hotel i have ever been too and it's not safe at all. They charge you 10.60 resort fee plus they cahrge you 2 every day when u use the safe. your money dones not worth it to day at this hotel. i do not resomand this hotel at all especially if youhave kids it's not safe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tarekparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
0.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
375 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Shells Beach Club
Sea Shells Beach Club
#23 of 72 in Daytona Beach
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Grand Seas Resort
Grand Seas Resort
#34 of 72 in Daytona Beach
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Resorts & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Resorts & Suites

Property: La Playa Resorts & Suites
Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3204
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Resorts & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Resorts & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing