We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good At All.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Playa Resorts & Suites
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have been attending and staying at this place for 12 straight years and this year is our LAST very poor we feel that the place is run down and never being upgraded at the some of the staff is very RUDE exspecially the bartender that was on duty so my advice stay at a mom and pop place instead or find another location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 514 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and I was looking for a place to stay a couple nights before we checked into our condo for the next week and I booked this online because the pictures looked good and the price was cheap for being on the beach. We checked in and made it up to our room and the door was wide open, trash in the floor, had a musty mold smell, and was very dirty. I wouldn't let my dog stay here. I walked back to the front desk and checked out 10 min after I checked in and went and stayed at another hotel. The only thing this place is good for is a future building site for another nice condo!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

what a great vacation.it all starts with the minute you walk in the lobby.judith,willie and lynne help you select the perfect room for you.they are awesome and make you feel more than welcome.this is a peaceful resort in every sense of the word.on weekends the resort makes partying fun and friendly with chrissy at the tiki bar.they also have a comedy show on the roof penthouse for a small fee.it's worth it.i wish i could have stayed longer but they were sold out.it was great while it lasted and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: talk to judith period
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was represented as a resort, what a misleading statement. Our initial impression was that the lobby although clean had the distinct odor of bug spray. Once we checked in and were informed we had to pay addtional parking and safe usage fees we went into the elevator to reach our room. Once the doors opened on our floor it was apparent this place was filthy. Not only were the walls, and doors in serious need of paint, but the stucco on the walkways was peeling up and pieces of concrete were missing. Our room was old the door to the balcony was stuck and I had to repair it, the door frame to the kitchen was broken and missing wood, and there was mold in the kitchenette. The bathroom tile had mold on it and the ceiling tiles in the bathroom were stained. There were even dead bugs smushed on the walls. As far as the pool area the pool and the deck area around it were dirty and stained and my family would not swim in it. There was no gym, indoor pool or arcade area as they told us in the online ad. This place basically sucked, but because it was a race weekend we were stuck.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel to the south it looked much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

room was robbed! hotel did nothing about it! was told maby your door doesn't shut all the way? so looking at it we pulled our door shut and pulled hard! then just gave it a push and yep it opened!so it's our fault for haveing a broken door! have stayed their for past 5 years and will never go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Laplaya staf was very courteous and made sure my needs were met, especially the front desk attendant, Jackie. The rooms were aged but for the price I felt that the Laplaya met my needs.

Room Tip: If you would like to enjoy your stay, ask for a room with a kitchen, or suite. I started with a basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The room wasn't that bad. If you go, don't expect a flat screen, heavenly beds, or glass shower doors. This would basically be a last resort type of place for the price. The view is amazing from the balcony, the beds are just good enough to sleep in, and the kitchenette plays it role for any cooking you may want to do. The carpet is indeed a bit outdated and either needs to be replaced or deep cleaned. The door locks (thank goodness) although it isn't the most safe looking and the air conditioning works. When you see the building online it looks magnificent in the light but it's really not lol. Paint is chipped and the hallway may or may not smell funny. IN CONCLUSION: great place to stay at a great location for the somewhat decent price. Just know what youre getting yourself into :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMThomas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
4.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 74 in Daytona Beach
598 reviews
2.1 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#12 of 74 in Daytona Beach
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Playa Resorts & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Playa Resorts & Suites

Address: 2500 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $128 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Playa Resorts & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Playa Resorts & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laplaya Resort Daytona Beach
Laplaya Hotel Daytona Beach
La Playa Resort Daytona Beach
La Playa Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing