We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayan Inn
Ranked #54 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was horrible. It was not clean at all. There was still a condom in our trash can. There was hair on the bed. We had to change our own bedding. The house keeping didnt come. The dryer was unsafe and broke. The room smelled like smoke. The lady said she was goin to refund ne and gave me 19 dollar. Please dnt waste money or time on this. The toilet was broke.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tye0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 317 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

I looked for the cheapest room and found it, it was in a major recondition but was overall OK. I would stay again considering the price.
Once the work is completed it should be a better value, but at the price it was and right on the ocean I don't think you can go wrong for a room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dacindy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Pro:
-Relatively cheap
-Good location

Con:
-The room was quiet unclean. The area near windows and AC unit was full of dirt/dust and I noticed some hairs in the bathroom. It just wasn't clean overall.
-The balcony chairs were dirty and there were mosquitos everywhere.

Overall:
I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABABAB123123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed for the weekend and even though this is a older hotel on the beach, they are trying to update it and the staff was very friendly. Great location for Main street and the boardwalk. Rooms are clean, just older. this is my go to place when coming to daytona beach..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhorhofun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed there 2 years in a row, we loved it there everything was great. The bartender there was awesome we loved her. Our rooms were great, we had an awesome balcony to sit on and view the beach, but the place next door had loud music all night long, I mean way up into the night with foul language and bad music, so we couldn't get any sleep. We won't be able to stay there anymore because of the place next door We come every year, but we will have to get something a little quieter and a little farther down the beach.

Room Tip: Not if you want to sleep in the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyreds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed one night. Room was clean however the bathroom is very small. Front desk clerk was very nice and friendly. We had a balcony ocean view room but could not open the balcony doors or windows due to construction. There was some type of bar directly below our room that stayed pretty loud until at least 3am. Didn't get a good nights sleep due to the partying going on outside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcdsp911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Let me first say that we have stayed at the Mayan Inn before and it wasn't a 5 star resort then, but this time it was actually UNSAFE. The lobby did not reflect the extremely poor conditions of the rooms. The check-in staff was very nice and they had security parking for our motorcycles even if we did park in a cordoned off area with very little room to maneuver. When we got in our rooms, we immediately noticed the poor condition: the carpet was frayed and appeared dirty, the toilet had stains all over the lid that was distasteful in the least, the light fixture in the bathroom had exposed wires and a huge amount of mold and decay around the fixture itself, the door leading onto the balcony had a 2 inch gap under it. You would think these are easy fixes for any maintenance dept.

When we got to the pool, the pool was very nice and clean but the pool furniture was nasty and stained and water kept dripping on us from the air conditioners above. When we looked up at the hotel from the pool you could see large chunks of plaster missing from under the balconies and we wondered if it was even safe to stand on them. They were doing construction to shore up one-third of the hotel and this was quite a nuisance when we were trying to relax at the pool.

About the location: it is right beside the Open Deck restaurant which was very good and took wonderful care of our large group. It is 2 blocks off Main St so we were able to walk downtown each night to see the wild sights of Biketoberfest. It has a beautiful beach. It has a bar in the hotel that was a nice addition. Continental breakfast was so-so

Even though we had paid for Saturday night, all 10 of us decided to cut our losses and head home to a cleaner hotel so we forfeited our 220.00 each. I will not stay here again until it is SAFER!

Room Tip: Do not stay here until the make it SAFER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleygirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#48 of 74 in Daytona Beach
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#38 of 74 in Daytona Beach
294 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 74 in Daytona Beach
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#22 of 74 in Daytona Beach
460 reviews
1 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#49 of 74 in Daytona Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 103 S Ocean Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4321
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $65 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing